We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff very professional” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Downs Lane, Walterboro, SC 29488   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
NB
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Staff very professional”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Ashley on the front desk was professional, competent, knowledgeable - and doing the work of three people while remaining pleasant and keeping everything running smoothly. Breakfast was fine - it was kept well stocked and tidy by a very cheerful and pleasant person.
We were not too keen on the mini fridge in our room but it was very quiet and the staff put my ice packs in their freezer.
My main criteria are clean and quiet. The room was clean and we left the fan on to mask the road noise from 1-95 - which was not too bad considering its close proximity. Ruby Tuesdays is close but you need to drive as it is across a busy highway. Our only complaint is that there were too few luggage carts. Two at each entrance would be good. That being said, it is not the fault of the hotel staff that some people choose to be inconsiderate and treat the carts like they were their own personal property - keeping them in their rooms and not returning them promptly even when it is obvious that they are needed. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    71
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
73
48
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is convienently located off I-95. The landscaping with a raw of developed palm trees is very impressive. Their full breakfast was excellant. Note that it is located slightly off the street but the sign is noticeable. Their outdoor pool is very attractively arranged.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The desk staff was helpful and friendly. Unfortunately, when we got back to our rooms after dinner and turned down the sheets, they didn't appear to be clean. There were greasy stains and black marks on them as if someone had stood on them in their shoes. The bathroom floor also looked dirty and was sticky.

The breakfast was sub-par for one of these hotels. The bread was strangely limp. To make matters worse, the toaster only toasted one side of the bread.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a satisfactory stop-over. It is showing its age, but still clean and comfortable. The king-bed room was quite large, and despite a full house, there was no disturbing noise during the evening/night. The check-in was friendly and efficient, and there was a sufficient supply of trolleys for transporting luggage. The parking lot was out front and well-lit. Breakfast included cereal, hard-boiled eggs, biscuits, and the usual assortment of (for me unappetizing) sweets. I think waffle-making was also available. The breakfast area was a bit crowded, and breakfast is served only from 6-9, although check-out is 11. The coffee was pretty good. We paid a senior rate of $95, which I used to think was outrageous, but I am gradually catching up to reality. We would stay there again. We ate at the Ruby Tuesday across the road. Unfortunately, the Glass House Restaurant next door is closed.

Room Tip: We stayed in 237; good size, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here last year on our way to Florida. Still as good as last year. No smokers, no pets, makes it my kind of place. Clean, helpful, generous sized room and friendly desk clerk. Will make this our regular stop on our way south!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Highly overpriced. I can't complain about the room, it was clean and comfortable but compared to the lower rate at the Hampton Inn across the freeway it isn't worth the rate. I usually choose Choice due to my Diamond status but from now on will stay at the less expensive Hampton when in the area. Internet service was on and off but breakfast was OK. Rooms are inside entry's but that isn't worth the rate in my mind.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We waited to late to stop where we wanted to every hotel was booked along 26 and 95 we were able to get this one room was a suite nice sized and was clean. My only complaint was we gave credit card and AAA number and was quoted 89.00 it was late when we checked in around 100am and was tired but was not given the discount.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 97 Downs Lane, Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites, a Walterboro hotel near the University of South Carolina SalkehatchieThe Comfort Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located off Interstate 95, less than five miles from the University of South Carolina Salkehatchie and the Colleton Museum of history. This Walterboro, SC hotel is minutes from area attractions like the Edisto Beach, Colleton State Park and the South Carolina Artisans Center, the state's official folk art and craft center.The Colleton County Memorial Library and Bonnie Doone Plantation are minutes away. This South Carolina hotel is one hour from several beaches and the historic cities of Charleston, Beaufort and Savannah. A number of restaurants are located in the surrounding area.Hotel amenities and features include:Free high-speed Internet access in all roomsFree newspaperFree local callsFree coffeeYour Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!Guests of this Walterboro, SC hotel will also enjoy the fitness center and seasonal outdoor pool.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like a business center, and access to copy and fax services.All non-smoking spacious guest rooms at this South Carolina hotel come equipped with refrigerators, microwaves, irons, ironing boards, coffee makers and hair dryers. For the ultimate in relaxation, the hotel offers a whirlpool room with a king bed.From the moment you walk through the doors at the Comfort Inn & Suites hotel, you'll experience southern hospitality at its best. Whether you're spending the night or a few days in the Walterboro area, our guest service representative are available to assist you in any way they can. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Walterboro
Comfort Inn Walterboro
Walterboro Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.