We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So SO” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1601 N Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“So SO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The rooms were very clean but the bedspreads smelled like they could have been washed.
However, the the bathtub was stopped up and the safe didn't work. The tub was fixed right away, but the safe never did work. We had to lock our stuff in the trunk of the car each time we left the room. We did however get a great deal on the room, so this was a small price to pay. The pool area and closeness to the beach was good. If I had to choose one negative it would be that the room was very, very dark. The walls were painted dark and the lighting was terrible.

Room Tip: Ask what sort of view you will have from the room they give you. Do not accept a room by the restura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Annie432,
I am very sorry to hear that you had a couple of less than satisfactory experiences during your recent stay. We do appreciate your business and hope that you will consider us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    67
    43
    19
    25
See reviews for
77
75
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gastonia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

As a priority club member for many years, Holiday Inn has always been my number one choice in hotels that are reasonably priced and usually clean. I was very disappointed when booking with our points that the lobby smelled like vomit from the time we arrived. Also when using points I have always been given the utmost courtesy with respect to rooms. Not only was the value terrible but the hotel ranked on the lower end of most in the Myrtle Beach area. When informing Holiday Inn and the hotel of my displeasure we have never even received a response. Therefore, I call it a case of poor management. I would not reccomend staying at the Holiday Inn Surfside Beach, SC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear William D,

Thank you for being a Priority Club Member and taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am very sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience during your recent stay. I have taken note of your comments. We will certainly look into these.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband & I booked a room at the Holiday Inn after an awful experience at another hotel a few miles away, I called Victoria at the Holiday Inn at 8:00 AM & asked if there were any rooms available immediately. She was so friendly & helpful & after I explained our situation she was able to get us a room right away. We checked in 9:00 AM, got settled in our beautiful, spotless room & were on the beach by 10:00 AM.
Can't say enough about the staff & the location was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear ps61nj,
I am sorry to hear about your bad experience at a different hotel, but I wanted to THANK YOU for giving us the opportunity to show you how great our hotel and staff is.
I look forward to sharing your comments with our staff, especially Victoria.
We hope to see you guys again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our family stayed here on a recent trip to Myrtle/Surfside beach. We booked our first six nights at another hotel and were disappointed. It was old, dirty, not at all maintained, filled with smoke on the lobby from the bar and half the elevators were down. So for our last teo nights we wanted to stay somewhere else and booked at the Holiday Inn at Surfside which was about 4 miles down from where we stayed at Myrtle. The hotel may have a few years on it but has been very well maintained and they are in the process of renovating. Our room had very ice updated furniture. The beds were very comfortable; probably more so than my own. It was clean and the staff were all very friendly and accomodating. The bar has great watermellon margarites btw;)
There's also a very lovely sitting area in the front to lounge.
My only complaint about our stay here was not directly related to the hotel itself, was the biting flies. For some reason we were being swarmed with flies everytime we stepped outside of the hotel - even on the beach. I'm not sure if its the area itself of another patron mentioned something about the garbage cans on the beach which could have been attracting them but it was a great annoyance not to mention painful after about 20 bites from the guys. If the hotel itself could do something to reduce these flies like spraying or possibly getting rid of the trash cans all along the back of the hotel along the coast then we would be happy to stay here next again for our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Rachel O,
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay.
I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel and to hear you took advantage of our Tiki Bar. Sorry to hear about the biting flies, unfortunately the garbage cans on the beach belong to the City, we are not able to move them.
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This Holiday Inn location, like many others, is undergoing renovations, and the improvements so far are pretty great! The staff are terrifically pleasant (except for one night clerk, but who can blame her? nobody likes the graveyard shift!), and the location is far enough from the busier area of Myrtle Beach itself.
This hotel is in Surfside Beach, which is just a few miles south of the Myrtle Beach hub. That being said, you will find a less crowded beach and a neighborhood in the surround, not a bustling commercial center (like the other Holiday Inn near Broadway at the Beach).
Positives? nice location, great breakfast (you pay for it here, but the Omega diner up the block is great), decent rooms, instant beach access.
Negatives? the pool/jacuzzi area is small, (but the beach is right there!) the jacuzzi needs an update or a really deep cleaning, the lighting in the hallway is dim, but perhaps this will be renovated in the future (I hope so, with dim lighting, it gives the hotel an unnecessary 'seedy' feeling). Also, we stayed in the end of August, and as is typical with most oceanfront hotels, the dehumidifier is a must.

