We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to see how tea is grown!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charleston Tea Plantation

Charleston Tea Plantation
6617 Maybank Highway, Wadmalaw Island, SC 29487
843 559 0383
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Farms
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Charleston Tea Plantation is the home of American Classic Tea, tea grown in America. It is located on picturesque Wadmalaw Island in the heart of South Carolina's Lowcountry. Its grounds include 127 acres of Camellia Sinensis tea plants, a working Tea Factory and a charming Plantation Gift Shoppe. Also available to guests is an adventurous and educational Trolley Tour that explores the scenic grounds that produce American Classic Tea
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to see how tea is grown!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

The people here are very friendly! For a small fee you can take a trolley ride around the acres and acres of tea plants, watch a self guided tour of tea processing and drink tea on the rocking chairs outside the gift shop. Nice and relaxing way to add to your vacation or just another day in a beautiful area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    130
    21
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Collierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
139 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Interesting, laid back attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stopped here on our way from Savannah to Charleston. It's a bit out of the way, but we found it to be very interesting and very glad we made the stop. The short tour of the factory is free and has some interesting information - green tea and black tea come from the same plant, they are just processed differently. We found the $10 trolley ride to be well worth it, just to see how tea is grown and harvested and hear about the future plans for this establishment. Everyone was very nice and their gift shop had some very interesting items.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“worth going out of your way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

the Charleston Tea Plantation was absolutely fascinating; it's nice to go someplace and leave knowing more than when you arrived. I hadn't realized how tea grows, nor how it is harvested. The plantation is free to visit, but for $10 the trolly tour was worth the price and a lot of fun, probably because the tour guide was so engaging. The visitor center offers unlimited tea sampling (and has nice rest rooms). We ended up buying a lot of tea gifts there, too. As long as you are on Wadmalaw Island, go to the Firefly tea vodka distillery, too.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“how interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

my visit to the tea plantation was early September, so wasn't as crowded as some other people had mentioned. what an interesting place! I learned so much about tea plants and the production of tea that I never knew! There was an endless supply of free tea tasting in the gift shop which was delicious. The trolley ride takes you all around the plantation and our tour guide was fantastic and extremely knowledgable. Overall a fun experience and very friendly staff. Would definitely recommend for anyone who likes to learn!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stoped here on the way from Charleston to Savannah in early August. A beautiful butterfly garden greats you as you approach the guest building. Nice guest facilities and clean restrooms. The video guided tour of the factory is free and was very interesting and educational. Though you are behind glass, you are very close to the action. There is a fee for the trolley tour, but it was fun (tour guide was quite the comedian) and again very interesting and educational. . The all you can sample teas were very flavorful and delicious. At the time both hot and iced versions were available. We will be enjoying our Charleston Peach Tea back here in Wisconsin as the weather cools down.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Tea Plantation also viewed

 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Tea Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charleston Tea Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Charleston Tea Plantation to your Saves list