We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay - Just passing by” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Walterboro

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Walterboro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Walterboro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1835 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early. Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Walterboro
Palm Bay, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay - Just passing by”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I travel much of the time and find that the Hampton Inn brand is trust worthy and I cherish that. I can trust them that my room is clean, the staff is polite, and the price is good most of the time. The Hampton Inn in Walterboro falls under that same category.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear joetrem,

Thank you very much for joining us at the Hampton Inn for your recent business trip in Walterboro, South Carolina! We cannot thank you enough for being a member of the Hampton family! We look forward to sharing your positive feedback with our team members. Please come back to see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    63
    31
    23
    12
See reviews for
64
72
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nellysford, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

First let me say that the reason we stay in Hampton inns is because of the clean bedding and you know what to expect from Hampton Inn. This hotel is an older motel type with the rooms opening to the parking lot. It was clean, and all three of us thought the beds were comfortable. The beds are standard double beds so smaller than usual but still fine. We got a good nights sleep which is the main point. We stopped here because it was along the interstate so it was convenient. Breakfast was the normal choices you have at a Hampton so it was what we expected and the woman, Darlene, working in the breakfast area did a really good job and was very pleasant and smiling. A couple things to note: since it is an older motel, it needs some repairs. Our toilet wouldn't flush and we had to keep fixing the plastic connector that goes to the flapper. The whole flushing needs a repair kit. They only leave one soap in the room so you have to use the same one at the bathtub and sink. The hair dryer only works if you hold the wall button while drying your hair. We heard someone in the lobby say their bathtub wouldn't drain so it seems there just needs to be some minor repairs that need to be done because of the age of the hotel. Besides being skimpy with the soap, both the coffee and orange juice were very weak and we left still needing a cup of coffee. We felt this Hampton was a bit expensive for the above reasons but again, we did achieve the main objective of a clean bed to sleep in while traveling. There was another hotel acress the road for only $63 a night which we passed up because of the Hampton name so these points need to be noted and fixed or this will be one of those old hotels that used to be a Hampton.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hi Kimberly P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel! We appreciate the kind words about our comfortable beds, convenient location and pleasant breakfast experience. We would also like to thank you for your constructive criticism. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will share your room number with us so that we can complete any necessary repairs needed in this guest bathroom. In addition, we have shared your concerns about the juices with our breakfast team so that we can check to be sure the juice is living up to Hampton expectations! Thanks again for all of your time. It is feedback like yours that allows us to improve the overall experience for future guests. We look forward to hearing from you and hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent service and accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Best beds and quiet air conditioning system providing for a great sleep. The room was clean and fresh. The staff attentive service and accommodating. We can always count on consistency with the Hampton brand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks Walter O for joining us at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and cannot thank you enough for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers. Our World Famous Cloud 9 Hampton Inn bedding package is definitely a favorite among travelers, so we are excited to hear that you enjoyed a restful sleep during your stay! Please come back and see us again soon at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was just an overnight stay along I5, but I thought it was extremely nice for an older property. We felt the bedding was very comfortable. What really stood out - when we checked in about 8 or so at night, besides the desk clerk, there was a really nice older, very southern gentleman sitting in a chair and it seemed like his sole purpose was welcoming people! He was very pleasant and talkative! Then, the next morning during breakfast - there he was again - all dressed up in a suit and tie and chatting people up! A nice touch, I thought.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
FloridaHoney,

Thank you very much for joining us at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel during your travels along Interstate 95. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the World Famous Hampton Cloud 9 Bedding! It is a favorite for many of our guests! We look forward to sharing all of your compliments with our team! Thanks again for your time. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Bedding was delapidated, what more can I say. Refer to prior aswers. Other than that all was well. I had intended to write a letter to Hampton when I returned home and had access to a printer. I did mention to the front desk of another problem which was greatfully received. ( Corner of bathroom wall looked lke blood) it did not warrent an actual complaint, just a noeation to help keep

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are sorry to hear that you experienced a few inconveniences on this particular visit and would like to thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention right away. We proudly offer the World Famous Hampton Inn Cloud 9 Bedding Package. While this is a favorite for many travelers, we understand that it is not a preference for everyone and we are very sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused. As you mentioned in your review, our team is ready to help in any way that we can. Thank you for sharing your concern about the cleanliness of the bathroom so that we could have our housekeeping team double check for any missed dirt or residue. Thanks again for all of your time. We appreciate it and hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Hampton Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here while traveling for business for just one night. The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great, the wifi was fast. It was right off I-95 and a good travel stop. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Diane D,

Thank you very much for joining us at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel during your recent business travels along Interstate 95! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet and high speed wireless internet access! Our team will be delighted to hear the compliments about their friendly, helpful service! We hope to see you again soon at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

One of the few Hamptons with room entrances on the outside. Staff was friendly. The Breakfast was good and the lady in charge of stocking breakfast was outstanding. The pool was nice, should have been heated but was closing for the season. Should be indoors. Enjyed our stay but would pass next tie by - no decent eating places nearby. Cracker Barrel was terrible but that is not the Hamptons fault.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear disgusted012,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your travels along Interstate 95! We appreciate the kind words about our friendly team and complimentary breakfast buffet. While Cracker Barrel is a favorite for many of our travelers, we understand that there menu may not be of interest to everyone. We are sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused and wish you the best of luck during future travels!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Walterboro

Address: 1835 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Walterboro 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel is located off I-95 with easy access to I-26 and I-16. Near historic downtown Walterboro, history buffs will also enjoy our convenient location to both Charleston and Savannah only 1 hour away. Relax with great amenities like free Wi-Fi and free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Walterboro Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Walterboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.