We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean front hotel with pool and hot tub.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off!!!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Anderson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Ocean front hotel with pool and hot tub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Surfside Beach Resort. Making reservations was quite easy. Ruby greeted us when we checked in and made recommendations for places to eat. There are three places to eat within 100 yards of the resort.

We stayed in room 605 and we had a great view of the ocean and pier from our balcony. Our room had two queen-sized beds, a refrigerator, and a microwave. The maid service was great. There was a drink machine and ice machine just around the corner from our room.

October is a great month to stay at the resort. Prices are down from the summer season and it is not as crowded. Our cost, including taxes, for three nights was about $240. Vouchers are provided free of charge for access to the fishing pier which is next to the hotel. We will be returning to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers have a view of the pier - at least that is true for the sixth floor. The hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, Front Office Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for both staying with us and for the review of the hotel. They say location, location, location and that is what you found we provide. Surfside Beach visitors find us in the center of the resort town, oceanfront, beside the pier. As you said, there are 3 restaurants just steps away along with ice cream shops, gift shops and our own oceanfront beach bar. We look forward to hosting your next Surfside visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    114
    48
    26
    12
See reviews for
148
103
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We where traveling south and decided to stop for the nigth, and found this place to stay just by accident; what a nice surprise. Great location, friendly people, amazing food. WE HAD GOOD TIME HERE!!!

Room Tip: Sea side rooms have a breathtaking view, specially at sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We really appreciate both your staying with us and your comments. Our location does offer a great view of the beach and ocean as well as some great places to eat just steps away. Most of all we happy that you found us to be friendly and accommodating. Hope to see you the next time you're traveling south.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Surfside Beach Resort. The staff is great. The rooms are clean & very nice with great views of the ocean. There is a great bar next door (Scottys) & 2 great restaurants (River City Cafe & Bubbas) within walking distance. We rode our motorcyles down for the Fall Bike Rally & they provided covered parking for our bikes. We highly recommend this place & we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel and appreciate your review. Our staff prides themselves in providing a friendly atmosphere and clean comfortable rooms. Our location in the center of Surfside Beach offers guests numerous restaurants and bars as well as the pier and beach. We look forward to hosting your next Surfside visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My best friend and I take an annual Girls Weekend Get-Away and last year we accidentally stumbled across this hotel (plus is it was Fall Bike Week and we didn't know). We had so much fun last year, we couldn't wait to go back this year. The hotel is on the beach and everything we needed was within walking distance. The staff is like "family." We could not wait to return to see Ruby, aka Ruby Red and Bill aka Dollar Bill. It was like a family reunion! They go above and beyond to make our stay rememberable! We want to thank Clay, Security Bill, Little Red, Delta Dawn and Ashley (who made us a fresh pot of coffee late Sunday night). Also Karen is a great housekeeper. Of course the entire housekeeping staff is very friendly! The only "bad" thing I can say is that we have to wait another 365 days before we can do it again! Thanks guys for being such a great staff and for all the recommendations and directions! You guys "rock"!

See you next year - Annette & Belinda; aka The Nurse and The Lawyer

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Wow, you're right, the only bad thing is that we have to wait 365 days for you to come back for another "girls weekend" reunion. We really appreciate both your recent visit to and review of the hotel. Thank you so much for the glowing comments about the "friendiest staff around". Oh, by the way, your don't have to wait 365, we've got a room ready for you anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstock, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I found this place about a year ago and fell in love with it. We usually take about five or six trips to the coast a year and have found Surfside Beach Resort and the surrounding area has about all that we're looking for, Clean rooms, friendly staff and the beach and great restaurants within walking distance.Neil and Pam's, the bar and grill across the street is great also. Bill Miller is our go to guy at the resort when we need a room for a few nights or a week or two, and he hasn't let us down yet, Ask for him when making reservations. Try this place, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us again and for your kind comments. Our staff takes pride in providing friendly, professional service and clean, comfortable rooms. With four restaurants, Scotty's Beach Bar, the pier, two gift shops, scooter and golf cart rental and an ice cream shop in walking distance, the hotel really is in the center of the resort and its activities. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place was "ok" not bad nor excellent. Just average. Glad I listened to others on here, by getting the highest floor possible to avoid hearing parking lot noise. ( by being close to the ground, say 1st 2nd floor you hear more parking lot noise, people coming & going, voices, car doors closing, people checking in late at night etc) Also facing the pier was a good choice because there is a restaurant across the parking lot on the other side. You hear people laughing loud, partying having a good time, music playing; glad I didn't have to listen to that. :) I told them at the time of calling for reservation what I was looking for & they accommodated. A/C seemed to struggle a bit towards early morning, maybe because it had been running all night? But it was decently clean. Small room, just Husband & myself, we had to stop SEVERAL times in the room and let the other pass by, tight fit once you get your luggage laid out etc. Bed was comfy & clean. No fitness room. Or breakfast, but the restaurant next to the pier was GREAT for breakfast. And the River City Grill was equally good next door, for lunch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent visit at the hotel, they help us continue to improve. We are so glad our associates met your requests for a higher floor, pier side room, and that it was clean with a comfy bed. Our central locations has restaurants, the pier, shops, beach bar, and more all just steps away from your room. We look forward to hosting your next Surfside visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We came down for the Fall Bike Rally 2013 and stayed at Surfside Beach Resort....it was AMAZING! The location was wonderful and the staff were very friendly. We were new to SBR, but will be making it our vacation choice for times to come.

Kyle and Faye

Room Tip: 8th floor overlooking the Beach Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We really appreciate your recent visit to and review of the hotel. Our location in the middle of the resort town of Surfside Beach offers our guests all that the town and south end of the Grand Strand has. Our friendly staff of associates looks forward to hosting your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.