We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Walterboro

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Walterboro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Walterboro
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1835 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early. Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Walterboro
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Enjoyed my stay while on a short get away trip. Hotel was clean and nice pool and close to the interstate with plenty of food options very close. Nice breakfast in the morning and took side trip to Edisto Island which is about one hour away and a nice drive thru rural South Carolina. Got good value for the money and would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Z, Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us and positive experience with others. We are happy you found our hotel clean and enjoyed our breakfast. We work hard to make this happen and cannot thank you enough for noticing. We also glad you enjoyed your trip to Edisto Island and nice drive thru rural South crolina.
Thanks again for your business and posting. We whish you the best in your travels and hope you will visit again soon.

Best Regads,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    60
    31
    22
    11
See reviews for
62
70
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The wife & I stayed here on the way back to sunny FL & it was a nice.
Even though this is what I call an "old maid motel" which is an old facility made over on the outside to look like a new one.
We found their ad in one of those highway magazines we picked up at lunch somewhere & for $89 plus taxes it ain't bad.
The check in was friendly & the free hot breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Z, Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you had a nice stay with us. We look forward to seeing you back again on your next trip to South Carolina.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I have generally had good luck with Hampton Inns, paying more than the average hotels and expecting much more than what I had in return... Yes, the staff was friendly, the room appeared clean but the mildew odor hits you upon entering your room. I thought if we cranked the A.C. it would help...think again. I had difficulty breathing within a few hours and could not get over the dank, musty smell. I did tell the front desk and the reply I was given was " We will let housekeeping know" and that was it. I could have paid half the price at a neighboring hotel, without a great reputation and probably would have been able to breathe and get a somewhat good nights sleep. I am very disappointed and am sure this has to be a common complaint with this location. The last thing you want to deal with after a long day of travel is this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Z, Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
May 29, 2011

Dear Mumtie:
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Also, thank you for noticing the cleanliness of our rooms, and our friendly staff .
I am so sorry that you were unhappy with your experience here. I would like to utilize this opportunity to express my apologies and concern for the prblems you experienced with your stay.
Mr.Mumtie our hotel is committed to customer satisfaction. Therefore, I have shared your comments with the appropriate members at our company to insure the problems you experienced are addressed.
We were happy to extend the 100% satisfaction and refund your night's stay.
I hope that you'll stay with us on your next visit so we'll have an opportunity to make this up to you.
Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central FL
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

I was all set to ding this one big time when we drove up and found it was an older property with outside rooms, something I don't expect with a Hampton. For some reason, when I was booking hotels for this trip I neglected to read the reviews for this one. At least there was an elevator (added later). Rooms were smallish, had no refrigerators (which we have come to expect in Hamptons) but were clean. Electrical outlets were sparse and inconveniently located.

Surprisingly, the breakfast area was large and attractive, the selection of food was on par with other Hamptons and was well maintained. (No cookies the night before, though.) A gentleman, presumably the owner, was in the breakfast area greeting everyone and asking if everything was okay. Frankly, he was a bit "hail fellow well met" for me first thing in the morning, but at least he was trying. And the room was $10-$20 less than most other Hamptons in similar areas. It could have been worse. But maybe the Holiday Inn Express across the street was better - at least it had inside corridors.

I'm not sure what the answer is to budget rooms on I-95 in SC because we've never had a very good one. On this trip, we had dirty carpets in a Hampton in Manning, SC. On a previous trip we had dirty, used sheets when we checked into a Fairfield in Florence. (Hampton in Santee was a little better when we passed through in Feb.) Maybe you need to stop in Savannah or just keep going to NC. But if you need a meal in Walterboro and don't want fast food hamburgers, chicken or pizza, try The Glass House at the same exit as the Hampton, on the east side of I-95. Service could have been faster (a lot of people came in shortly after we got there, though) but the food was pretty good, a pleasant surprise on a SC interstate.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Z, Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. We take guests' feedback/comments very seriously, and I'm terribly sorry for the disatisfaction you experienced during your recent visit. Your comments and concerns have been fully addressed and I would welcome the opportunity of speaking with you directly at your convenience. I can be reached at 843-538-2300.
Regads,
Solomon zadeh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

After leaving the Orlando area late the hotel was called at 4:00pm to give a credit card to guarantee late arrival. Upon reaching the hotel at 10:30 pm we were informed that we did not have a reservation, and there was no credit card number "in the system". There was no comment except "I'm sorry we are fully booked". There was no offer to look for another room at another hotel.

I was truly disappointed in the uncaring attitude displayed at this Hampton Inn. The next step is to make sure my card is not charged for the room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Z, Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
I would like to opologize on the behalf of the entire front desk staff here regarding your unfortunate situation.
Our goal is to provide the best accomodation and service in the lodging industry today, and I regret that this did not occur during your visit to this area.
I am very glad you shared you concerns with others which gives us the opportuninty to address this issue , and prevent a recurrence and a future guest's disappointment.
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Walterboro on our way to Disney and was a great stay. We arived late the night comming in to town and left our early to get back on the road. Though I don't remember the gentelman who worked for the motel but he was very nice a hospitable to our family

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Z, Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your positive experience with others. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be nice and helpful. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reamstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

This facility appears to have been renovated recently and very convenient to stop off from I-95. We will definitly keep this one on our radar. All staff very pleasant, and good wifi.

Higly recommend

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solomon Z, Manager at Hampton Inn Walterboro, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Wonderful !!! I can't tell you how nice it was to see your glowing review about our hotel. The entire staff truly appreciates your feedback. We are so pleased that you found your room to be clean, the internet reliable and the breakfast good! we work tirelaessly to ensure a clean and well maintained property.with every thing in good working order and appreciate that you noticed.
Thankyou again, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regard,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Walterboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Walterboro

Address: 1835 Sniders Highway, Walterboro, SC 29488
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Walterboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Walterboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Walterboro 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Walterboro hotel is located off I-95 with easy access to I-26 and I-16. Near historic downtown Walterboro, history buffs will also enjoy our convenient location to both Charleston and Savannah only 1 hour away. Relax with great amenities like free Wi-Fi and free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Walterboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Walterboro Hotel Walterboro
Walterboro Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Walterboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.