We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissatisfied” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1286 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488 (Formerly Howard Johnson)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Dissatisfied”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The room had a very strong, sour musty smell but we checked in late in heavy rains so stayed anyway. Toilet and sink took a long long time to drain. We won't be back! This hotel lets the Choice chain down in a big way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    17
    21
    30
See reviews for
25
39
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Clean comfortable room, well maintained with all the usual amenities. Reasonably priced and conveniently located at I-95 Exit 53. Check in and out was quick and easy with the aid of knowledgable and helpful staff. We will stay there again but will skip the complentary breakfast which was the only flaw in an, otherwise, enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany ny
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Terrible strong smell of air freshner..I think it was in the curtains. The smell was so bad I wii dispute this stay on my credit card. The whole place is rough. I complained about smell and they acted like I must be crazy. The breakfast was good. Would not return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very old . Hall ways were dirty. Trash cans full . Rooms were old with plaster chipping on the wall. Paint wearing off painting frames. Didn't feel safe. And the finale was two bugs running across the floor(reported to front desk)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

An employee told me that the management was not fixing anything in the place. That it is up for sale. Evidently they have milked it for all it's worth. Seems they give rooms with problems to folks that ask for discounts like AARP, etc. The employees were very helpful, but the owners obviously are derelict. The coffee was good and the rest of the buffet typical. I thought this was bad until we stopped elsewhere on the return trip!
I have been told that all the motels along I95 in SC are owned by folks from India, and they all do the same thing. It's very sad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Rooms had an extremely strong smell of air freshener. Bathroom ceiling had a leak from upstairs and was hanging plus bathtub resurfacing had peeled & was not repaired. Toilet tank took over 5 minutes to fill with water. Towels and linens were threadbare. Lamp was broken and unusable. Fridge was not defrosted and freezer section was unusable. Room needed a good cleaning!! (Carpets, walls, furniture etc) Outside there were cigarette butts all over. The breakfast was passable with eggs, donuts, grits, waffles and toast & coffee and juice, although it was not replenished as needed nor was there any meats such as bacon or sausage or any fruits.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We, like most others, stopped here after driving all night. The rooms smelled horrible and smokey. We changed rooms twice, then told the receptionist that we were unable to deal with the smell and decided to continue driving. She was very sweet and apologetic. Then disaster number two struck. She calls an hour later to say I left a bag. Of course it was full of books and expensive skincare and makeup, as well as prescriptions that I needed immediately. We were too exhausted to turn around, so she said I could call UPS to ship it. Unforunately, being in the middle of nowhere, they had to do it and charge my card. I have called over 10 times, asked every shipping agency around and begged the front desk to ship my things. They have NEVER bothered. They REFUSE to put me through to a manager. I am so frustrated with this crappy hotel and wish I had never stopped there. Its been almost an entire MONTH with no response, and no baggage returned. Keep driving! Do NOT go here! They will steal your stuff and your room will smell, and also be extremely outdated!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1286 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Walterboro
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn Walterboro
Walterboro Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.