We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun diversion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firefly Distillery

Firefly Distillery
6775 Bears Bluff Rd, Wadmalaw Island, SC 29487
843-557-1405
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Distilleries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Firefly Distillery is South Carolina's first and largest distillery. Firefly Distillery is home to Firefly Sweet Tea Vodka, the original sweet tea vodka, and many more southern specialties. Current product lines include vodkas, rums, bourbon, liqueurs, and moonshines. Guests are welcome Tue-Sat 11am-5pm for tastings, closed January. Feel free to bring your own lunch and have a picnic on our grounds, perhaps after enjoying a wine tasting from Irvin~House Vineyards which is located on the same property. Every Saturday the distillery hosts Sippin' Saturdays with live music and tasty local food for sale. Come taste the South and enjoy a casual laid back atmosphere!
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fun diversion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After stopping at the Charleston Tea Plantation, we continued down the road to the Firefly Distillery. Although we enjoyed the tasting- my husband and I split one, as it was about 10:30 in the morning. We bought some of their product and brought some back for our adult children as souvenirs. The girls who served the samples were helpful and nice, but there is no tour and it would have been nice to hear about the distillery or how it came about. After we had tastes of the vodkas, we were not up to going next door for the wines, but they did have some sandwiches next door for lunch. We went on a Tuesday, so maybe there is more going on during the weekend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    55
    10
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyde Park, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Spent an afternoon there, tasting spirits and wine! Nice and shady, good place for some relaxing, Reasonable fee for wine tasting ($5.00) and vodka or moonshine tasting($6.00). Can do either or both. Or just visit the little wine shop and buy some delicious wine! There was a good food truck there too, if you're so inclined. Lots of places to sit under the trees and not over crowded. Lovely place!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ohhhh Firefly! What a great place to visit. It is out in the middle of no-where (approx. 20 minutes from downtown) but well worth it. The Firefly company itself has recently been sold to another company, but still worth going to the barn and tasting the different types of drinks they have. The vineyards are fun to walk through. The wine tour, is just a video you go and see, but the tour involves wine tasting. Muscadine wine is all you will find here, but again great place to go and hang out with the family. On the weekends they will have a food truck and music to enjoy while on the grounds.... Once a year they do the grape stomping festival.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara L, Manager at Firefly Distillery, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Hi, so glad you enjoyed your trip to the distillery and vineyard! Just wanted to say we are still owned by Jim and Scott who started Firefly, and busy as ever! Be sure to visit again and try our new moonshines, you'll probably bump into Jim while on the property! Save the date for the Stomp--- August 24th!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great stop out in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We took the long drive out and were not disappointed by the product or the service at the distillery. Stacy did a great job of explaining all the differences in the products, from production to pour and my girlfriend and I had a very pleasant tasting. Try at least one of the moonshines while you're out there!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Real nice tasting experience! Loved their products!!!! Look forward to enjoying. Never really cared for vodkas but they were great!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firefly Distillery also viewed

 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Firefly Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firefly Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.