We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“McCory Gardens keep getting better & better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCrory Gardens

McCrory Gardens
631 22nd Ave., Box 2140A, Brookings, SD 57007
605.688.6707
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Attractions in Brookings
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“McCory Gardens keep getting better & better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went to the McCory Gardens open house in early August, and we were amazed at how much bigger and more beautiful it is. Many plantings have been added, and more structures have been installed. There was also a beautiful new fountain. Worth a stop if you enjoy the natural beauty of the Gardens.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for afternoon walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We live in Brookings and visit MG every so often. There is the "main" part, and then more area in back for a longer walk. Nothing stunning, just a nice place for a walk away from people and traffic.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“For the Gardener”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

McCrory Garden is a peaceful landscape with excellent example of trees, shrubs, native grasses and flowers that will grow in the upper midwest. it is well laid out and easily accessible with wonderful color combinations.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark, SD
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Colorful, peaceful world adjoining busy street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Well labelled plants, tastefully designed, used to try new varieties of plants & shrubs, showcase All-American selections. Great way to see if the glowing seed catalog descriptions grow like that in SD

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth visiting once”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

It's very nice and we enjoyed it. I guess I have to say it's really nothing that special. Don't get me wrong. It's worth visiting once. Maybe flowers just doesn't get me excited? But check it out for yourself.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McCrory Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCrory Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.