We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SECURITY WARNING: GUNSHOT AT THE HOTEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN of Walterboro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN of Walterboro to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN of Walterboro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1428 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SECURITY WARNING: GUNSHOT AT THE HOTEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is my 1st hotel review. I feel compelled to inform and warn other travelers. My 10-year old daughter and I heard panicked screams, then a single gunshot, followed by more frantic screaming as we were going up the stairs to our room. This took place within no more then 20-30 feet of us in the courtyard area of the hotel in daylight. We immediately left the premises of the hotel and the area, forgoing our reserved room. I contacted best western to report the incident as we were driving away along I-95. The representative was powerless to do anything but try to book another room for us, which we ended up not booking. I was told to call customer care the following day to report the incident. I did just that. The representative put me on hold for less then 5 min. to "investigate" what happened at the hotel. After he came back on the line, he said that he spoke with the hotel manager (not the same manager that was present the night before), he is now convinced that I heard fireworks going off at a nearby hotel. I told him that as a result of my professional career I am well aware of the difference between fireworks and gunshots. Despite that fact, he did not refund our $90+ room. It took several other phone calls to the Best Western management to get our money back. Needless to say, the management still attempted to discredit my statement siting the nearby fireworks. Please be warned!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations when you last stayed. The noise that was heard that night was fireworks and we are very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and you can be assured that this will not occur again.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Best Western Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    103
    43
    25
    11
See reviews for
104
93
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The place is not a terrible place to stay, but I will not give my money to people won't don't care one bit about their customers. I'm sure if you stay here when you have no customer-service related issues, you won't be disappointed. I was going to review this place at 4 stars when I first checked in.
Upon arrival, I was met by a very friendly woman who even wanted to make sure that my room choice would suit our party. Her title was "manager". Our room smelled clean (I will not sleep in a room that smells like mildew) and could have been just a little cleaner in certain spots that people don't usually look, but that's to be expected here. We had tons of towels and wash cloths. The pool was clean. The grounds were impressively maintained for this sort of establishment. We had really friendly neighbors all around us.That's about where the good stuff stops.
Around 10pm, a HUGE group of people showed up. They were of all age ranges, and were being very loud. That would have been fine, had they quieted down, but then some sort of party began. Not only that, but a group of them started shrieking and spraying bug spray all around outside because they saw some caterpillars (I'm imagining them coming on here complaining the hotel has a "bug problem"). The front desk night manager later confirmed that she gave the guests the bug spray. If a guest told me they had a bug problem, I'd go check it out, not hand them a can of poison to dispatch at will. Anyway, after almost an hour I called the front desk (there is no way they didn't hear it). The night manager said she'd see what she could do. I'm a pretty out-spoken person, but when I'm outnumbered by a rowdy group of people I'm not going to try to take matters into my own hands. She did not come out of the office for quite some time. So now it's been about an hour and a half of this block party going on. By that time they had sort of retired to their over-flowing rooms, but were still in and out and yelling from downstairs to upstairs. The manager came out like I said, looked around, and went back in. Since nothing was done, my husband offered to go to the office to get the owner's name and number since I was wearing my pajamas. The woman at the desk said that's "private". Really? Because I just checked into another one tonight (where I'm writing this review from), and the owner's cell, fax, and address are on business cards. I guess the difference is that he actually cares. The next morning, our neighbors with a dog actually apologized to me for their dog barking at the noise. Nice of them to do, but the dog was quiet until the party bus rolled in.
After that whole ordeal, we checked out the next morning to continue on our way. Another "manager" was at the front desk (how many managers are in this place??). She asked, like a drone, how my stay was. I started off with "fine", but she interrupted me and then picked up the phone. No, "Thanks for staying", no smile, not even any eye contact. I actually stood there for a few seconds because I wasn't sure whether or not she checked me out. There are plenty of other hotels in the area, and they are the ones that will be getting my money twice a year from now on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations during your stay and are very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. Your satisfaction is important to us and you can always be assured that we strive to do the best service for all of our guests like you.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Best Western Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at this Best Western on our annual trip to the Smoky Mountains. We chose it because of its great reviews, price and the fact that it was pet friendly. It also had great convenience to I95.

