We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have never left a Hampton Inn” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1094 Chris Drive, West Columbia, SC 29169   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
Waynesville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Have never left a Hampton Inn”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After traveling several hours from south Florida my wife and I decided to stop in Columbia for the night. We looked ahead and found this Hampton Inn. It wasn't but just two days ago that I made a comment to my wife that I have never been disappointed in a Hampton Inn.
When we arrived we were greeted by a woman who was very nice, could not have asked for a better greeting. After getting our keys we began to walk down the hallway to the elevator and couldn't help but notice that the carpet in the hallways seemed as if they haven't been vacuumed in several days. There was dirt along the ceilings and about 60% of all the doors in the hallway were filthy.
When we arrived at our room there was a lamp shade that was desperately in need of being replaced, spots all over the end tables, hair in the bathtub, the tile leading into the room hadn't been swept. We thought about just staying and dealing with it for one night but after only five minutes decided that we were not going to spend the night and we went down to check out. I have never called customer service before on a hotel and haven't even thought of doing so with any Hilton hotel we have ever stayed in, needless to say I did just that. We checked into another Hampton just north of our previous location and couldn't be more pleased with not only the location compared to W. Columbia, but the hotel in general.
Again I appreciate the courtesy of the staff, but really would recommend working on the sterility, tidiness, and cleanness of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    55
    36
    17
    7
See reviews for
50
42
16
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Access to the elevators in the middle of the hotel via narrow hotel hallways. Narrow space on the third floor from the elevator to the guest rooms made it difficult to get your luggage in and out of the hotel. Otherwise, the staff was very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappells, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

this was a very comfortable and clean hotel. loved the room décor, and lobby area was very inviting. My husband was having heart surgery at the Lexington Medical Center, and my room provided me with the comfort I needed at such a time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Like most Hampton Inn's, the one in West Columbia is completely adequate. The hotel is a little older than some Hamptons, and is a trifle tired in some respects. The outside entrance key lock, for example, worked very poorly and the staff did not seem to be very interested. Neverthless, the room was clean, the breakfast was good, and the experience was entirely satisfactory.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We select this hotel because it is close to family we are visiting, and the staff and accommodations are outstanding and always make us feel welcome. The complimentary breakfast is also a big plus and the variety is more than anyone would need before starting their day. The manager even hugged us before leaving, and told us to make sure we returned for our next family visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

First off the iron was broken (had a hole chipped off the side of the plate) which burned my arm by letting scalding hot water spill on me when I started to iron my shirt. Also, the shower curtain rod was coming out of the wall and sagging. The shower curtain was ripped, allowing water to get on the floor. You could see the water damage starting above the tiles. The bed was comfortable and the room was pretty clean I guess. The furniture was nice. The continental breakfast wasn't great, but hey its continental. It just didn't seem up to the typical Hampton Inn standard. Also the manager asked me how my stay was and I told her about the iron. She said she would put Hilton Points back in my account and be sending something in the mail. Neither ever happened. I'm not very picky and just want a comfortable, clean bed and a working iron. This place was just a let down I guess.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

For the most important part: My room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the room temperature was good. The free breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fair - nothing overly exciting but good enough. The hotel is convenient to the airport and a highway exit.

The less important things: The elevator and hallways were not very clean, but not disgustingly dirty either. One elevator was under repair. The fitness center was a lot better than most hotels with dumbells, a Swiss Ball and room to do other things besides a stationary bike or treadmill. The staff I interacted with were not the most outwardly friendly people (as stated by another reviewer), but they were not rude or horrible.

I don't agree with a previous reviewer that called this hotel "The Worst Hampton Inn in the United States." I have certainly stayed in better and I have unfortunately stayed in much, much worse. On a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the best, I'd probably rate this hotel a 7 or 8.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport

Address: 1094 Chris Drive, West Columbia, SC 29169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > West Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make a smooth landing into southern hospitality when you stay at the Hampton Inn Columbia Airport! Our beautiful 120 room property has been recently renovated, and is conveniently located near many area attractions. We are just minutes from the Columbia Airport, Downtown Columbia, Riverbanks Zoo & Gardens, shopping, restaurants, and more! Whether you are in town for business or pleasure, the Hampton Inn Columbia Airport is your one stop spot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia Airport Hotel West Columbia
Hampton Inn West Columbia
West Columbia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.