We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor service and I didn't even stay!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn Brookings

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn Brookings to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn Brookings
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 LeFevre Drive, Brookings, SD 57006   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Brookings
1 review
“very poor service and I didn't even stay!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

After leaving a few messages for a manager, none of which were ever returned, I called to reserve a block of rooms for my wedding next fall.

The lady who answered the phone proceeded to tell me that the weekend of my wedding is considered to be a special event weekend and she could do a block but would not be allowed to give me a discounted rate on the block. I told her that before I proceeded with the block of rooms, I had a couple questions as I'd read a less than favorable review online. Her response to me was "Then why did you bother calling here?" I was taken back. I explained to her that I knew someone who was also blocking rooms here and that the review might have been wrong or corrected. She then proceeded to tell me that if I read such a bad review, why would I call there? I told her I thought her comment and tone was very rude and she, again, came back with "what was rude about it?" I honestly couldn't believe that I had been spoken to like that! All I could simply say was "Goodbye" and hung up.

I wish I could say that I was having a "Bridezilla" moment that caused this but I wasn't. It was completely out of nowhere.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
3
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

We usually stay at the Hampton when in town, but thought we would try something different. This hotel is clean and for the most part quiet. Clean rooms and modern decor. Shower and toilet are in separate room from sink and mirror. So if you have someone sleeping in the room it is impossible to get ready to leave without waking them. Our room was not ready when we got there, so we had to go kill time waiting for it. Our only other issue was the closed whirl pool for cleaning. (It was a weekend) It was the main reason we decided to try this hotel. We even asked when we booked room if the pool and whirlpool were open and operational. They said yes, it is always open. Ok, I know sometimes things happen, but when I called the day before we checked in, just to make sure everything was set and arrival time, everything was fine. We also got many emails from them saying they were ready for our arrival in the weeks prior to check in date. And nothing saying pool or whirlpool out of order. So really disappointed, and next trip we may have to go back to Hampton or try Holiday Inn Express. The weekend we stayed, they had trouble keeping up with breakfast as people came to eat. Other than those issues, it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I stayed here with friends for a football game in September, 2014. The hotel was updated sometime in the last few years, and it looks much better than it did before. Breakfast was good, and the rooms were comfortable. I have found a pretty consistent experience at most Fairfields, and this was no different.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield I, General Manager at Fairfield Inn Brookings, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fairfield Inn & Suites Brookings. We are happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and hope to see you the next time you stay in Brookings!

Sincerely,

Nicole Barkus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Clean, nice hotel...friendly staff, located near I29, gas station and Applebee's near by. Kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub...breakfast is not the greatest...but that would be my only complaint. Easy access to SDSU campus and downtown Brookings

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Hello fellow travelers, I wanted to drop a note about the great service we experienced at the Fairfield Inn and Suites in Brookings, SD. We walked in to a wonderful greeting, one of my favorite things when I’m checking in to a hotel. I was greeted by Carla, and I have never walked into a hotel and had someone so genuinely happy that I was checking in. I’m from Boston, Mass., and she picked up on my accent right away and we made small talk about different parts of the country and the cultural differences. She’s checking me in and notices I’m a rewards member with Marriott, she thanked me for being a rewards member and it wasn’t that busy the evening I checked in, and she offered me an upgrade. What a beautiful room I was given, king size mattress, and if any of you know Marriott, you know their mattresses and sheets are very comfortable. Housekeeping is outstanding; the room was so clean and so fresh as well as the rest of the hotel. Breakfast is always a special treat at Fairfield’s, great selection of breakfast goodies and hot coffee around the clock. A late checkout was requested and was promptly ok’d, Easy checkout and Carla was working when I checked out, even though she was busy working at the front desk she still had time to visit and chat for a little bit before we got back on the road. Another hotel I’d recommend and stay at when passing through Brookings again. Thanks Carla, I’m so glad you were there.

Room Tip: Ask for Carla
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The staff was extremely efficient and the room was spotless and very comfortable. Also luxury shampoo and toiletries. Also the pool was open quite late which gave an opportunity to swim after being out for the evening.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very clean and comfortable place. Love the beds!!!!! Very easy on the eyes they really take care of there property. I would highly recommend this hotel. Very close to a place to grab a bit to eat.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn Brookings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Brookings

Address: 3000 LeFevre Drive, Brookings, SD 57006
Location: United States > South Dakota > Brookings
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Brookings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Brookings 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites, Brookings offers a variety of suites and traditional rooms to include: Two Bedroom Suites, King Mini, King Studio, and luxurious Whirlpool Suites. All rooms offer alarm clock with MP3 hook-up, coffee and tea service, and spacious, well-lit work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn Brookings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Brookings Hotel Brookings
Fairfield Brookings
Brookings Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn Brookings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.