We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just ok...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1601 N Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“It was just ok...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Our trip to Myrtle might have been clouded by the weather - cold and rainy - but here are some thoughts all the same. Check-in with The legendary CODY was fantastic - realizing that we didn't have an ocean view (due to being booked in by Holiday Inn Club Vacations for a timeshare presentation) I simply asked to be moved - he was quick to accommodate us and ensure that our Priority Member status would help to offset the cost of the move. Cody also offered some suggestions regarding restaurants and general information to orient us to Myrtle - great staff member (best of all the front desk folks we encountered). The breakfast staff at the restaurant are also worth a mention - great personalities and very good service every morning.
Now the hotel itself - it is a bit dated. Cramped quarters - only because we are beginning to be spoiled by the Holiday Inn brand - our hotel room in Salem, Virginia was awesome in comparison to this one. This pool and hot tub were being renovated so that was a disappointment but understandable because we were travelling in the off-season. The beach front was awesome... But cold. What can you do - it was March after all. One of our concerns was the balcony doors - they had a security bar on it that wouldn't stay up - we were locked out on the balcony a couple of times and wondered if we were like the young single lady next door taking pictures of the sunrise in her nighty in the early morning how would we get back in... Luckily our kids came to our rescue. :)
If it wasn't for the fact that the timeshare folks were paying for our room I would have been a little disappointed. Since the timeshare folks were able to convince us to buy - we won't need to worry about this location as an option in the future as we will be staying at the Holiday Inn South Beach Resort next time we are in Myrtle.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Group Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear FriarJohn,
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. I want to express my apologies for any inconvenience you may have had. I am happy to hear that your experience at checkin was good and you enjoyed our Restaurant. I look forward to passing on your feedback to Cody and our Restaurant Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    64
    40
    16
    21
See reviews for
74
64
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I initially was not going to choose this hotel due my husband getting the phone slammed in his ear when trying to inquire about rates by a staff person. He did a complaint and the manager immediately apologize for the behavior and gave us a great discount. We arrived around the Dec 30, 2012...The room was very small for a double and had a smaller patio view that what I perceived from the pic on the website. The price of the food was high, although this is off season at a beach, a snicker bar and bottle of waters should not total $7. The room service was great as well as the food. Everything seemed okay until check out..Jan 1, 2013. We got a last minute notice we owed $20 more dollars due to the person checking us in with an error. The manager was not available and we needed to get back home. MY husband had to contact manager again and he gave a $10 refund. With the exception of the manager, I will not be visiting this hotel again due unfriendly and inaccurate staffing. Now that I think about it, with all the hassle and cost of food we were better off renting a luxury condo..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear l j,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinions. I am truly sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. I do remember speaking with you in January as well as giving you the refund that you mentioned. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Room Service. I also wanted to let you know we took the comments that you made seriously. The Holiday Inn Surfside is now ranked in the top 175 properties for all Holiday Inns for Customer Service and Satisfaction.
I want to again thank you for your feedback. It has helped us improve our property and the guest experience.
Best Regards,
Dennis Law
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was a really great hotel for our recent family vacation! We arrived late in the day after a long drive and check in was fast and easy. The staff was really nice and accommodating the entire time we were there. It happened to be raining during our vacation, so we asked the staff at the hotel's front desk for ideas on activities. The folks at the front desk took a look at the kids, considered what we might like, and offered some genuine suggestions after thinking things through - not just going with the first thing that came to mind. This made the rainiest day of our vacation the BEST day! We all enjoyed the room and the ability to relax out front of the property on the lounge chairs at the end of the day. We had two adjoining rooms and the housekeeping staff actually came to the room after the first day of service and delivered extra towels and supplies so we would be comfortable -- without us even asking. This hotel really offered a spectacular level of service. Overall, It was a great experience and when I come back to Myrtle Beach I will be staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear JK_allentown,
Thank you for your great review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, even when the weather did not cooperate. We strive to provide Excellent Customer Service and we are very happy to hear we were able to do that. We hope to see you guys again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord,nc
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Nice rooms with visit over the weekend. I know some construction goes on during the weekdays, but missed that. The bathrooms are old and outdated, but the oceanfront location and balcony overlooking the beach more than outweighed the bathroom. The air conditioner was a bit noisy and hopefully the updating will take care of that problem. This location had both a bar and a restaurant, but didn't have a chance in trying either.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear traveler28027,
Thank you for your recent review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! As you mentioned we are in the process of renovating, during this time the bathrooms have been refreshed with new paint and knockdown finish, we have also put in new mirrors and lighting.
We are sorry to hear about the A/C. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I am a Priority member and usually am more than satisfied with the Holiday Inn. However, Don' t believe the star ratings. I did. I thought it was going to be nice...The paint was peeling in our room and it smelled like stale cigarettes. Despite the $250smoking fine, our neighbor continuously smoked on the balcony,which ruined our ocean view experience. The bathroom sink was too small while trying to get ready, the towel bar was broken and the tub drain was blocked. These issues were too numerous to complain about.
I was aware of the renovations under way and thought the room would be nicer after the renovations... Upon leaving, I learned our room was already done! I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear shihtzunh,
We are truly sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We are a non-smoking property and do everything possible to enforce this rule. The Management Team did address the guest that you mentioned in this review. The hotel also made adjustment to compensate for your stay being impacted. The renovation process is always ongoing at most properties. We have finished a complete balcony renovation that included concrete replacement as well as paint. The bathrooms have been refreshed with new paint and knockdown finish. I am also sorry that you had problems with your drain and towel bar. The Management Team takes Customer Service very seriously and corrects all issues that were reported.
Best Regards,
Dennis Law
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We've been staying in Surfside for over 20 years at a nearby hotel. Decided to give this one a try. Booked in July 2012 for a two night stay, oceanfront room - just before Thanksgiving - looking for a quiet, peaceful break from London to visit famiiy. However found very heavy construction was underway from early morning to late afternoon - intense steam cleaning, sand blasting, painting, scaffolding all along the back of the property and the pool and jacuzzi unavailable. Accompanied with the loud, prime generator,building materials and busy port-o-potty just off our balcony. We could not use the balcony due to the dust and coming/goings of many workers. The fire alarm was triggered several times throughout the day. The outside appearance was one of a hotel which should be closed to paying customers. I understand renovations are important - however feel defrauded as we had no idea of the condition of the hotel until after we checked in. We did share our dissatisfactions with the front desk - and only received "I am sorry". The website did not indicate the work to be done and also invited us to "enjoy the new look and feel". Worst hotel experience ever and we are world travellers. Will definitely not back and truly feel we have been taken advantage of during our stay.

