We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport to your Saves list
Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Chris Drive, West Columbia, SC 29169   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
merritt island, florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stopped there for one night while traveling. They charged 79.00 for one room. It was very small and had. An outdoor corridor. One of the towels had a big stain on it. It was an ok room. But not worth the 79.00.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion358, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We at the Clarion Inn appreciate you taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us while visiting Columbia. The Columbia market fluctuates pricing through the seasons and times of the week. With South Carolina's state capitol growing and producing interest in the city, it will cause rates to increase. I apologize that you did not feel like it was worth the value spent. I will schedule a meeting with my Management staff to see what additional amenities we could offer to make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
20
13
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Scary, rude and tiny is the best way to discibe this hotel. I checked in a night and it was very dark not much lighting thats the scary part. We asked for a crib because we had our grandson with us, the night clerk said he would have the security bring it to our room. When security brought the crib, which looked like it came from a hospital in the 50's. The room was to small two double beds we had no room to move, so we ask him to take it back he caught a real attitude with us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion358, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to submit your review of the property. I would like to apologize that your stay with the Clarion Inn fell below your expectations. I have personally addressed the issue with the on site security guard and have spoken with our maintenance technician to ensure that maintain a friendly, safe, and comfortable environment for our guests. Please feel free to contact us directly for assistance during your next visit to Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The front desk staff was wonderful, especially Ansley who noticed right away that I was an older woman traveling alone and very kindly walked me to my room when I checked in at 9:30pm. I have travelled a lot and this was the first time anyone has ever been so considerate. The room was great, bed very comfortable, good continental breakfast. I highly recommend the Clarion Inn at the Columbia Airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion358, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We greatly appreciate your positive review. Ansley was also very excited to know that she helped to exceed your expectations. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

was in town for a funeral and the hotel was just as great as last time i was there Steven was still working there nice guy and great hotel i would reccomend anyone staying here just a nice hotel. convient to the interstate and fairly priced

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion358, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are very sorry for your recent loss. I'm very pleased that our staff at the Clarion Inn was able to exceed your expectations and make sure you were comfortable on your most recent visit to Columbia. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and you taking the time to leave your review of the property with Trip Advisor. Please feel free to contact us at any time for your future visits to Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We shared our family reunion at this hotel. We enjoyed the open areas around the pool. The rooms were large and comfortable. We used their catering service and the food served was excellent. The staff was awesome seeing to our every need. We enjoyed the hospitality room they provided. The children enjoyed the pool. We would definitely consider this location when returning to the Columbia area. Hats off to everyone involved!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion358, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you Greg! It was a pleasure having you and your family at the property and I'm so very happy that we were able to help provide wonderful memories for everyone at the Reunion. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to create a trip advisor and list a review for your stay. Please feel free to contact us if we can be of assistance to you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here over the holiday week and had several rooms.. Even had some family from Georgia come in. The GM-Steven Baker was very helpful and patient with our requests(which were many!). This place is a bit off the main road and right off an exit from the Interstae-but nice and peaceful. Nice looking and lots of trees. The pool area was extremely nice and well maintained-a big courtyard area. Popular with everyone over the 4th! Rooms are nice with good bedding. Carpets could be cleaner but that's my only problem! Housekeeping was prompt and efficient,towels were nice, and all front desk staff was great. Any problem we did have was immediately addressed. Good TVs and nice furniture,pet friendly, full service restaurant at motel. Everything is close by and only a few minutes to downtown. All front desk people are also very customer friendly-Shaw was great! Overall, it's convenient and quite pleasant.. Good choice for an extended vacation or short business trip!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion358, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We may need to hire you on our Sales staff! The Clarion Inn Airport staff greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience through Tripadvisor. We are very pleased to be able to extend a home away from home for you and your family over the 4th of July holiday. We hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

was OK but Just OK nothing special.............. Seriously needs new Rug in Lobby.....room was up to par and had no flaws ..location seems like it would be noisy but was Very quiet............Breakfast was OK, but what is with the coupon system?????

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion358, Director of Sales at Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to evaluate our property on trip advisor. We pride ourselves in providing a level of service and product that will exceed your expectations. I apologize that your stay in Columbia was only deemed adequate. We would love an opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Columbia SC and provide you with stay worthy of a five star review. Have a great day and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport

Address: 500 Chris Drive, West Columbia, SC 29169
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > West Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn-Airport Hotel in Columbia, SC is centrally located to all major Interstates. This Columbia Airport Hotel is located just 4 miles from the Columbia Metropolitan Airport and Columbia's downtown historic and government district. We are within 4 miles of the University of South Carolina and the nationally recognized Riverbanks Zoo and Botanical Gardens. We offer spacious accommodations with wireless high-speed Internet access. Take advantage of our complimentary airport shuttle service, free local calls, free Continental breakfast, 24 hour coffee, and USA Today newspaper. Our hotel offers free on site parking, a laundry facility, and an exercise facility. Our Magnolia's Grill is open daily for breakfast and dinner. It offers authentic Southern cuisine. Magnolia's also offers room service. Our lounge is open nightly. Relax in our beautifully landscaped courtyard surrounding our pool. Our meeting facilities cater to groups of 10 to 250. We have complete event planning, audio visual capabilities and an outstanding catering and banquet service personnel to meet the needs of you and your guests. We offer 142 guest rooms, 12 suites, and special accommodations for the physically challenged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport Hotel West Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn Columbia-Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.