We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stop close to I-95” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Walterboro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Walterboro to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1834 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Overnight stop close to I-95”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at this hotel overnight on our way to the north east. We didn't have a reservation but we were able to get a room. The room was clean. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very nice. I would stay here again. It is a good value for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    53
    19
    6
    8
See reviews for
68
54
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is a nice hotel and was a welcome stop on our overnight trip up I-95 from Florida to DC. The beds were nice, hotel room nice and fresh and large. Two queens and pullout couch in our one room "suite."

Previous years we stayed across the street at the Hampton Inn, but this is an older property (which was turned into a Hampton Inn) and the rooms were very small and minimally appointed. For the money, stay at the Holiday Inn Express in this town. This is a relatively new property.

There is a Cracker Barrel Restaurant nearby. We were there on a Sunday, when all was closed except Cracker Barrel and I think a Waffle House. There is not much in this town to my knowledge except these hotels, but we just used it as an overnight stop, which was fine.

At the Holiday Inn Express we had a nice hot breakfast too, with eggs, pancakes, juice, bagels, bacon, etc. served until 9:30am. No pool in this hotel however, but if you want to swim, you can use the outdoor hotel across street at Hampton Inn. The same owner owns both hotels.

Room Tip: Their suite rooms are just one room with pullout couch, but are comfortable and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

One night stay over on business travel, not much to walk to for food, must drive to most spots. Nice furnishings, will put in GPS to stay here again, very quite, was raining so not able to use outside pool

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed here on our way further south. Easy access right off the highway.

Lobby is clean albeit tiny. We came very early but were allowed to check in 3 hours before normal check in.

Rooms are on. Found a stray hair or two on the bed sheets. I am not crazy about cleanliness so I could get over it but I understand why some would not.

Breakfast is typical HIX - had a very nice hostess making sure everything is stocked

The hotel can not do anything about this but the town around it is terrible. Nothing to do and very limited restaurant selection. Be prepared to eat at the dreaded Cracker Barrell.

This is not the nicest HIX I have stayed at and would probably fall into the bottom half but I have stayed at worse hotels on road trips.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great hotel with excellent service! I was on a long drive and arrived after midnight, but the parking lot and lobby were well-lit and the front desk staff member was alert and friendly. My room was clean and comfortable with lots of nice creature comforts. My check-out was simple with the express check out, so I could quickly get back on the road. I enjoyed the hot breakfast and coffee to go. Easy access to highway and helped get me going easily. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel twice - once on my way DOWN to FL and then a return trip. My trip DOWN had a few bumps. In and of themselves they were minimal complaints, but as a whole made for a bad experience. HOWEVER, I agreed to give this location another shot after having my concerns addressed by VERY friendly hotel management. My return trip was MUCH better. I have NO complaints and the staff went out of their way to make sure I was satisfied.
This hotel is VERY clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. I will be happy to stay here again. And my kids LOVED the breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Well, Walterboro doesn't have much hotel since it is a small town. So, since my purpose was to visit a farming area in Islandton, South Carolina, this Holiday Inn Express hotel is the only name that's recognizable around.

Anyways, it's a good standard hotel with free breakfast. Nice receptionist and will definitely be back again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Walterboro

Address: 1834 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Walterboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly opened Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Walterboro, SC. We are conveniently located at the junction of Interstate-95 and SC Highway 63 (Exit 53). We are only 45 minutes away from Charleston, SC, one hour from Savannah, GA and just ninety minutes from Columbia SC. Our state of the art three-story hotel, offers luxurious accommodations designed with you in mind. We feature facilities that meet the needs of the leisure, corporate or group traveler. Our hotel provides 81 well-appointed, spacious guestrooms, 16 of which are suites. We offer the complimentary new Express Start Breakfast featuring our world famous cinnamon rolls and SMART Roast Coffee. While you re here, enjoy our unique Simply SMART Bath Experience . Our guest rooms offer free high-speed Internet access, in-room voicemail, wake-up service and more! For recreational activities, we have a state of the art fitness center and a 24-hour business center. Other business services are available at the front desk. We are home to Asten Johnson, University of South Carolina Salkehatchie, South Carolina Artisans Center, Tuskegee Airmen Monument, among other companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Holiday Inn Walterboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Walterboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.