We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Hotel but well kept up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Walterboro

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Walterboro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Walterboro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1835 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early. Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Walterboro
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Older Hotel but well kept up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great value the guest service makes you feel like you are at home. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The breakfast was above Hampton Inn standards and every one was looking to make your stay better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Barry F,

Thank you very much for such a kind, five star review! We are so glad to hear that you feel we offer a home away from home in Walterboro, South Carolina! We cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean rooms and outstanding hot buffet breakfast to fellow travelers. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    67
    33
    23
    12
See reviews for
71
74
15
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We needed a spot for overnight and this was clean, neat, well lighted, and just off the I-95 exit. Convenient, relatively free of road noise, and a quick start off in the morning. The morning crew of the checkout clerk, breakfast service staff, and local manager was a pleasant group and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Hardie J,

Thanks for joining us at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel! We are so glad that you chose to stay with us for a quick stopover during your travels along Interstate 95! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean hotel, convenient location and quiet atmosphere during your stay. Our entire team will be delighted to hear such positive feedback. Please come back to see us again soon!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I drive from Fort Myers, FL to Richmond, VA a couple of times a year and have found this to be a very nice hotel. The staff is great, the rooms extremely clean and the breakfast great. I will use them as a half way stop whenever I travel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Nancy C,

Thank you very much for making the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel a regular stop during your trips from Fort Myers to Richmond! We truly appreciate the kind words about our great team, clean rooms and great complimentary breakfast buffet. We look forward to seeing you again soon during your next trip along Interstate 95!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESTERO, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Don't stay at this Hampton ... it doesn't deserve the name. Upper mid-range price for an old 2 story, exterior entrance, no elevator place. People and breakfast fine if you're can't find any place else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear George R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Our goal is to provide comfortable accommodations to each and every hotel guest and we are very sorry to hear that you feel we did not live up to those high standards on this particular visit. We have recently completed renovations to offer a new and improved experience for hotel guests. While many travelers enjoy the exterior entrances because they can park near their guest rooms, we understand that this is not a travel preference for everyone. Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We wish you the best of luck in your future travels!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Traveling 1200 miles, one needs to keep water cold and freeze ice packs. There was no refrigerator. The room smelled a bit odd. Very outdate and the duvets were not clean even though they said they were changed daily.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Linda M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are very sorry about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit. We do have a limited number of refrigerators available for hotel guests. Please tell our front desk team that you would prefer a room with a refrigerator when you call to make your hotel reservation. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will share your room number with us so that we can further investigate the smell of the room as well as the duvets to ensure that they have been cleaned. Thanks in advance for all of your time and feedback. We appreciate it and hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that we can provide the excellent service and accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

free breakfast and wifi.....terrific service ...a great value. From the time you step out of your car and enter the lobby you know that this is a place where guest service is part of the philosophy and is always put first. Helpful with smiles. Always looking for ways to make your stay better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Paul M,

Thank you very much for the five star review about the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel! We truly appreciate the kind words about our free breakfast, free wireless internet, terrific customer service, and great value! Our entire team will be delighted to hear all of your positive feedback! Please come back to see us again soon at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Low budget motel with triple the price tag. Room small, humid, and smelled like dog deodorizer. This is not what you expect from Hampton. They have tried to update the rooms but it is just not very nice here. Will not stay at this particular motel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear WVGirl69,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are very disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will share your room number with us. This way, our team can further investigate the concerns described in your review. Thanks in advance for your time as it is feedback like yours that allows us to improve the overall experience for future guests. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future so that we have the opportunity to provide the excellent service and accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Walterboro

Address: 1835 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Walterboro 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel is located off I-95 with easy access to I-26 and I-16. Near historic downtown Walterboro, history buffs will also enjoy our convenient location to both Charleston and Savannah only 1 hour away. Relax with great amenities like free Wi-Fi and free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Walterboro Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Walterboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.