We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Airport to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2208-A Edmund Highway, West Columbia, SC 29170   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
MN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at this location Sat. March 16 2013. I would not recommend it to anybody. While the location is great if you need to go to the airport (which is why we choose it) it is not good for anything else. EVERYTHING inside was in dire need of repair, paint, and/or remodeling. We got there in the evening & had to check out at 4:00 am for a flight so luckily we were only there about 10 hours total. There were four girls/women in our group ages 16-45. None of us would step foot in the shower or walk on the carpet without socks on. The area is not the best either. Not many places to eat besides a Waffle House & Shoney's. Like I said, we were only there for a quick few hours of sleep. If we had been planning to stay longer we would have checked out & found other hotel arrangements immediately. Look elsewhere when in Columbia SC!

Room Tip: My tip would be to not stay here at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer p, General Manager at Sleep Inn Airport, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent hotel stay. I would first like to apologize for your dissatisfaction. As of March 25,2013,total renovation of the hotel began-the hotel is going to be absolutely beautiful after this much needed renovation is complete. It may take several months to complete the entire hotel so I hope you will give us another try after the completion- I think you will be pleasantly surprised.


Jennifer -GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    9
    3
    9
See reviews for
11
9
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Comfy bed, clean room, great service (they faxed a 35 page document for me with a smile). Great hot shower. Wish they used nicer smelling free soaps... This is a great room, great price $79 and if passing through I will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Despite some other reviews, this hotel is not in a bad part of town and is convenient with many restaurants within 2 miles. It is not on a busy highway. It is far enough away from I-20 that there was no noise. We never heard an airplane take off or land (may have been the wind pattern). Although entirely enclosed and locked at night, an off duty Columbia police officer was on the property all night. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Everything worked and was served as advertised. It's not the Ritz; it's a Sleep Inn and Suites by Choice Hotels. They delivered exactly what they said they would, as usual.

Room Tip: For $10 more, take one of the suites. They are larger, better equipped and have flat screen TV's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Yes, this is an older property, and somewhat worn, but I found my room to be clean and comfortable. It was completely adequate for a good nights' sleep, and I felt completely safe here. Sink and tub clean, sheets clean, bedspread & carpet worn but also clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I booked the motel without much research due to an unplanned layover, low price being my primary concern. Other than being on a commercial strip, it did not give much away to the place I stayed the previous night at twice the price. There is a business center, a fitness room, and an average continental-type breakfast. The staff was helpful and friendly. My room was large, clean and comfortable. I considered it to be a terrific value for the dollar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

The entire staff lacks professionalism. Employees parking over 2 spaces limiting parking... Very inconsiderate. Plumbing doesn't work. Room was dirty and stunk. Air conditioning terrible. Spoke to the general mgr. and he was the equally inconsiderate. I demanded my $ back and GLADLY paid 30% more at another hotel up the street. DO NOT BELIEVE THE OTHER REVIEWS.... This place is horrible.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I suppose I will start by saying there are places that really ruining the Choice Hotels brand, and this is one of them. The carpet in the elevator smells like it should have been tossed years ago. There were mildew stains in the toilet. The shower appeared to be okay but there was actually an oily residue on the shower floor. The hotel room floors had not been mopped or vacuumed. We were actually willing to look past all of the lint balls on the comforter until we pulled back the cover to discover clothing tags! They had not changed the linen on the beds from the previous guests they just made up the bed. We were too outdone! In spite of the fact that it was well past midnight, we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Airport

Address: 2208-A Edmund Highway, West Columbia, SC 29170
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > West Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in West Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
69 room hotel- located 5 minutes from Columbia Metropolitan Airport- complimentary continental breakfast- microwave and refrigerators in all rooms-newly renovated ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn West Columbia
West Columbia Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.