We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet beach location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $49
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Great quiet beach location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Visited over the labor day weekend and really enjoyed the fact that the location was less crowded than Myrtle Beach but not being too far from it. The hotel sat right on the beach so beach access was awesome. The staff was really helpful and the hotel was clean. I could have used softer towels and wished that housekeeping game back by during our 2 night stay to clean our room after they barged in on us while we were still sleeping at 11 am. It was also a plus that surrounding restaurants offered a 10% discount if you show them the hotel key card. Overall I had the relaxing stay I was hoping for.

Room Tip: It's not necessary to pay the extra to get an ocean-view. Our room was on the side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Our staff and management appreciate your staying with us at Surfside Beach Resort Hotel. The town does provide a friendly, quiet, less crowded family atmosphere for our guests. As well, located in the center of town, our guests get walking access to nearly everything Surfside has to offer. We look forward to your returning for another relaxing visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    129
    50
    28
    12
See reviews for
167
129
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Daleville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

A fantastic attitude. The rooms are very neat. "Cleaning service does its job above the average cleaning crews at hotels. Ask and you will receive. Check in/out is a breeze, beach is available from a deck over the dunes. A hotel on the beach where the ice machines and elevators work! Restaurant's, bar, shops all within a short walk, and I use a cane. All is as advertised plus a sincere welcoming attitude. Balcony's are small but I don't go to the beach to sit on a balcony. Then again it sure is nice to after a hard day at the beach. Surfside is the answer if you are not into the 'crowd at the beach' atmosphere. Our thanks to both management and staff at the surfside beach resort. GB and CW Virginia

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We appreciate your comments about your visit to the hotel. We are also so happy that the staff shined with a "fantastic attitude" and provided for your wants and needs. Surfside Beach does offer the quiet, relaxing alternative to the hussle-bussle of Myrtle. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked by phone with a different travel site and when we checked in, we found that we were misled. This hotel does not have ocean front rooms, so if that is something you are looking for, this is not the place. Our room had a balcony, and we could look out over the pool to the beach, which wasn't bad. We had also booked a king size bed, but were given a room with two queens. This was not the hotel's fault, and they would have been willing to change our room, but they were booked.

The check in staff were great and helpful. The room was comfortable, but the floor was pretty dirty, as our feet turned black when we walked bare foot. The hotel is very close to restaurants and it was nice being right next to the pier.

Room Tip: Good place if you want to be on the beach, but not have oceanfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
We want to thank you for your recent stay and review of the hotel. It is comments of valued guests like you that help us continue to improve our service and product. The end of season carpet cleaning is being finished this week. In the future, book directly with us for the best rate and to assure you get the room you want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our first visit to Surfside Beach Resort but, it won't be our last. W e have visited lots of hotels some good some bad. We have never written a review before because we have never enjoyed our stay, as much as we did this time. The good experince started from the moment we checked in. Bill and Kaysie were both super nice and very helpful. It only got better. Our room was very clean and even smelled clean, as did the whole place. Everything was spotless and Carolyn our housekeeper met our every need and did it with a wonderful attitude. One of our major concerns was the comfort of the bed and we soon found out that they were extremely comfortable. We enjoyed laying by the pool. It was there that we met the maintance man Clay. We had watched go about his duties.with a cheerful attitude and we enjoyed our conversation with him.There was alot to do within walking distance.We enjoyed our stay so much, we decided to stay an extra day. When we went to the front desk, once again Bill was able to help us .We would like to say WELL DONE to Surfside Beach Resort and their excellent staff. Robbie and Lynn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
We really appreciate both your recent visit to and comments about the hotel. We are delighted that our staff in all departments met or exceeded your needs in a friendly and professional manner. Hurry back to see, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I normally don't write reviews. But after just leaving the Surfside Beach "Resort" and sitting in this traffic on my way home, what else do I have to do?

My fiance, some friends, and I are on our way home from about a week stay. We have been staying in Surfside on vacation for the last few years because it's right in the middle of Myrtle Beach and Murrells Inlet.

First of all, this really isn't a resort. It is a pretty nice hotel though. The front desk is very nice. Our room was clean, the bathroom was clean, there was a TV, a little fridge, nice working AC and comfy beds. It was nicer than your average Inn. Our room had an ocean view with a balcony which overlooked the pool and parking lot and we could see Scotty's Beach Bar across the street that is owned by the hotel. Scotty's Beach Bar is a great little bar and we made sure to make a visit there every day. I will get into that one later...

