We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1103 N Splitrock Blvd, Brandon, SD 57005   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brandon
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel meets the definition of your average hotel. It's safe, clean, and moderately comfortable. The hotel is clearly a bit outdated and there aren't a lot of entertainment options nearby, but if you want a safe night stay at a reasonable price near Sioux Falls, then this place meets the bill. There's a small indoor water park in the hotel, we didn't make use of it, but it looks just so-so. The slides seem somewhat dirty and outdated. The beds were super comfy, but the rest of the room was somewhat average. Again, if you need a reasonably priced place to stay near Sioux Falls for a night, this would work.

Room Tip: This hotel is really close to Palisades State Park, this is a must stop if you are in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerBrandon_SD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for mentioning our comfy beds, safe environment, and our competitive pricing as well as our proximity to both Sioux Falls and Palisades Park. We wish you had the opportunity to use our waterpark as our guests have a great time playing there. We are in the process of scheduling a repainting for that area.

Beth Wooten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    35
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
16
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Seems to fill up daily. Better book ahead of time. Great front desk, awesome breakfast service, worth the drive out of sf if you're staying in time. The place isn't awash with guests but seemed to be subdued even at breakfast. Not the overly busy vibe you fond at some hotels. Bon voyage!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerBrandon_SD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for mentioning that we are worth the drive from Sioux Falls! We are fortunate to have a loyal following and we do fill up on many nights. We would love to have you stay again though, so just call ahead and we will have a room waiting. Regarding breakfast, with our breakfast area and the adjoining patio we can offer a quiet, relaxing start to the workday. Of course we balance that workday start with our complimentary happy hours Tuesday through Thursday, to make sure your day ends well too!

Beth Wooten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My young daughter, dog and I recently traveled through South Dakota on a 1500 mile trip from Idaho to Iowa. During our overnight stay in Brandon, I became very ill and was unable to continue our trip the next day. When I called to extend our stay, I was met with care and concern. The hotel manager walked my dog, brought me Sprite, crackers and Gatorade and even provided my daughter with a sack lunch! One of her staff took my daughter to happy hour in the evening so she could have some dinner. I was provided with numbers of local medical clinics and was offered a ride if I needed to see a doctor. The staff were friendly and I felt genuine concern from each of them. We frequently travel on this road and I expect that we will make a point of staying at this facility again. Hopefully next time we will be able to fully enjoy the fabulous waterpark that the facility has.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerBrandon_SD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor and for the beautiful flowers you sent to us! Being sick while travelling is absolutely no fun and we were happy to help you out. Pack your suits for the next visit; you will love the waterslide! Take care.

Beth Wooten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We would not keep coming back if the service and hotel was not everything we expect it should be! The staff was great from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. Happy Hour was a lot of fun, we got to meet some great people that were staying at the hotel. Thanks again for everything HIE.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerBrandon_SD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again! Happy Hour IS a good time, and I especially like it on the beautiful days when we can sit on the patio enjoying a beverage! It is fun to watch our guests chat and share their travel stories, and we like being the place where everyone feels at home.

We look forward to your next visit.

Beth Wooten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

HIE Brandon was well placed off Interstate 90 on our 2000 mile drive to Montana and SD. The staff was friendly, and the rooms were comfortable. However, I was not aware that the pool was a water park and might have chosen another HIE to avoid the weekend families and children. It was an overnight stop for my husband and me, but the rate was among our highest HIE/HI hotels.. If the waterpark affected the rate, I might have chosen a different HIE. with a regular pool. But the breakfast was good, and we were ready to drive again the next day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerBrandon_SD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I am glad you found our staff friendly and enjoyed our breakfast selections. Thanks for the positive review! Our rate does take into account all of our amenities, including the waterpark. Although you didn't experience the fun of our 210 foot raft slide, we hope you bring your suit and try it out next time.

Beth Wooten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel because of the water slide. Didn't tell our 10 year old son until we got there and he was thrilled! Slide was large enough for the entire family to enjoy and pool rules were enforced so everyone could enjoy themselves. In addition to the pool we were very pleased with the attentiveness of the staff. When they asked about our stay, they seemed genuinely concerned with our response. We were offered snacks when we arrived as a thank you for being Priority Club members. On Tues, Wed, and Thurs evenings there is a reception which includes beer, wine, cans of Coke products and appetizers. Very nice! The morning breakfast had the usual options including HIE famous cinnamon rolls. The pancake machine didn't work, but there were plenty of other options. Overall, we had a very comfortable stay and we would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Nice to get a room near the pool if you intend to use it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerBrandon_SD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hope you got lots of pictures of your son and the whole family going down our slide. Thanks for your comments about enforcing the waterpark rules; we have a great safety record and work hard to keep it that way. We want everyone to have a fabulous and safe time riding the raft slide.

We really do appreciate our IHG Rewards members (new name, same great program!) and recognize them with extra treats. Thanks for choosing our hotel. We look forward to your next visit.
Beth Wooten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MI
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stopped at this HIX as we were passing thru to WI. The lobby was clean and well lit. The desk clerk was really friendly and helpful. She told us about the waterpark, which was a nice surprise. I'm probably a little too old to try a waterpark but I thought it would be fun to watch the kids have a ball. I thought that if a parent was traveling with some restless kids, this would be the perfect answer to a long day in the car. Our room was clean and well stocked with towels and pillows, per the latest HIX standards. As we were there on a 4th of July, the occupancy was quite low so I can't attest to how quiet this property would be when crowded but it was quite quiet during our stay.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms are on the far side of the hotel, away from I-90.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerBrandon_SD, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Our desk clerks are the best! I am glad you found our staff helpful. Regarding our waterslide, there is no upper age limit so I don't think you are too old to try it! It is a hit with lots of grandparents, including me - and the kids love watching us more "experienced" riders try to get off the rafts gracefully!

Thanks for noticing our new big pillows - they really are a nice addition to a good night's sleep. Come see us again and bring your swimsuit.

Beth Wooten
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon

Address: 1103 N Splitrock Blvd, Brandon, SD 57005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Brandon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Convention Center, Brandon. Built for business, we are convenient to Crimson Fire, Xcel, the wind energy companies, the Corson Business Park and many other Brandon and Sioux Falls corporations. Start each day with our hot, complimentary breakfast and decadent cinnamon rolls. Guests have full access to our on-site business and fitness centers, and a large gym nearby. Our amazingly fast and free Internet access and great work desks make it easy to finish any work projects, leaving plenty of time to enjoy our complimentary guest reception on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays. Everyone loves our indoor water park with a 210' raft water slide (all riders must be at least 48'' tall), spa, and a play structure with a 200 gallon dumping bucket. Please note that while the water park is open every day, the big slide is open only weekends until May 25th. Starting Friday, May 25th, the slide is open daily for the summer. Our beautiful conference center hosts weddings, meetings, and training sessions for up to 350, with affordable and flexible catering options. We are five miles east of Sioux Falls on Interstate 90, and ten minutes from the airport. Scenic Falls Park, Sioux Falls' namesake, is just ten minutes away. We have great packages with pizza or trips to Grand Falls Casino, which is just ten miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel Express And Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon
Holiday Inn Brandon
Brandon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sioux Falls - Brandon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.