We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the worst experience in a hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off!!!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not the worst experience in a hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Room was nice size. Had as someone else said a really weird smell by the door. I would go back....staff was very nice.
The best part was all the bar/restaurants practically in the parking lot. The beds and pillows could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We appreciate your both staying with us and the review of the hotel. Our location does offer all the best that Surfside has and just steps away from your room. We hope you'll come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    114
    48
    26
    12
See reviews for
149
103
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It was a large room but it could have used a chair or couch in the room. The room had an odor and the carpet was filthy. Staff was friendly and helpful. It was a good location right on the beach but they don't fall into what I would consider a resort.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We want to thank you for your visit during the holiday weekend and for your comments, which help us to continue to improve our service and property. Sofas are planned to be put in those rooms this off season and carpet cleaning is being finished now. The hotel is located in the "resort" town of Surfside Beach. Positioned in the center of Surfside Beach, our guests have easy access to not only the hotel amenities but also to all that the resort destination town has to offer. The beach, pier, shops, restaurants, entertainment, special events and more, including Scotty's Beach Bar, are just steps away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great location. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room were average but very clean. Staff was very attentive to any issues we had. Elevators were a little slow. I thought the price for the room was fair.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind comments and recent visit with us. The hotel associates make it a point to be attentive, helpful and friendly while providing our guests with service needs. Boiling Springs is not that far, so hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Visited over the labor day weekend and really enjoyed the fact that the location was less crowded than Myrtle Beach but not being too far from it. The hotel sat right on the beach so beach access was awesome. The staff was really helpful and the hotel was clean. I could have used softer towels and wished that housekeeping game back by during our 2 night stay to clean our room after they barged in on us while we were still sleeping at 11 am. It was also a plus that surrounding restaurants offered a 10% discount if you show them the hotel key card. Overall I had the relaxing stay I was hoping for.

Room Tip: It's not necessary to pay the extra to get an ocean-view. Our room was on the side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Our staff and management appreciate your staying with us at Surfside Beach Resort Hotel. The town does provide a friendly, quiet, less crowded family atmosphere for our guests. As well, located in the center of town, our guests get walking access to nearly everything Surfside has to offer. We look forward to your returning for another relaxing visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A fantastic attitude. The rooms are very neat. "Cleaning service does its job above the average cleaning crews at hotels. Ask and you will receive. Check in/out is a breeze, beach is available from a deck over the dunes. A hotel on the beach where the ice machines and elevators work! Restaurant's, bar, shops all within a short walk, and I use a cane. All is as advertised plus a sincere welcoming attitude. Balcony's are small but I don't go to the beach to sit on a balcony. Then again it sure is nice to after a hard day at the beach. Surfside is the answer if you are not into the 'crowd at the beach' atmosphere. Our thanks to both management and staff at the surfside beach resort. GB and CW Virginia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We appreciate your comments about your visit to the hotel. We are also so happy that the staff shined with a "fantastic attitude" and provided for your wants and needs. Surfside Beach does offer the quiet, relaxing alternative to the hussle-bussle of Myrtle. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked by phone with a different travel site and when we checked in, we found that we were misled. This hotel does not have ocean front rooms, so if that is something you are looking for, this is not the place. Our room had a balcony, and we could look out over the pool to the beach, which wasn't bad. We had also booked a king size bed, but were given a room with two queens. This was not the hotel's fault, and they would have been willing to change our room, but they were booked.

The check in staff were great and helpful. The room was comfortable, but the floor was pretty dirty, as our feet turned black when we walked bare foot. The hotel is very close to restaurants and it was nice being right next to the pier.

Room Tip: Good place if you want to be on the beach, but not have oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We want to thank you for your recent stay and review of the hotel. It is comments of valued guests like you that help us continue to improve our service and product. The end of season carpet cleaning is being finished this week. In the future, book directly with us for the best rate and to assure you get the room you want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first visit to Surfside Beach Resort but, it won't be our last. W e have visited lots of hotels some good some bad. We have never written a review before because we have never enjoyed our stay, as much as we did this time. The good experince started from the moment we checked in. Bill and Kaysie were both super nice and very helpful. It only got better. Our room was very clean and even smelled clean, as did the whole place. Everything was spotless and Carolyn our housekeeper met our every need and did it with a wonderful attitude. One of our major concerns was the comfort of the bed and we soon found out that they were extremely comfortable. We enjoyed laying by the pool. It was there that we met the maintance man Clay. We had watched go about his duties.with a cheerful attitude and we enjoyed our conversation with him.There was alot to do within walking distance.We enjoyed our stay so much, we decided to stay an extra day. When we went to the front desk, once again Bill was able to help us .We would like to say WELL DONE to Surfside Beach Resort and their excellent staff. Robbie and Lynn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We really appreciate both your recent visit to and comments about the hotel. We are delighted that our staff in all departments met or exceeded your needs in a friendly and professional manner. Hurry back to see, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TravelClick, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.