We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We had a very good time at Surfside Beach resort. They have renovated much of it, some work still in progress( did one of two elevators, doing the pool next year, etc.) but everything was great. We are right on the beach and they have discounts for beach umbrellas and nearby restaurants that are a plus. People were very helpful and friendly. Only issue was the air conditioner in the room did not do a great job, dehumidifying, which granted, is a challenge at the beach. Not clear if those have been replace yet as part of the renovation yet. All in all, a great place to stay for the money.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Danducker,
We appreciate your staying with us and enjoying the renovations we started this year. We will be continuing to improve the hotel including the pool deck expansion and elevator upgrades. We are glad you were able to take advatage of the discounts we are able to offer at area attractions and restaurants to add to the value you received. Most importantly, we're happy our staff was both friendly and helpful.
Thanks again,
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    140
    50
    28
    13
See reviews for
177
146
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Two day getaway for my 8 year-old before school started. Great price, amazing location and a cool town. We will definitely be back! If you want to park your car and not move it again until you leave, you totally can. Great restaurants, ice cream stores, etc. are RIGHT there. We walked down Surfside Drive (perpendicular across the street from the hotel) one night to get away from the more crowded restaurants and found the best Italian place about a mile down. Best spaghetti ever.

Room Tip: We were in room 427 which was furthest away from beach. But we still had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear SO Tss,
Thanks for staying with us while you were visiting our "cool" town of Surfside Beach. Not only are they 4 restaurants, 2 ice cream shops, 2 gift shops, Scotty's Beach Bar for entertainment, the pier and the ocean just steps form our front door, as you found, there are 4 more restauants a short walk ( 1/4 mile ) up Surfside Drive, not to mention the tennis courts, childrens park and public library which are on the way. We're glad you were able to park your car and relax and not get in the traffic while you were with us. Hurry back, we look forward to your next visit.
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawndale, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We really enjoyed Surfside B R. Rooms were clean and staff (Sharon) was fantastic! Loved the pier right outside and the fun times across the street. This is a great family atmosphere. Safe place great for children. The pool area is small but we stayed on the beach so this was not and issue for our family.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter and you have a view of the ocean and Surfside pier. The front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Cindy535,
We appreciate your taking the time to review the hotel as well as staying with us. While we are very glad you found your room clean and well maintained, we are even happier that Sharon and the staff provided your family such "Fantastic" service. Surfside Beach, the "Family Beach" offers visitors a safe, quiet, uncrowded haven in the often busier Grand Strand. We look forward to hosting your next Surfside visit.
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

No way to buy essentials or even do laundry onsite. Rooms on 4th floor are dated. Pool is nice but small as with about 15 people in there it is crowded. Elevators are a comical experience for guests as on each ride we WAITED for the people would joke about the lengthy wait. Missed opportunity here for the hotel to place advertisements in the stairwells. Asked if our room was supposed to have a balcony and guy at evening desk said "no" abruptly and didn't let me finish asking. He never looked in my direction.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Bill H,
Thank you for both staying with us and reviewing the hotel. It is the comments of valued guests like you that allow is to continue to improve the hotel and our service. We're glad you enjoyed our location in the family friendly resort town of Surfside Beach.
Thanks again,
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was the first stop on a 2 week vacation. We found SBR to be clean. The room was VERY small for a family of 5. The housekeeping staff was friendly and always generous with towels. There is a nice pool area. The band that was playing in the bar area was awful on Sunday afternoon/evening. They were really loud too. It made it difficult to sit at the pool. Great location and free use of the peir!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for both staying with us and reviewing the hotel. Your valued comments help us to continue to improve our product and services. We're glad your room was clean and well maintained, but, more importantly, that staff was friendly and effecient.
Thanks again,
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great place to stay. A few things not here but a quick trip to dollar general fixed those. (Measuring cups and wash clothes) Very clean and comfortable. Close to ocean and attractions. Will consider staying here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Jodie A,
We're glad you found the hotel a great place to stay and that your room was clean and comfortable. Centrally located in the family friendly resort town of Surfside Beach, we're close to most everything our guests need including the beach, pier, restuarants, entertainment and attractions. We look forward to your next visit.
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia s.c.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Great Hotel with more than the price.Brandon and Sharon went above and beyond when decide to stay one more night to accommodate my family and my sister in law,great customer service. Will like to have people like them working for me. To all staff Great Job. I'll be back soon

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Almiranda,
We appreciate you staying with us and reviewing the hotel. It's so gatifying to hear that staff goes above and beyond in exceeding our guest's expectations. We look forward to returning soon.
Again, Thanks,
Phil Vassar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.