All being said, if you don't get a travel deal, it may not be worth the price to stay here. Myrtle Beach is a top tourist attraction, and if you didn't already know this, now you are warned. Most hotels in the area are going to be overpriced. This one is a great place to take a rest after spending busy days on the beach, and nights out on the town. Don't make it the resort at which you spend all your time.

Room Tip: Get an oceanview room. The other option is "city view" which really just overlooks the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear TGAC,
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel and we hope to see you again soon! As you mentioned we are renovating to make our property even better. Also starting next year all of our rooms are going to be nonsmoking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our stay was in September 2012. This is the ONLY Hotel that we would recommend to anyone traveling to Myrtle Beach. Surfside Beach is perfect if you are looking for a less crowded area. The staff at this hotel couldn't be more accomadating. We always receive Excellent service at this hotel.This is the second time we have stayed here and will definately stay again! Don't be discouraged by bad reviews, try to keep in mind that some people just cant be pleased, and some are just too picky. Both times we have stayed here we were very satisfied. We had a small problem while making reservation online, but just called Customer Care and they were more than happy to right the wrong. If you get there early, before check in, they will allow you to go ahead and check in and use the beach and everything in hotel until your room is ready. Plus they will call you on your cell as soon as room is ready. The locale of hotel is Awesome, easy access to beach. You walk out onto pool deck and then down the steps onto the beach, to me..... cant get much better than that. Room was immaculate, beds were comfortable, air conditioning worked fine, they even had a humidifier in the room. Its so nice to have a safe in the room so that you dont have to carry purse, wallet and other valuables down to beach. Housekeeping: Excellent! I cant think of one bad thing to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear frostyrwb,
Welcome back! Thank you for the great review! These are so important to us so that other potential guests can read what other people have to say and/or recommend. We are so glad that you had an enjoyable experience. I am happy to pass along your comments to the staff.
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand, IN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We booked a 4 night stay with this hotel because we had stayed here before and enjoyed our visit. As several other guest remarked everything here was broken and dirty. The dehumidifier, iron and ironing board were all broken in our room the entire time even after we reported the dehumidifier problem twice. The whirlpool was only in operation 2 days during our stay. If you don't like dogs or being kept awake all night listening to barking this is not the hotel for you there were almost as many dogs as people staying at this hotel. The room needed a good cleaning. The vents in the bathroom and on the dehumidifier as well as the hairdryer and under the bed were all very dirty. The walls around the tub had mold on them. We will find someplace else to stay on our next visit!

Room Tip: Find another hotel to stay at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHIOceanfront, Sales Administrator at Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear couplefromIN,
I am very sorry to hear that you had a less than satisfactory experience during your recent stay.
We apologize you were not able to use the Hot Tub for two days, it had a leak that needed to be fixed. I apologize that your stay was impacted by the pets of some of the other guests.
We would love the opportunity speak with you directly if you wish, please contact Dennis Law (General Manager) at 843.238.5601.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach

Address: 1601 N Ocean Blvd, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach is located just minutes south of Myrtle Beach, SC and minutes from the many Myrtle Beach attractions, including Myrtle Beach Boardwalk, Broadway at the Beach, Family Kingdom Amusement Park, and much more. Situated on Surfside Beach, walk out the door of our hotel to the beautiful beaches of the Atlantic Ocean. Our Surfside Beach hotel offers the comforts of home including spacious guestrooms, complimentary wireless internet access, on-site fitness center, business center, and outdoor pool and whirlpool overlooking the ocean. For your dining pleasure, our Shoreline Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Tiki Hut (seasonal) and Scoops Ice Cream Parlor (seasonal) offer a variety of food and beverage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanfront At Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Holiday Inn Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.