We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Walterboro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Walterboro to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1834 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Really clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were heading back to Virginia from Ft. Lauderdale and calculated that Walterboro, SC was the half way point to spend the night. Never heard of this city but checked Trip Advisor and the Holiday Inn got good reviews. We were pleasantly surprised and pleased at the quality and cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the front desk. There was a Ruby Tuesday a short distance away that had great service and food. We will definitely stay here again when we drive to or from Florida.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Hi dsarah,

Thanks for making us a new stop on your trips to and from Florida! We appreciate the compliments about our clean guest rooms, friendly team and convenient location. We hope that you had a wonderful time in Florida and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    53
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
68
53
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Have stayed here a number of times. It remains one of my top choices. Staff are friendly and efficient. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is excellent. If I had to really find something negative, it would be the low wattage light bulbs, but one could say that about virtually all properties today (unfortunately). Stay here and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try for upper floor in rear for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hi James R,

Thank you very much for recommending our Holiday Inn Express hotel in Walterboro to fellow travelers. We are so glad to hear that you have made us your home away from home in Walterboro, South Carolina. Our entire team will be delighted to hear such positive feedback about our comfortable rooms, complimentary breakfast buffet and friendly team. We have also shared your constructive criticism with our General Manager. Thanks again for all of your time. We appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Nova Scotia Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The room was clean and the brekkie yummy. Drawbacks: we had a King size suite for 2 adults and. 2 children but 1 bath towel, yes one and no bedding for the pull out sofa . Not fun to realize at midnight you have no bedding. Gets worse to wake up to shower and realize you have one towel, 2 hand towels and a few face clothes for showering . The front decks response this am , "I'm really sorry."

Room Tip: We pick a Holiday Inn Express over other hotels due to the fact, we don't need to think. We kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
rhnedesveaux96,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel! We truly appreciate the kind words about our clean guest rooms and complimentary breakfast buffet. In addition, we would like to thank you for the feedback about the bedding and towels in your guest room. We understand your frustrations and would like to thank you for bringing this concern to our attention. It is feedback like yours that allows us to make necessary changes to improve the overall experience for hotel guests. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent service that you and all of our guests deserve!
Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were very impressed with this hotel. It was super clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, an easy on and off of I75. The complimentary breakfast area was lovely and the breakfast offerings good. Be sure to make reservations ahead of time as did we, because several families were turned away. This is especially when us 'snowbirds' are on the move. It is popular because of its quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Linda and Joe C,

Thank you very much for making the Holiday Inn hotel your home away from home in Walterboro, South Carolina! We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, clean hotel and complimentary breakfast buffet. We would also like to thank you for the recommendation that you left for fellow travelers. As you mentioned in your review, we do sell out quickly so we encourage travelers to give us a call as soon as they know their travel dates to lock in their reservation. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Drove 15+ hours because of traffic. At 7 we called Holiday Inn main no to see if we could switch to closer hotel,but were told no, if we failed to show we'd be charged but room would be held. Arrived at 11:30, and front door was locked. Clerk finally came to desk opened door and after we gave our name said sorry, your card didn't go through so we gave sold you rooms. I asked her to help find another room, she refused to even tell us what other hotels were in the area. We asked her to call her manager, she refused. She even wrote down a false name, and claimed there were no rooms within 100 miles on 95 north or south. So we left, in tears (me), called the main reservations to find she was not telling the truth. We stayed off 95 near Savannah. Found out the clerk name was Ann and AFTER we left she did call and wake the manager, claiming she was upset. The manager Misty was amazing and would have found us a room had the clerk done her job, and even tried to be of service.

Room Tip: Choose a different chain
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Ginny L,

Thank you so much for your recent comments. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering a world class experience. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Most importantly, I'd like to apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Hotel lost my reservation Friday before Christmas
Arrived 9pm and told no reservation & hotel booked! Had called their 877 telephone number at 3pm & booked reservation with credit card only to find out no reservation & all other hotels booked solid. AND I AM A PRIORITY MEMBER which was used for reservation! Now where did my Cc number go?

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear giget1963,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Walterboro several times and just recently stayed again. We have always been very pleased with the cleanliness and quietness of this hotel. In fact, I have stayed at pricier fancier hotels that weren't even near to being as clean as our room was. The breakfast attendant was wonderful. She was very pleasant and went out of her way to make sure you had everything you needed. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
RoadTripMama_46,

A special thanks to you and your family for making us your home away from home in Walterboro, South Carolina! We cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean rooms, quiet atmosphere and friendly team to fellow travelers. We are grateful for your kind words and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walterboro

Address: 1834 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Walterboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly opened Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Walterboro, SC. We are conveniently located at the junction of Interstate-95 and SC Highway 63 (Exit 53). We are only 45 minutes away from Charleston, SC, one hour from Savannah, GA and just ninety minutes from Columbia SC. Our state of the art three-story hotel, offers luxurious accommodations designed with you in mind. We feature facilities that meet the needs of the leisure, corporate or group traveler. Our hotel provides 81 well-appointed, spacious guestrooms, 16 of which are suites. We offer the complimentary new Express Start Breakfast featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls and SMART Roast Coffee. While you re here, enjoy our unique Simply SMART Bath Experience . Our guest rooms offer free high-speed Internet access, in-room voicemail, wake-up service and more! For recreational activities, we have a state of the art fitness center and a 24-hour business center. Other business services are available at the front desk. We are home to Asten Johnson, University of South Carolina Salkehatchie, South Carolina Artisans Center, Tuskegee Airmen Monument, among other companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Holiday Inn Walterboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.