We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I had to pick one rating” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Deluxe Inn- York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Deluxe Inn- York to your Saves list
Deluxe Inn- York
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1568 Alexander Love Highway, York, SC 29745 (Formerly Days Inn-York)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in York
Nj
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If I had to pick one rating”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Would not stay here. Bedbugs, roaches,smells of dog urine, way over priced, Ashok Patel is a Douch! No keep up. Beds reused if it looks made. Carpets never vacumed, bathrooms never cleaned,reused BROWN linens OMG!..DHEC/OSHA Hot tub rooms 3 feet from bed GAS STATION PLAYS RADIO 24-7 SO DOES SONIC!

Room Tip: Do not stay here, beware!..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deluxeinnyorksc, Webmaster at Deluxe Inn- York, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us during your last visit.

We also appreciate the effort you have taken to give us review and we take them quite seriously towards improvement and we are sorry for the inconvenience you had whatsoever.

The entire issue of the bugs and other hygiene related problem in the room has been investigated.

We have taken specific pest and rodent control measures so as to see that such an incident never occur in future and along with special training to the hotel staff and manager to ensure to offer the finest hospitality and good amenities.

We hope you will make a note of this and shall choose us once again when you visit our area and see the change.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    1
    5
    9
See reviews for
11
2
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

(If you are looking for the nitty-gritty facts about this hotel, scroll down to the bottom.)


One of the biggest problems with providing an objective review sometimes is the negative facts outweigh the positive ones that make a simple hotel hospitable. With this hotel, I wished that wasn't the case.

My fiancé and my future in-laws stayed at this hotel years ago and I didn't have any complaints back then; the people were nice, the beds were clean and the hotel finally ended the streak of hazardous, hive-inducing Days Inns I had encountered. So when we returned for a short stay for the holidays I was hoping for the same reaction. Unfortunately that did not happen.

There are two very positive aspects of this hotel. First, the hotel is located right off of state Hwy 161, which runs all through York and Rock Hill, and is not to hard to find even at night. The hotel is also right next to a gas station (which I recommend) and a Sonic restaurant, (which I do not recommend). Second, the hotel staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Although I did not have a lot of interaction with the staff this time, this is what made come back to this hotel. This time around I still was greeted by courteous staff and when I needed something, like a change of towels or just wanted general information.

Yet the positive did not outweigh the negative facts: The hotel rooms are outdated. Besides the flat screen T.V. on the wall, the room was stuck in a late 70's- early 80's. Even the comforter was a flash back to solid gold pimpin' 70s; with cigarette burns and misc stains included. To add to the lovely decor, the dresser was missing its bottom drawer.

Like the living area, the bathroom was in dire need of a revamp. It too was somewhat clean but my inner germaphobe leaped out when I saw the bathroom ventilation system. The mold/dirt build up in the vent gave me the heebie-jeebies every time I looked up.

Overall, the old stuffy room was livable but is screaming "UPDATE ME". The not so lovely décor is a quite a contradiction to the nice people who make this place hospitable.


Nitty Gritty Facts:

Pros: Good location; not too far from the downtown York, nice employees, free wi-fi connection.
Cons: Old, dated dark rooms, bathroom ventilation system may cause the room the room to be stuffy.
Germaphobe level: 6 - A hazmat suit is not needed, but a sheet and bathroom check will be required. OCD germaphobes may need to look someplace else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deluxeinnyorksc, Webmaster at Deluxe Inn- York, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Deluxe Inn for your stay during your visit.

We appreciate you for taking the time to write the review mentioning the nitty gritties which shall go a long way towards improvement.

We are thankful for mentioning all the positive sides which you observed during your stay and appreciating our staff.

We are taking every possible step to improve the rooms further and the amenities including a redo shortly.

You can count on us and choose us for your next stay and we are confident that you will not be disappointed.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed here with my Mom on a girls weekend... Absolutely loved it. Beds were amazing and they have recently made some changes to the hotel. Breakfast was delightful, and the updated wireless internet was perfect!!! We have always made this a stop every year, and will continue!!! Can't wait to comeback for more!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

we have stayed at this inn many times before. We have two golden retrievers and they h ave always been welcome. as you will see from the web site, they say "pets welcome." This time we checked in and 10 minutes later, the woman called our room and said the owner wanted $15 per dog because of their "no pet" policy!!!! my husband spoke to the "manager" the next day, a very RUDE indian person who got into a yelling match saying they HATE animals and don't want them there! there was NO SIGN anywhere saying No pets, or extra charge. We are filing a complaint with the BBB. These people are rude and obnoxious. would NEVER stay at another Days INN!!!!!

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deluxeinnyorksc, Webmaster at Deluxe Inn- York, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and regret the issue you had for accommodating your pets.

We have investigated the incident howsoever it might have happened and the concerned staff have been given the required training so that this is never occur again.

The hotel staff and manager have been given proper training so that our guests receive the best hospitality and feel honored.

We would like to invite you to once again choose us during your next visit and promise a delightful experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

This hotel was great. The bed was the most comfortable that I have ever slept in away from home and the pillows were great. Very large room with a couch, which is most unusual in a hotel room. Fridge and microwave in the room as well. Water pressure was absolutely awesome in the shower. Staff was very friendly.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

Days Inn York, SC
As a family, we flew into Charlotte to meet with a real estate broker to view some homes in the Fort Mill area. It was a busy weekend and this was the closest hotel we could find. It was awful. We did not have a crib for the baby. They said they would have one when we booked the room. The reservations were made on the website with someone that was not in this motel. We reserved 2 rooms which were not near each other. One room was on one end of the motel and the other was at the very end of the motel.The beds were not fresh. The bed linen and pillows smelled as if they were not changed. The water in the sink in one room did not drain properly, my husband fixed the problem. It was clogged with hair. Small thin towels in the bathroom. The property needs updating. The continental breakfast was not worth the trip to the lobby. White bread, small packaged muffins, no orange juice and terrible coffee.
We only stayed the one night and that was too long. Try to stay closer to Charlotte.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deluxeinnyorksc, Webmaster at Deluxe Inn- York, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Charlotte SC.

We appreciate your review and have taken the observations for further improvement.

We are sorry for the inconvenience you had howsoever.

We have taken steps to check and ensure that the overall amenities and cleanliness of the rooms are perfect before checking in a new guest and the concerned staffs have been given the required training. You will not find confusion again.

The rooms, amenities including the linen has been checked and changed and also

We would like to invite you to once again choose us during your next visit and promise a delightful experience at Charlotte.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deluxe Inn- York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deluxe Inn- York

Address: 1568 Alexander Love Highway, York, SC 29745 (Formerly Days Inn-York)
Location: United States > South Carolina > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Deluxe Inn- York 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deluxe Inn in York County, South Carolina, is situated in the perfect location near the intersection of Highway 5 and Bypass161. Built on a vast landscape of lush greenery, Deluxe Inn-York, nestles 50 luxurious rooms. Deluxe Inn-York relieves clients of traveling blues through best amenities/hotel services. This Rock Hill SC Hotels has fabulous restaurants and interesting area attractions nearby. Deluxe Inn is always front-runner for Special Offers, Guaranteed Best Rates and Special Discounts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Deluxe Inn- York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn York
York Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deluxe Inn- York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.