We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Plantation Resort was not up to our expectations and will not be recommending or coming again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Resort

Save Saved
You added Plantation Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
Plantation Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 Highway 17 North, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
Hotel amenities
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Plantation Resort was not up to our expectations and will not be recommending or coming again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Plantation Resort was not up to our expectations and will not be recommending or coming again

We actually had 2 rooms as the first was not going to make it at all, the management switch us after the first night. (too bad that room had the better mattress) room was run down with rust on doors broken light pulls a tub that you actually needed a step to get into (no kidding). Broken washing machine and fridge door that opened to the wall so you had to open all the way and then walk around to get into the fridge. The stairs and hallway were pretty nasty and that was both condition and smell.

Anyway next morning after complaining we were switched into a bigger room it was better BUT
it was not very clean, stuff splashed on door handle coming in unit started it all, something white splashed on curtains, cob webs and spider webs on inside corners of living room area, with dead spiders still hanging there. The bathroom off the master bedroom you might want to put a seat belt on when using the toilet as it appeared not to be bolted to floor very well ? and banged against the wall when sitting on it. The tub must have been a converted spa tub as it had jets on the bottom that were both filthy and very annoying to stand on . ( I fixed this problem by putting a couple of layers of towel on bottom of tub when showering) But you are not in the shower long any way as it is a marathon to get a shower in before the water turns ice cold, and if more than one person wants a shower good luck with, wait for a few hours to get some more hot water. Bed was very uncomfortable and the one sheet was thread bare and the bed spread was disgusting. Tv are old but watchable. Free passes to the state parks could be signed out in the morning which was nice. Breakfast buffet was okay for about $7.00 not big but was okay. Screen doors were ripped and very dirty lots of dead bugs and beatles in the door trough. carpets were very dirty and actually found broken glass on living room carpet. dirt was built up along baseboards which is very disgusting. Dust bunnies in top of fridge in plain sight poor cleaning staff I would say.
Met an actual owner of one of the units and they said the older units and not vey nice and the nicer ones were the Presidential ones all part of the same resort, they said the older units were pretty run down when they changed over years ago.
I dont know why the walls have to be so thin that you hear the neighbours taking showers and actually hear then talking in the next rooms. Not really the privacy I hope for in a getaway....

I guess what I expect coming to these places is the feeling of not having to wipe and clean and check for bugs before can relax, at least be as nice as what we left at home or nicer.

Thanks But NO THANKS TO THE PLANTATION OF MYRTLE BEACH (SURFSIDE ACTUALLY)

And be prepared for dial up speed withe the internet there also, it is in a word BRUTAL

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    50
    36
    21
    29
See reviews for
97
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gaston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

our room wreaked of smoke, we told them they sprayed. well that did about 3 minutes good. they gave us a room air purifyer you plug in ,no help. kept door open until bedtime. no help. unless your a heavy smoker your not going to like the delux hotel units anyway. we left early. they said sorry come agian.

Room Tip: dont trust non smoking there all suppose to be that
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I wanted to go somewhere new, a place we had not been, and a place where there were no friends or relatives. From the time we arrived until we left, we were well taken care of. The 2 bedroom resort was perfect. Less than a mile from the beach and centrally located near many great resturants. The villa was clean, big, and had a great deck to just sit and read. The resort staff was great at making recomendations, on food and entertainment. It turned out to be bike week which made it even better. We wish we would have brought our bike. We are already working on next years trip same time.

Room Tip: If you go the first weekend in October and you ride make sure you take your Harley/ or what ever you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Spent a week here with a friend who owns a RCI timeshare. It was very nice, everything you needed was there in your room. The outdoor pool was great. It is a little bit of a drive from the beach, but, the shuttle is very reliable. Parking at the beach yourself can be expensive. If you go, make sure to check out the Mother Earth Spa. They do great massages and foot reflexology treatments, and the prices can not be beat. $175.00 for a one hour Spa Reflexology Foot treatment and massage, a one hour full body massage and a facial. Can not get that for this price where I live. The folks there were very friendly and very knowledgable. You do not have to be staying at the Plantation to utilize their services. Check them out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This place was not as it appeared. When we booked we were told it was across the street from the beach not 2 miles down the road. The room looked like a small motel room and was very dirty. Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Went the second week of Sept..The resort itself was good..The grounds were maintained really nice.. The rooms were ok but felt we were in a motel room....The tub was a hot tub and it is was hard to get in and out. We asked for a handicapped room too, but we dealt with it. Room had a vcr in it..Not sure who uses them anymore...resort was close to beach but we did not use the shuttle to get to the beach as it was not to far..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We came as a timeshare trade with family members who own a time share. Right off the bat, the room was not what we expected, but was likely an issue with the timeshare agency (REI) and not the hotel. It was described as sleeps 4, 2 private, so we thought that there would be a separate bedroom and a foldout couch. Not so. The fold out couch was right next to the King sized bed. AWKWARD. Anyway, we made do. The room was clean, the kitchen serviceable. A nice touch is that there is a washer and dryer in the room so you can keep up with laundry and not take home a bunch, or dry towels. You are given 4 towels for the beach and 4 for showering per room and they cannot exchange them or get additional ones without a fee, so the washer/dryer is a must. If you are coming by car, bring your own beach towels as the provided beach towels are small. Besides the room configuration, our biggest problem was that the key cards kept not working. They warned us to keep them away from cell phones and credit cards, but I guess we didn't do a very good job.

Both the indoor and outdoor pools were nice. We participated in a couple activities (water aerobics and yoga) and enjoyed them both. The staff upon check in was very helpful to the guys about where to golf. We did not check out the lazy river since we didn't have any kids with us.

Getting to the beach was a quick drive and the beach was well kept and had a lifeguard. There is a shuttle provided by the resort, but we found the times inconvenient and then worried what would happen if it rained, or we missed the last bus.

Overall, this was a nice place to stay that met our needs. The cleanliness cannot be beat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Resort

Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel
Plantation Hotel Surfside Beach
Plantation Surfside Beach
Address: 1250 Highway 17 North, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.