We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay but not to eat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1601 N Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
McLoud, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great place to stay but not to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

this is our second stay at this location. we love the location of the hotel and the rooms are nice. the hotel staff especially phillip and mike were very helpful and made our stay enjoyable. my only complaint is the food and service in the resturant. the wait staff for the most part seem to act as if they dont want you there and it is a burden to serve you and the food is mediocre at best. we like the location so much that we will stay here again but I will leave the hotel for every meal.

Room Tip: the ocean front rooms are a little more expensive but worth the money to be able to sit on your balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Mike E,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel, we look forward to sharing your comments with Phillip and Mike. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced with our Restaurant during your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    73
    48
    21
    25
See reviews for
80
80
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Surfside for a friend's wedding and it was very convenient for all of those related events. Additionally, this was probably the best hotel we've ever stayed at on the oceanfront for cleanliness. The cleaning staff was very friendly and accommodating and we saw mantenance employees everyday touching up paint here and there or doing other small repairs.

The pool was nice with plenty of seating. The outdoor tiki bar was convenient and we heard good things about the indoor bar as well. We ate breakfast two mornings at the on-site restaurant. Food was very good, service was friendly and quick, and the prices were very reasonable (3 of us ate for about $20).

The only reason I did not give 5 stars was because of the balcony. There was plenty of room and offered an awesome view of the ocean. However, there were no walls between balconies; only a railing actually separated them which offered no privacy at all. We normally enjoy having a drink or two on the balcony at night, and we would not have been comfortable doing this on these balconies.

Overall a very good place to stay and we would consider staying again, even without a wedding!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Sc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Check-in quick and smooth. The room was excellent with a view of the beach. The restaurant breakfast had great choices (the cinnamon french toast was excellent). Location near Myrtle Beach was great! Staff was courteous at all times, especially the maids who kept the room neat.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at The Holiday Inn Surfside Beach.We loved being able to open the sliders to see the ocean and hear the surf. Having a fridge in the room was very convenient. The management and staff were so welcoming,friendly and attentive. Each and every staff member we encountered, from management, to the front desk, the restaurant, housekeeping, pool, grounds services,the bar all worked to insure that our needs were taken care of. We so appreciated the hospitality, and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ocean view any floor is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear BSRoth,
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very glad our hotel, staff and location fit the needs of your family. The description you provided is the "stay experience" we want all guests to receive. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rain2424
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Location is great, have stayed at this hotel several times. Staff is friendly. We booked 2 rooms several months ago. When I requested rooms, I requested that they be next to each other. Last month when I stayed here I double checked reservation to see if it was noted that rooms be together. I was told that it was noted but they did not have 2 king ocean front rooms next to each other. I was told that we could have a double queen and a king...I told the desk clerk that would not be a problem and she assured me this was noted and would not be a problem. The week of our arrival I called hotel again to double check and was told it was noted. Upon our arrival on May 16, this was not the case. Our friends who had flown down from ny were on 6th floor and we were on 5 th. This was very frustrating as we had planned to be able to hang out on balcony next to each other. Frontesk clerk was very unapologetic..manager on duty was apologetic but was unable to fix situation. Doubt we will stay here again. Room was dusty and damp smelling, people in room next to us were smoking pot...know the smell. Bathroom is in serious need of upgrade. Very upset on how reservation was handled!!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear rain2424,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. We would like to express our sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience this has invariably caused you.

Unfortunately, there are times when we are unable to honor a guests requests due to unexpected stayovers or other situations which may arise. Our staff make every effort to try and honor guests requests, but sometimes it just isn't possible.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here for the 2014 Bike Week Rally. Hotel was clean & staff was very friendly. Good place to stay if you want a little silence from the bikes since it's back off the main drag. Good location close to all the biker activities & events. Restaurant & Tiki Bar were adequate for when we wanted to get a quick drink or breakfast. Pool & hot tub well maintained. Great beach.Our only complaint (my wife) are the pillows are TOO DAMN BIG. How about a choice of smaller pillows please? Didn't sleep well because of these ridiculous size pillows. There were six of us and all mentioned the pillows.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have been staying at this property for a while now after we discovered it while looking for a new place to stay. It is in a great secluded feeling location, right on the beach and has great amenities. We had stayed there last fall, and to be honest, had a couple of issues that hampered our stay enough to mention on a follow up survey. Cody called me personally to address my concerns and offered to help in any way in order to retain our business. I told him then that it was not neccesary to make it up to us, but it was important that they at least address the problems within the staff to improve things, and his sincere phone call made a big impression. Cody had addressed an issue at check-in and left a great impression on us. We just completed our most recent visit, and had a great time, with no problems or issues at all. The lady that checked us in (Tara I believe) was very efficient and welcoming, mentioned that it was noted we had some issues last time and if anything needed attention to let her know. I spoke with Cody before we left and thanked him again for all of the great service, this guy is a very valuable assset to this property. As to some of the issues others have, This is an older building on a heavily used property, and there arent many places on the Grand Strand that can keep all the spit and polish of a shiny new 5 star establishment. I strongly dislike the pets on the property, which detracts from my cleanliness score, but many Holiday Inns are doing this now so we deal with it as best we can. I expect a clean comfortable and maintained hotel, and I think this one is doing as well as anyone to stay current and in good repair. The best thing they have going right now is they listen to their customers and they respond to issues and correct them when brought to their attention. We will definitely keep coming back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach

Address: 1601 N Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach is located just minutes south of Myrtle Beach, SC and minutes from the many Myrtle Beach attractions, including Myrtle Beach Boardwalk, Broadway at the Beach, Family Kingdom Amusement Park, and much more. Situated on Surfside Beach, walk out the door of our hotel to the beautiful beaches of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Surfside Beach hotel offers the comforts of home including spacious guestrooms, complimentary wireless internet access, on-site fitness center, business center, and outdoor pool and whirlpool overlooking the ocean. For your dining pleasure, our Shoreline Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Tiki Hut (seasonal) and Scoops Ice Cream Parlor (seasonal) offer a variety of food and beverage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront At Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Holiday Inn Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.