We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hills Parrot Welfare & Education Center

Black Hills Parrot Welfare & Education Center
11132 Valley 1 Rd, Belle Fourche, SD 57717
605-892-2336
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Brevard, NC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Highlight of our day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We found this place by accident; just happened to see it on a list of things to see in Belle Fourche. We had a lovely tour by the owners, whose dedication and care for these remarkable birds is genuine. The birds are beautiful and the small fee charged is a real bargain. I believe that some signs on the main highway in Belle Fourche would result in more visitors, and therefore, more support for this important and entertaining center.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rolling Meadows, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable and informative!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We found this visit very enjoyable. The center has a very large collection of parrots and beautiful exotic birds. Greg gave us a very complete and informative tour of the facility. Many of the birds are rare, endangered, and neglected. It was nice to see that they were now being well cared for. I recommend a visit here for all, particularly the young.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Colorful adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We took our granddaughter (9) to the Center on the advice of the motel manager. We were all amazed by the variety of the birds there. Kathleen was taken on a tour of the facility, and learned so much about different species of tropcial birds and their care. The guide kindly took her time, told us the stories behind each bird's rescue, and let some birds out to meet us. We were amazed at the dedication of this small group of volunteers; for example they have to drive 500 miles to Denver for non-routine medical care and/or surgery for these birds. They are the only exotic bird rescue in the north-central states, and the rooms of birds are testament to their success. This was an enjoyable, and educational, experience for us - and a must-see when in the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Birds, birds, everywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The family had the best time here! My husbands' oldest son is just nuts about birds so we thought this would be both fun and informative and it was! Greg was wonderful, entertaining and informative. The birds put on quite a show as well. Greg's own cockatoo really took a liking to Alex and the boy just ate it up!! Good fun for a great cause.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
2 reviews
“Parrot Serendipity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stopped in Belle Fourche at the Center of the Geographic U.S. and inquired about other places to see. The clerk recommended the Black Hills Parrot Welfare Center and boy was it a treat! The couple who care for these beautiful birds were so delightful and informative. They explained how the birds come to be with them, their care, their habits and funny stories about each one. Families, children and especially "birders" would really enjoy this special spot. Betty and Bob Weissinger, daughter Dee, Texas

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hills Parrot Welfare & Education Center also viewed

 

Been to Black Hills Parrot Welfare & Education Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hills Parrot Welfare & Education Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.