We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible and Hugely Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1601 N Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Horrible and Hugely Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We've been staying in Surfside for over 20 years at a nearby hotel. Decided to give this one a try. Booked in July 2012 for a two night stay, oceanfront room - just before Thanksgiving - looking for a quiet, peaceful break from London to visit famiiy. However found very heavy construction was underway from early morning to late afternoon - intense steam cleaning, sand blasting, painting, scaffolding all along the back of the property and the pool and jacuzzi unavailable. Accompanied with the loud, prime generator,building materials and busy port-o-potty just off our balcony. We could not use the balcony due to the dust and coming/goings of many workers. The fire alarm was triggered several times throughout the day. The outside appearance was one of a hotel which should be closed to paying customers. I understand renovations are important - however feel defrauded as we had no idea of the condition of the hotel until after we checked in. We did share our dissatisfactions with the front desk - and only received "I am sorry". The website did not indicate the work to be done and also invited us to "enjoy the new look and feel". Worst hotel experience ever and we are world travellers. Will definitely not back and truly feel we have been taken advantage of during our stay.

Room Tip: No recommendation possible - our experience was awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Beth02129,
We are truly sorry that your stay was impacted by our Hotel Renovations.
The projects were scheduled for earlier completion. Due to inclement weather, some from Hurricane Sandy the work has run over schedule. The construction has been listed on our Website since the beginning of October. We also made attempts to contact our incoming guests to avoid negatively impacting their stay.
The sand blasting and painting project will be completed by 11/30/12 at the latest.
Please contact the hotel at 843-238-5601 so that I may speak to you directly.
Best Regards,
Dennis Law
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    66
    42
    19
    25
See reviews for
74
75
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We understand that all hotels need to renovate but would appreciated being advised. We booked an ocean front room to find that when we opened the balcony door we could not be heard over the sound of the compressor and sand blasting. The ocean view was spoilt by the view of a portable workers toilet in regular use. When we complained we were told it was on the web site, our email confirmation in July said "thank you for choosing holiday inn we can't wait for you to experience our new look and feel". We will upload a video of the sound, views and noise on you tube.

Room Tip: check to see if they are still sand blasting
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear David a,
We are truly sorry that your stay was impacted by our Hotel Renovations.
The projects were scheduled for earlier completion. Due to inclement weather, some from Hurricane Sandy the work has run over schedule. The construction has been listed on our Website since the beginning of October. We also made attempts to contact our incoming guests to avoid negatively impacting their stay.
The sand blasting and painting project will be completed by 11/30/12 at the latest.
Please contact the hotel at 843-238-5601 so that I may speak to you directly.
Best Regards,
Dennis Law
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern, Kentucky, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The staff went out of their way to address each and every concern during our weeks stay. Cody was very helpful in helping us get to adjoining rooms on the Ocean side. Rooms are small and the beds are only double-sized, not queen, so thinking that 4 adults can be comfortable for a weeks stay was a mistake, but Cody helped us get a second room. Very pet friendly, it was a pleasure to feel welcomed with our Min-Pin (I think she could get used to Hotel living!)

Room Tip: They have rooms on both sides of the hotel, the Even number rooms are Ocean side and the odd numbere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Ken H.
Thank you for great review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff did everything they could to make your stay great!
As you mentioned we do love pets and I am happy to hear your Min-Pin had a great time also. I look forward to sharing your comments with our staff, especially Cody.
We hope to see you guys and your Min-Pin again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

If luxury is what you seek, this may not be the right hotel for you. BUT, if you want a simple, comfortable, clean room right by a beautiful beach, this is a great hotel to stay at. We stayed here for 3 nights with some friends on a special deal that was being offered, and don't really have any complaints about our stay. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean (which to me is always a top priority), and the beach was wonderful, which is the main reason we drove to SC in the first place. I didn't quite understand why the Tiki Hut outside closed so early each evening... though we were happy with the cocktails served. The pool is nice, with oceanview, and the hot tub was wonderful, especially at dusk when the temperatures were getting cooler. Myrtle Beach is only a few miles away, but we really liked Surfside because it seemed to be less crowded. We did not have a oceanview room, but the back view is still quite nice--a lot of green and just a few houses. All-in-all, we were happy with our stay. The hotel gets 3 stars, but I gave it 4 for location and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Oceanview is nice... but the back view is fine too. So if you want to save some $$, you don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear ReiseLust_23,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We strive for perfection when it comes to cleanliness and I look forward to sharing your feedback with our team! I hope we have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The rooms were very clean but the bedspreads smelled like they could have been washed.
However, the the bathtub was stopped up and the safe didn't work. The tub was fixed right away, but the safe never did work. We had to lock our stuff in the trunk of the car each time we left the room. We did however get a great deal on the room, so this was a small price to pay. The pool area and closeness to the beach was good. If I had to choose one negative it would be that the room was very, very dark. The walls were painted dark and the lighting was terrible.

Room Tip: Ask what sort of view you will have from the room they give you. Do not accept a room by the restura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Annie432,
I am very sorry to hear that you had a couple of less than satisfactory experiences during your recent stay. We do appreciate your business and hope that you will consider us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

As a priority club member for many years, Holiday Inn has always been my number one choice in hotels that are reasonably priced and usually clean. I was very disappointed when booking with our points that the lobby smelled like vomit from the time we arrived. Also when using points I have always been given the utmost courtesy with respect to rooms. Not only was the value terrible but the hotel ranked on the lower end of most in the Myrtle Beach area. When informing Holiday Inn and the hotel of my displeasure we have never even received a response. Therefore, I call it a case of poor management. I would not reccomend staying at the Holiday Inn Surfside Beach, SC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear William D,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am very sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience during your recent stay. I have taken note of your comments. We will certainly look into these.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband & I booked a room at the Holiday Inn after an awful experience at another hotel a few miles away, I called Victoria at the Holiday Inn at 8:00 AM & asked if there were any rooms available immediately. She was so friendly & helpful & after I explained our situation she was able to get us a room right away. We checked in 9:00 AM, got settled in our beautiful, spotless room & were on the beach by 10:00 AM.
Can't say enough about the staff & the location was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear ps61nj,
I am sorry to hear about your bad experience at a different hotel, but I wanted to THANK YOU for giving us the opportunity to show you how great our hotel and staff is.
I look forward to sharing your comments with our staff, especially Victoria.
We hope to see you guys again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach

Address: 1601 N Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach is located just minutes south of Myrtle Beach, SC and minutes from the many Myrtle Beach attractions, including Myrtle Beach Boardwalk, Broadway at the Beach, Family Kingdom Amusement Park, and much more. Situated on Surfside Beach, walk out the door of our hotel to the beautiful beaches of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Surfside Beach hotel offers the comforts of home including spacious guestrooms, complimentary wireless internet access, on-site fitness center, business center, and outdoor pool and whirlpool overlooking the ocean. For your dining pleasure, our Shoreline Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Tiki Hut (seasonal) and Scoops Ice Cream Parlor (seasonal) offer a variety of food and beverage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront At Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Holiday Inn Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.