We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only the atmosphere was as good as the food...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Jack's Grillin' & Chillin'

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fat Jack's Grillin' & Chillin'
308 Ivanhoe Dr, Walterboro, SC 29488-3717
843-549-5096
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 52 Restaurants in Walterboro
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If only the atmosphere was as good as the food...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We are not from the area so we took a shot in the dark, reading some pretty good reviews. When we got there we almost turned around. The atmosphere was lacking but the food was surprising pretty good. Could stand a little better selection on the menu but the beer was cold so all was forgiven!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, MS
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in while passing through and I was immediately disappointed. We were seated than waited for teens to stop texting and get our drink order. The waitress was fine. We ordered the lunch special, both got baked chicken and that was average at best. My side was "whipped potatoes" which was actually very bland instant mashed potatoes. My other side was "garden peas" which was actually canned English peas. My husband had Lima beans and green beans which were okay. Rolls for the bread were store bought and still cold straight from the bag.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Service could be better but overall not too bad. Over priced for what you get. Wings were good but way over priced. Servers need better menu knowledge.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walterboro, South Carolina
1 review
“Fat Jacks Scallops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Fat Jacks Grillin and Chillin is my favorite local restaurant. Great folks and always family friendly. Jack's has the very best scallops I've erer had. They are consistently great. I have enjoyed scallops from New York to Florida and from South Carolina to California. Jack's product, recipie and cooks combine to make the best scallops I've ever had. All the dishes are wonderful along with the folks. Take my advice, try the scallops the next time your passing through.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great service, very friendly, cheap and yummy wings! The atmosphere is very casual with comfortable booths and people. Great place if you just want to relax and have a cheeseburger if you've been driving awhile.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Jack's Grillin' & Chillin' also viewed

 

Been to Fat Jack's Grillin' & Chillin'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Jack's Grillin' & Chillin', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.