We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a typical Hampton” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Walterboro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Walterboro to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Walterboro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1835 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early. Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not a typical Hampton”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Low budget motel with triple the price tag. Room small, humid, and smelled like dog deodorizer. This is not what you expect from Hampton. They have tried to update the rooms but it is just not very nice here. Will not stay at this particular motel again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear WVGirl69,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are very disappointed to hear about the inconveniences that you experienced on this particular visit. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will share your room number with us. This way, our team can further investigate the concerns described in your review. Thanks in advance for your time as it is feedback like yours that allows us to improve the overall experience for future guests. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future so that we have the opportunity to provide the excellent service and accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    71
    38
    25
    13
See reviews for
75
84
16
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Walterboro
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel a few times before.It is always clean and is located close to the main highway. The staff is very helpful and friendly.And the breakfeast is always hot and delious..I always sleep great on the matteress it helps me for my back back.Very confortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Joseph M,

Thank you very much for staying with us on multiple occasions at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel. We are truly grateful for the kind words about our clean property, convenient location, friendly team, and delicious complimentary breakfast buffet. In addition, we are pleased to hear that you enjoy our comfortable beds which feature the Hampton Inn Cloud 9 Bedding. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Always above standard! After that long drive on 95, you cant beat the location, staff quality, The Hampton sheets ad pillows, and ESPECIALLY those HOME MADE, FRESH COOKIES! Treat yourself, make that stop!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel as you traveled along Interstate 95! We truly appreciate the kind words about our convenient location, wonderful team, and comfortable rooms! We are also pleased to hear that you enjoy our fresh cookies! Thank you very much for all of your time. We hope to see you again soon at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed at the Hampton Inn Walterboro, SC on a trip from DC to Fl. When we decided to stop, we looked up the reviews on our phones and noted the medioce reviews for the Hampton Inn, but was tired, not sure where the next exit with lodgig was and thought that since Hampton Inn's are typically nice, it would be ok.

This Hampton Inn was, in our opinion up to normal HI standards. There are no interior hallways and the room smelled moldy, and just felt "unclean". Additionally, there were several bugs in the room and bathroom and my mother and I both found spider bites on us the next day the morning. After that, we didn't want to try the breakfast.

There is a Holiday Inn Express across the street and a nicer Hampton Inn 10 miles south of Walterboro just off 95.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear iamscubaerin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and would like to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. While many of our guests enjoy our exterior entrances because they can park near their guest room, we understand that this is not one of your travel preferences and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will share your room number with us. We do not take concerns about bug infestations lightly and would like to further investigate the situation described above. Thanks in advance for all of your time. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will join us again in the future so that we can provide the spotlessly clean, comfortable accommodations that you and all of our guests deserve.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Jim (Greeter) and all the staff did a wonderful job. Breakfast was better than most resteraunts we have visited and the lady taking care of it was very polite and friendly. Every one there contributed to making it a great stay for us and we appreciate it very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Lave B,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and cannot thank you enough for the kind words about our friendly staff members and complimentary breakfast buffet. Our entire team will be delighted to hear such positive feedback. Please come back and see us again soon at the Hampton Inn Walterboro!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here 07/28/13 on way from Florida on way to Richmond to visit family. Very clean rooms, convenient location, fair rate, restaurants nearby. Great breakfast with super nice folks working the breakfast area and greeting guests. We were made to feel very welcome & will definitely stay here again anytime we're passing through.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear FloridaPixie,

Thank you for joining us at the Hampton Inn Walterboro for a quick stop on your way to Richmond. We cannot thank you enough for recommending our clean rooms, convenient location, and great value to fellow travelers. We are pleased to hear that you were able to join us in the morning for our complimentary breakfast buffet! Thanks again for all of your time. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Typical interstate hotel. Staff was outstanding. Was my second stay it this location for an overnight business stay. Exterior appearance was neat and in order; lobby had fresh snacks upon check-in. Breakfast was fully stocked with the typical Hampton fare. The room functioned well. I happen to enjoy the exterior entrances as I can park right outside my door. The bed of the room I stayed was a bit worn and uncomfortable; felt like a ton of bricks had rested on one side.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear DSGAtlanta_GA

Thank you for joining us for a second visit at the Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel. We truly appreciate the kind words about our convenient location, outstanding team, and complimentary breakfast buffet. In addition, we are glad to hear that you enjoy our exterior entrances which allow guests to park near their guest room. While we appreciate all of your compliments, we are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your guest bed. We have sent you a private message in hopes that you will share your room number with us. We proudly offer the Cloud 9 Hampton Bedding and would like to check your guest room to make sure the bed is living up to those high standards. When you call to make your next reservation, please let the desk agent know that you would like to switch rooms. This way, we can find a new room that will better meet your travel needs! Thanks again for all of your time and feedback. We appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Walterboro Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Walterboro

Address: 1835 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Walterboro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel is located off I-95 with easy access to I-26 and I-16. Near historic downtown Walterboro, history buffs will also enjoy our convenient location to both Charleston and Savannah only 1 hour away. Relax with great amenities like free Wi-Fi and free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Walterboro Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Walterboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.