We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an interesting and fun tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Tea Plantation

Charleston Tea Plantation
6617 Maybank Highway, Wadmalaw Island, SC 29487
+1 843-559-0383
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Charleston Tea Plantation is the home of American Classic Tea, tea grown in America. It is located on picturesque Wadmalaw Island in the heart of South Carolina's Lowcountry. Its grounds include 127 acres of Camellia Sinensis tea plants, a working Tea Factory and a charming Plantation Gift Shoppe. Also available to guests is an adventurous and educational Trolley Tour that explores the scenic grounds that produce American Classic Tea. Complimentary tea is served to visitors throughout the day
Fort Myers, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What an interesting and fun tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our group had a wonderful morning there touring the plantation in the trolley - well worth the $10. As an avid tea drinker I had no idea it was the only tea plantation in the U.S. We learned all about how to grow the plants and what it takes to get a crop. Everyone there was so friendly and very helpful. The tea tasting was delicious and we all took home many boxes of their delicious tea. It was definitley worth the drive!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    167
    30
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My partner and I were in Charleston for the weekend and popped in the the only tea plantation in America. They have a free basic tour but we paid the extra 10 dollars for the full tour and it was well worth the money!! You get to learn and see how tea planets are grown, your taken around the plantation on a trolley and you get to see all the tea plants. There are also free tea samples.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Unexpected, but so worthy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My parents found this destination from an online website, and we had never heard of it. To get there, you drive through typical wild South Carolina landscape, with Spanish-moss heavy trees alongside the road. Caution, the entrance to the plantation is easy to miss. The tour of the plantation is worth taking: very informative and great wild-life sightseeing. The self-guided tour is also interesting, and the gift shop is a must. We all bought some and never regretted it: nice flavors, great teas!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Really interesting - North American tea plantation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I had no idea that tea was grown in North America until coming across information about the Charleston Tea Plantation while in Charleston. It is a decent drive out of town, but worth it. The factory tour is interesting and free, and the Trolley Tour is well worth the small charge for all of the additional information you learn about tea cultivation and the plantation itself. The gift shop is very nice, and they let you sample the very tasty tea they grow.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn Haven, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband is a tea fanatic so when I found out about this place we had to go! Wow- how beautiful! The natural surroundings, beautiful trees, and lovely tea plants are just what we seek for peace in our existence. We were also able to sample many of their blends of tea. They have a trolley that drives you around the plantation and shows you how it operates. It is a lovely place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Tea Plantation also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Tea Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Tea Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.