We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for any age or physical condition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Columbia Riverwalk

West Columbia Riverwalk
Congaree River, West Columbia, SC
Improve this listing
West Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A must for any age or physical condition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A tree-shaded paved walkway by a major river passing through the area. Recently expanded, this scenic walkway is a draw for walkers, joggers, bicyclist, or even those in wheel chairs. Handicap parking and access is available. Emergency call boxes and lighting are located throughout the walk. However, walking alone late at night is not recommended. That would apply to any area. On nice days one would want to take advantage of the seating areas and picnic tables located throughout. Local history and wildlife information is depicted on display panels. This river walk is as relaxing as it is energizing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful walking trail, great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I live within a 5-minute walk of the river walk. My husband and I walk here at least once per week. We love the views, people watching, clean restrooms, and the chance to talk about our day and exercise together in the fresh air (I hate gyms). :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really, really nice walk along the river.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Three rivers come together in the Columbia area. The Saluda. The Broad. And the Congaree. These rivers are one of the very few urban white water rivers in the U.S. There are also great views of the city at points.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful boardwalk along the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is such a lovely place to go to walk. Some people jog there too. You will see some gorgeous homes overlooking the river. You walk on a boardwalk which winds through the wilderness. There are also some historical sites along the way. Multiple places to park along the walk. Well maintained. Clean. Well patrolled, but I still would not go alone although I have seen others jogging alone. I think it is better to be safe than sorry.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A great walking path!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a very nice, path that is protected from the blazing Columbia SC sun. It runs along the river and has picnic benches along the path.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Columbia Riverwalk also viewed

 

Been to West Columbia Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Columbia Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.