We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not many stops along this road.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Abuelitos Mexican Restaurant

Los Abuelitos Mexican Restaurant
1262 Sniders Hwy, Walterboro, SC 29488
843-538-1117
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 52 restaurants in Walterboro
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Exit 53 off hwy I-95 SC
Restaurant details
Description: Exit 53 off hwy I-95 SC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not many stops along this road.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Good for the price. Local owners. Great for an I 95 place. The "grandparents " tells a Lot. We shared the fajitas for one and it was ample for elders. Waitress looked poor, so leave a good tip. She tries hard.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    41
    24
    6
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Yup! Perfect for a meal in Walterboro!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Hubby and I stopped tonight at Los Abuelitos Mexican Restaurant based entirely on Trip Advisor reviews. THANKS everyone!!!
You were right and Los Abuelitos deserved their high ratings! It was a Tuesday night, and there were only 5 other tables occupied, and we had immediate and great service! Thanks, Elena! We had the 27 oz Texas Margaritas...which were awesome! Not too much ice, and we totally "felt" them...something not often done with margaritas. I think they were $8? I had the shrimp/scallop fajita - YUM! I opted OUT of the refried beans, and instead substituted guacamole. All was delicious. Hubby went for the beef taco salad and two tacos on the side. He loved everything.
We won't hesitating visiting Los Abuelitos again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A great Mexican meal once again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stopped in Walterboro on our way to Florida, as usual, and revisited Los Abuelitos...
excellent Mexican food and the best Margaritas that taste like a Margarita should!!
Wish we lived closer...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Enchiladas and Burrito”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This restaurant is a small-town gem. It truly delivered on its claim of Authentic Mexican Cuisine. The sauce for the enchilada special and burrito is outstanding. The enchilada special features five different ones, with each one standing out as wonderful. The beer selection also is impressive. Pricing is sensible, and the ambience is laid-back and casual.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You'll be served if waitresses aren't talking or snacking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Wish I could comment on the food, but couldn't get service. I was welcomed by a very nice Mexican lady and I sat while I watched two ladies talk and one of them snack on something. They saw me but continued to talk. Only when a group of four came in did they even come to the table - after they took menus to the group. No greeting, nothing after ignoring me for about five minutes. Also, my table as well as others were dirty and had not been wiped down. Very disappointing! If the owner/manager had been there maybe it would be different. 9/1/13 6:40pm

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Abuelitos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Los Abuelitos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Abuelitos Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.