I'm disappointed with the pool. It's obvious that they need to get a bigger, better pool but it looks like they hotel chooses to ignore that. I understand that the beach is literally right there, but come on.. I enjoy a few hours by the pool. On the bright side, it was clean.

I don't own or manage a hotel. But I do own and manage my own bar where I am from. My friends and fiance and I take the time to visit Scotty's Beach Bar every time we are in town. It's a beautiful bar with an amazing view! An even better view than what you get in your hotel room. We found the bar staff to be friendly and hardworking. Jeff was there most of the time we visited. Jeff was very polite, friendly, attentive, professional and as a bar owner myself, it was obvious that he knew what he was doing. We also met Mike who was the bartender in the evenings. Mike was professional and attentive and kind. This bar is very lucky to have the both of them.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the beach. The hotel was nice enough to sleep in since that's really all we did in the hotel. We enjoyed Surfside Beach and Scotty's Beach Bar. I know that i'll recommend the "resort" due to it's location. But I can't say the same for the other people who were with me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel located in the "resort" town of Surfside Beach. Positioned in the center of Surfside Beach, our guests have easy access to not only the hotel amenities but also to all that the town has to offer. The beach, pier, shops, restaurants, entertainment, special events and more, including Scotty's Beach Bar, are just steps away. Our associates take pride in providing friendly, professional service and a clean, well maintained hotel and bar. We look forward to hosting your next Surfside Beach abd Scotty's visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed 4 days in this hotel, this is my opinion hopefully it will help you make a good choice and decide if you want to stay:
Pros:
1. Walk steps to the beach
2. Reasonable price
3. Side view of the beach
4. Access from the parking lot to the beach (just done finishing the construction and it is very convenient )
5. Shower by the access to the beach to clean the sand from your body once done swimming
6. Small pool for kids
7. Plenty of parking
8. Quite hotel during our stay
9. Across the street there are couple of restaurant and Eagle souvenir store.
10. Close and next to the Pier ( $1 admission fee and great walk at night, free for kids)
11. There are too side views from the rooms: A. One side has a Pier view and you can enjoy the sun raise, in my opinion it's a great choice. B. side view of the beach and overlooking the small pool and the Brach Bar where they have Karaoke at night, you will also benefit from a sunny balcony during the whole day if you want to have some tan however you will not be able to enjoy the sunrise from your room balcony.
12. They can check you in early if there is an available room, if not you will have access to the pool and get the parking pass, then they call you once your room is ready.
13. Computer with Internet connection and printer to print boarding passes.
14. Fresh Coffee in the lobby throughout the day and night.
15. You can ask housekeeping service for more towels and shampoo if needed not an issue.
16. Vending machines for soft drinks and there is an ice machine.

Cons:
1. Carpet was felty, need shampooing, be careful your feet may get dirty try to keep your slippers on.
2. Room was very small although I didn't mind it much.
3. No cafeteria
4. Small pool



Overall it was a great stay during 8/20-8/24, nice Beach not too crowded as Myrtle Beach, nice area around the hotel, no traffic, a lot of houses in the area which make it feel a family beach, I would recommend this hotel and the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We want to thank you for staying with us and for your review. It is the comments of valued guests like you that help us to continue to improve our product and service. You have certainly put out a good description of the hotel and location. Carpet is being cleaned as we speak, or write as the case may be, as it has slowed enough between the busy summer season and before our "Secret season" of late summer and fall. Thanks again and come see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeton, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went to Surfside Beach for a two week vacation. When we arrived at our condo, we found it flooded and not able to stay in it. At the front desk at the Surfside Beach Resort, we found Bill Miller to be as helpful & friendly as anyone you would want to help you out of a bad situation. I explained our situation and got a very clean room with a balcony for a great ocean view. Had to spend a lot of time with our condo management & insurance company, but enjoyed the time we had at the beach. Wanted to thank Bill, & the rest of the staff, for doing their best to give their visitors a great place to stay. I'd recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a nice place to stay in the Myrtle Beach area. Steve Napp

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are so glad we were able to help you and you family and be a part of making the your vacation more enjoyable. Our associates strive to meet the needs our guests needs in a friendly and helpful manner. Thanks for your comments and patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.