Room Tip: No recommendation possible - our experience was awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Beth02129,
We are truly sorry that your stay was impacted by our Hotel Renovations.
The projects were scheduled for earlier completion. Due to inclement weather, some from Hurricane Sandy the work has run over schedule. The construction has been listed on our Website since the beginning of October. We also made attempts to contact our incoming guests to avoid negatively impacting their stay.
The sand blasting and painting project will be completed by 11/30/12 at the latest.
Please contact the hotel at 843-238-5601 so that I may speak to you directly.
Best Regards,
Dennis Law
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We understand that all hotels need to renovate but would appreciated being advised. We booked an ocean front room to find that when we opened the balcony door we could not be heard over the sound of the compressor and sand blasting. The ocean view was spoilt by the view of a portable workers toilet in regular use. When we complained we were told it was on the web site, our email confirmation in July said "thank you for choosing holiday inn we can't wait for you to experience our new look and feel". We will upload a video of the sound, views and noise on you tube.

Room Tip: check to see if they are still sand blasting
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear David a,
We are truly sorry that your stay was impacted by our Hotel Renovations.
The projects were scheduled for earlier completion. Due to inclement weather, some from Hurricane Sandy the work has run over schedule. The construction has been listed on our Website since the beginning of October. We also made attempts to contact our incoming guests to avoid negatively impacting their stay.
The sand blasting and painting project will be completed by 11/30/12 at the latest.
Please contact the hotel at 843-238-5601 so that I may speak to you directly.
Best Regards,
Dennis Law
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach

Address: 1601 N Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach is located just minutes south of Myrtle Beach, SC and minutes from the many Myrtle Beach attractions, including Myrtle Beach Boardwalk, Broadway at the Beach, Family Kingdom Amusement Park, and much more. Situated on Surfside Beach, walk out the door of our hotel to the beautiful beaches of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Surfside Beach hotel offers the comforts of home including spacious guestrooms, complimentary wireless internet access, on-site fitness center, business center, and outdoor pool and whirlpool overlooking the ocean. For your dining pleasure, our Shoreline Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Tiki Hut (seasonal) and Scoops Ice Cream Parlor (seasonal) offer a variety of food and beverage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront At Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Holiday Inn Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.