We were not disappointed by the experience. The rooms were very clean (we had the 2-room queen suite on the 2nd floor with a pool view). The extra room was welcome with 2 kids and a ridiculously large dog. The only problem we encountered was that our dog could not navigate the steps due to an inherent lack of intelligence and suspected inbreeding. (Obviously no fault of the hotel)

The kids used the pool, which was very clean and had a great seating area for the parents. It was also open until 10, which is great in the summer when it gets dark late. We got take-out from Ruby Tuesdays which was right next door. There is definitely a lack of dining options at this exit, so a good idea would be to eat before you arrive unless you also want to be subjected to the abhorrently average food of Ruby Tuesday.

Overall we were very happy with the staff, service, location and cleanliness of this hotel and will definitely be stopping here again on our way to the mountains next time.


Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western hotel in Walterboro, South Carolina during your trip to the mountains. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean and comfortable rooms, great location and professional staff to fellow travelers. Thank you again for your business and look forward to seeing you the next time your travel plans bring you to our area.

Sincerely,

Best Western Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, West Virginia, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

BW Walterboro is located close to the highway and a myriad of eating places. The hotel is spotless, well maintained, quiet, and the rooms comfortable, very clean, and without a hint of smoke smell. The Wifi is one of the fastest I've experienced. It boasts, in my opinion, the cleanest, most well stocked, seriously well looked after breakfast areas of all BWs. I recommend this BW location without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We appreciate your business and value your feedback on our clean and comfortable accommodations. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback like yours and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Best Western Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount, VA, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Otherwise had no complaints. Hotel more than met expectations, except that the mold/mildew smell in the room was overpowering. Also, using a handicapped room with a roll-in shower, we found that there was no soap dish at all---not even a place on the grab bar that the tiny soap bar and shampoo bottle could be propped.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations in the guestroom. Normally, rooms are assigned as reservations are made at the hotel and we are very sorry for any inconvenience you experienced with the overpowering odor during your stay. Your satisfaction is important to us and you can always make requests at the time of your reservation or check in at our hotel.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Best Western Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I've stayed here a number of times and it's always been fine; typical of a Best Western. Nice rooms, fair rate, good service, good coffee in the morning. Tonight the clerk told us the rate would be way higher than we've ever paid before. My wife gave her our rewards card and she pretty much ignored it until my wife insisted. The card indicates AAA/AARP/etc. discounts. Be sure to mention any affiliations you have to get a discount! The clerks have always been very sharp in past stays, but the service only rates an "average" this time. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback to fellow members regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
We appreciate and value your comments on our accommodations and service and will share it with our team. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback like yours.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Best Western Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Very clean rooms and appear to be new. They allowed my dog which was a major reason of selecting this hotel. I was glad we did stay here because there was a big area where my Golden Retriever was able to get some exercise and run a little after traveling. The grounds were well kept and everything in general was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western of Walterboro, South Carolina.
We appreciate your business and the wonderful comments you shared with fellow travelers about your stay. We look forward to seeing you along with your Golden Retriever soon again!

Sincerely,

Best Western Of Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN of Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN of Walterboro

Address: 1428 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN of Walterboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Of Walterboro!Explore historic Walterboro and nearby Charleston with a stay at the pet-friendly BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, located near Tuskegee Airman Monument.A variety of key area attractions surround this superior Walterboro hotel located in the South Carolina low country, close to I-95 and halfway between South Florida and the Mid-Atlantic States. Browse the South Carolina Artisan Center, browse antique shops, visit the famous Great Swap Sanctuary, see historic sights at the Veteran's Memorial and the Tuskegee Airman Monument, get some sun on nearby Edisto Beach, or indulge in outdoor adventure with a variety of hunting, fishing and hiking opportunities nearby. In addition, Savannah, Charleston, Hilton Head and Beaufort are all just an hour drive away, making them great day-trip destinations for those staying at this Walterboro hotel. While in town, try to catch the annual Rice Festival in April and the Criterion Race and Rodeo in May - both local favorites!For those here on business, BEST WESTERN Of Walterboro is the perfect lodging choice because of our on-site business services and close proximity to local businesses, including Colleton County Industrial Park and the Boeing Manufacturing Plant. Charleston Air Force Base is also nearby for those visiting friends or family living on base.For the ultimate in comfort and convenience, each guest room at this hotel in Walterboro comes complete with cable satellite television with HBO® and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Other amenities at this Walterboro hotel also include complimentary full breakfast each morning, an Olympic size outdoor swimming pool, state-of-the-art fitness center and easy access to the adjacent Ruby Tuesday's restaurant.BEST WESTERN of Walterboro's friendly staff is ready to welcome you here and make your nest Walterboro hotel stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN of Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Of Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Best Western Walterboro
Walterboro Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN of Walterboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.