We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 2BR Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Highway 17 North, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice 2BR Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Took the family for a quick vacation in Surfside Beach, SC. Despite lousy weather, the facilities were nice (indoor and outdoor pool, game room and taable tennis, saunas and steamrooms, etc.) and the location was pretty good (for not being on the beach). Service personnel were nice, and no hard-sell to "take the tour" beyond the initial mention of the "opportunity".

Cons: The unit floors were disgusting and I had to throw away my socks when I got home because of the black gunk from the tile floor -- that place had not been mopped for weeks. My mattress needed to be replaced due to the huge dent where others over the years had slept. Also, the kitchen lacked adequate supplies to prepare and eat a family meal ...

Room Tip: Test the mattresses, and don't be shy about asking housekeeping to come and mop the floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    75
    44
    25
    38
See reviews for
122
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

First room had a dishwasher in process of being repaired, tools on the floor. Stood in line again. Second room had a malfunctioning key. Resort thought we were too dumb to operate it so they sent a maintenance person to open the door for us. Actually, the battery was dead in the key slot. Waited for another maintenance person who finally came and repaired it while we waited some more. They gave us free breakfast buffet in exchange for wasting two hours. Left the buffet after finding ants in our drinks and something black and crunchy in the lumpy grits. The room had no balcony, an ironing board and no iron, a broken coffee maker, a washer dryer that was falling apart. The "Jacuzzi" tub had jets that didn't even reach our ankles. The bathroom was very tiny. The towels were well worn. But the a/c worked and the bed was comfortable. It is not near the beach as the photos show but they run a shuttle. We left early. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: We traded our time share. Big mistake. Second floor in "hotel" suite but unlike any hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

The resort itself was lovely, had everything we needed for the two of us staying a week in a 1BR & a friend flew in to golf with my husband, staying on the pullout for 2 nights. The kitchen is well appointed but not much storage space outside the fridge. There was ample bedroom & hall closet space & a large balcony overlooking what I called the moat filled with cute swimming turtles every morning. The king bed was comfy, but the pullout was apparently nothing to write home about. The grounds are well maintained & the staff is friendly, all common areas were inviting & looked after by attendants. We were within 15-20 minutes driving distance to anything really. I took the shuttle to Surfside Beach one day while my husband & friend were golfing- very easy!

HOWEVER!! Our bathroom, while large enough & functionally-sound, needed either a tub mat or at the very least a safety handle inside the shower. The shower/tub combo has very high walls given the fabulous depth & jets, but even I (athletic at 5'11" tall & a sprightly 31 years of age) slipped & fell into the shower with no preventative mat & nothing to grab to steady myself. I busted my knee on the tile corner of the tub pretty badly & have a nasty bruise to explain, but I worry more for the elderly folks who tend to stay with timeshare condos. Just a suggestion- bring your own adhesive ducks!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, VA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Four of us stayed here on an RCI exchange. The resort is immaculate. The rooms are very clean and well-stocked. The breakfast buffet for $6 + is outstanding. They have plenty of activities, pools,, movie rentals, weight room, etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed a week here and found the resort largely met our needs. We stayed on a ground floor 2 bedroom condo, which meant we avoided the stairs. We liked the overall quiet of the place, although the rooms were not sound proof particularly when people talked in the stairwell. The decor was blue and white, dated but we had everything we needed. I found the bed too firm and struggled to sleep well unfortunately. Other negatives were the condo is long and only had window in main bedroom and off living area, so we tended to keep the lights on. While the kitchen is very well stocked for cooking, this leaves little space for storage, and there is little bench space for food preparation.

The grounds are nicely maintained and resort drivers kept speeds down. We didn't use the outdoor pool but would have if we had stayed when our kids were younger and with us, heaps of towels incl for pool were provided. I enjoyed the complementary activities incl pool, Zumba and yoga. Breakfast was reasonable for the price ($7) in the activity centre. Two things really made my stay: Ray's massage at the on site spa (10% discount for guests) where he used a range of techniques to ease my sore back and shoulders while we talked comfortably; and the trip to Brookgreen Gardens (glorious with April azaleas out) located 10 miles from the resort. The outing ran from 10 to 3 (could easily have been longer but the driver was happy to extend time), cost $20 and included a basic sandwich lunch; good value given entry to the gardens is $14. Kenny the driver was also engaging and informative about the history and local restaurants.

Apart from the sleep issue I had a pleasant low key stay. Lots of restaurants and golf courses were close by and two Walmarts). Having a car distance to beach was no problem but we are likely to seek Oceanside when we come back. A couple of suggestions for the resort would be to improve walking access to the activity centre (no paths) and to provide information on walking tracks (we went for a walk on was of the old golf cart paths and had to retrace our steps).

We had no hard sell re purchase. We said from start we were not interested and were left alone. No onset restaurant but Denny's on highway 1 (a reasonable walk from condo).

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you don't like stairs. This is a long resort (it used to be on edge of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelion, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We went down spring break for a week.. Had a great time, great service.. When we got back home and checked our back statement.,75 dollars was taken... They told us that somebody had made a mistake and they would put it back into our account in 8-10 business days.. So if we wouldn't have checked out bank account.. The cashier would have walked off with the money..Please check your account after giving the front desk your card...

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We came here Sunday 4/6/2014 on an RCI Timeshare exchange. 2 BR condo. Check-in was a breeze. Staff very friendly and informative. Our unit was very well equipped and exceptionally clean. 3 TV's - 2 flat screen, DVD player. Fast WIFI. The only downside was that the beach was a fairly long block away: free shuttle bus available hourly. Our condo was on the 2nd floor, no elevator but no problem as the Maintenance crew was more than willing to carry our luggage up and down the 14 stairs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Resort

Address: 1250 Highway 17 North, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Surfside Beach
Plantation Surfside Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.