We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort of Sioux Falls

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brandon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort of Sioux Falls
26014 478th Avenue, Brandon, SD 57005   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you are hauling a camper and on your way to Black Hills, this would be your best spot to stop over at night, since it is close to the highway. The place is average and inexpensive. Obviously this is a kids campground so this place is ideal if you have kids. I've heard some bad reviews that it can get really loud since it is close to the highway but it didn't bother us at all. In fact we didn't really hear a lot of noise coming from the highway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
des moines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We camp in a travel trailer and stayed in the red row, about 5-6 from the left. Camp site is VERY clean and staff is super nice! Tons of activities for kids throughout the day. This is a family-run campground and it's been in the same family for around 30 years, they are wonderful people and do a great job!

The wagon rides with Yogi, Booboo and the Ranger were so neat for the kids. They are out a lot, which surprised me because it was very hot! There is one water-wagon ride one day, be prepared to be soaked, the little ones do not like it so much, but the staff really get into it. It was a hot day for us so I didn't mind a bit. The pool is huge, and there is a hot tub - all renovated 3 years ago. The pool has a very nice wading area for the little ones.

"Bruce" that someone else mentioned, reminded me of my dad, maybe a little on the rough side, but we weren't around him a lot. He fixed the tether ball on the playground. There was a slight smell as someone else referenced. It was not anoying. We noticed a herd of buffalo a few miles down I-90 that could be the source. But again, it was not anoying.

There is a pancake breakfast on Sunday morning that was perfect for a quick clean up and head out day. Overall, we had a wonderful time and will go back next year!

Room Tip: Just beyond the red row, there is a line of pines, a hill and a lower campground area. This area is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Looked like there were quite a few new upgrades. Our site for our 38' motorhome was nice. The kids had a great time at the pool. It was not one of the fancy pool areas like some Jellystone Parks have, but it was a nice sized pool with a shallow area for the little ones. I did not have any experiences at all with someone being rude. Everyone was pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We went on a family camping trip to Yogi Bear near Sioux Falls by Brandon. The owner, Bruce, is VERY rude and uses a loud, mean voice to the kids. Our middle guy (4) was told to SIT DOWN before we had even found places to sit on the wagon ride. Of course, we are going to find a place and sit, but he is not the kid of kid to push his way for a seat - heck, Yogi bear wasn't even on. I found Bruce to be quite mean to children. There is golf - but it was $8 for myself and our 6 year old to goofy golf which took 10 minutes. There are lots of things to do - but they charge expensive prices for everything. The shower curtain (wooden) wouldn't even shut so I took a shower w 2 of our children with the shower door standing open. Geez! For $50 per night for a pop up camper....2 adults and 3 kids under 7, we thought it was very expensive per night let alone the extras that you do. Once a year, we bite the bullet and camp there - otherwise we save money and go to a kinder place! Bruce needs to lighten up!!! Oh, the rope across the pool was taken down also. I said - our children know not to go past the rope and bruce said - Yep, it is down. I think Bruce would be good at collections but not at working a family campground. Stay away from him and bring lots of money!

Room Tip: They will NOT give you a campsite number b4 you get there - and it will be one of the worst sites un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brandon hotels

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011 via mobile

Might be that we just don't like private campgrounds, but we really didn't like this one. It is clean and everyone was friendly. But the tent sites are awful - small, uncovered, right near the interstate. The sound of the trucks was ceaseless. There is also an awful smell (manure?) throughout the whole campground.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed here in an RV. I did not use the bathrooms, so cannot comment on the state of those, but my husband thought they were acceptable.

Pros: All the spots are level pull throughs. Picnic tables were in good condition. Grounds are VERY clean. Never saw any trash whatsoever lying around. In fact, if you leave your garbage bags by the road, the staff will haul them away for you. You are escorted to your campsite by an employee in a golf cart. Many activities are scheduled for children. With the exception of bingo and mini golf, all activities are free. The kids loved the jumping pillow and the wagon ride with Yogi. They have themed weekends with coordinating activities. The campground is easy to find. It's right off I-90. You can be at the mall in Sioux Falls in about 25 minutes. You could be at downtown attractions in even less time than that. It's also a great spot for anyone passing through on their way east or west. Water temp of the pool was reasonable. Nice variety of chairs surrounding the pool. Plenty of necessities available at the campground store. The staff was friendly and helpful. We never got bored. Despite the close proximity to the freeway, the campground itself got quiet quickly at night. We never heard any campground noises which woke us up, which was a first for us.

Cons: The only storm shelters are the two comfort stations. I doubt everyone would fit inside and these are not underground. The water in the pool was very cloudy. You do not get a scorecard when you play mini golf, so if keeping score is important to you, bring a pencil and paper. The pool is very small and got quite crowded by mid afternoon. Smoking is allowed in the pool area as are mega squirt guns. I got zapped being an innocent bystander while fully clothed. The campsites are very narrow. We were not able to position our camper so that our slide could be out on one side and the awning could be out on the other without hitting something.

Tip: If you stay here, do not book a campsite in row D, if at all possible. This is the closest section to I-90 and you will hear the constant drone of traffic. This is also the lowest terrain, therefore, this would be the most likely section to flood in a heavy rain. Finally, there are no mature shade trees in this section. All the other sections have mature trees, so I'm guessing this section is somewhat newer.

Finally, if you've got kids and are looking to keep them busy all weekend, this is THEE place for you. If you don't have kids and are looking for some R and R, a state park would be a better choice for you.

The kids had a blast and we will most definitely return, but now that we're wiser, we'll book a site in a different section.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beecher, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

This park was a lot of fun with clean facilities, fun activities for children and adults alike, and great picture opportunities. The prices were good and the staff were very knowledgeable and hardworking. It is also very close to The Falls downtown. The bouncy pillow was excellent, a great workout, and tons of fun for all! Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort of Sioux Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort of Sioux Falls

Address: 26014 478th Avenue, Brandon, SD 57005
Location: United States > South Dakota > Brandon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Brandon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort of Sioux Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Camp-Resort of Sioux Falls to your Saves list