We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $49
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Ohio
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

As a large family who do vacations together we are nervous when picking out a house, area that will accommodate the needs of all. Five adults, 7 kids, 3yrs to 18, We couldn't have asked for a more suited house. We used Old Colony Realty, House was large, private pool, next to so many nice resturants and shops. We choose to rent a golf cart, was best thing we could do, with teenagers that get bored quickly we set up times for them all to take turns. There was enough shops for the kids, bars with patio setting for the adults, and a great porch for Grandma to just people watch. Neal and Pam's was the most friendly bunch of people, the food was great and the nightly entertainment was awesome. We will be back! And going up to Myrtle , Broadway on the Beach , putt putt was only minutes up the road. Fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your time in Surfside Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    129
    50
    28
    12
See reviews for
167
129
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wow, was worried when I found out that we were staying in Surfside Beach, but will be back. Very nice stay, the hotel was nice and the staff wonderful. Very clean, great view, staff was smiling and very helpful. Coming from a tourist town to visit another, sometimes you get nervous, but was truley enjoyable. Will be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We really appreciate your recent review of the hotel. We are so glad you have found out the secret of Surfside Beach, the quiet, uncrowded, family friendly alternative to the busier parts of our area. Located in the center of Surfside, we are close to all both here and in Myrtle Beach, just minutes away. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sc
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed recently at the Surfside Beach Resort after attempting to obtain reservations at hotels closer to Georgetown, SC during the weekend after the 4th of July. The area and beach are ideal for families, reunions, and couples for a few days vacation. There are plenty of local restaurants and t-shirt stores that are appealing to your curiosity. The beach and adjacent pier complete what a beachside resort should be. There is also plenty of parking and the front desk personnel were amiable and competent toward customer service.

The downside: small pool area; the rooms are average at best. The interior is dated and our room appeared dim, faded and small. The bathroom sink is actually outside the bathroom/shower area. The shelf above the bar to hang your clothes was dusty and obviously had not been wiped down for several days/weeks (?). The bed mattresses are fairly comfortable but if you are use to both high quality fiber and thread count sheets, you are out of luck here. It's just the basics.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. It is the comments of our valued gusts like you that help us to continue to improve our product and service. We will continue to review these with all of our departmental associates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Wasbooked at another hotel that I was very dissapiinted with. Called SSBR and they had a room available. This was our second time staying here. And it wont our last. The 2 employees I mainly dealt with was Ruby and Kacie. Both were very pleasant and freindly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We are so glad we were able to help save your beach visit. We are also proud of the 2 associates that were so helpful. Call us or check on line at our web site for your next visit for a great deal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steubenville, Ohio
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have been coming here for the past 5 years now and have always had great service and clean rooms! We will continue to visit! There were 4 of us in the room and had two double beds and a great balcony view of the pier and ocean!

Room Tip: Request and ocean view room with a balcony from a high floor for the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your survey responce. We are so glad our associates met you guest service and cleanliness needs. Hurry back, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My family of 5 stayed here the week before July 4, and had a great time (even with the rain)! The hotel has recently been renovated in lovely colors. We stayed in the extended room -- well worth the extra $20. We could have easily fit a double blow-up mattress there if we needed it. The space was great and gave us room to spread out. The folks working the desk were friendly and helpful, and got us a room right next to our friends. The best thing about this hotel by far is the LOCATION! You are literally steps from several great restaurants, surf shops, ice cream stores, and beach bars. Scotty's beach bar is a blast; live music and affordable cocktails. You can sit on the deck and watch your kids swim in the hotel pool. The pier is fun too and we had a great time fishing. If you are looking for an affordable place to stay that is clean, right on the beach, and walking distance to everything, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Go for the extended room -- it is very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We appreciate your comments about the hotel, because it is all about location. We are right on the beach within walking distance of nearly everything you could need, including the fishing pier. We look forward to hosting your next Surfside beach vaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went to this hotel based on the Tripadvisor comments we had read about with respect to hotels in the Myrtle Beach area. When we got there our room was ready, the booking in was easy and fast. When we went to the room it had two queens instead of a king, we went back down to the front desk and they were very friendly and helpful. Bill, the front desk manager, was incredible and got us our room in mere minutes. The whole attitude of the front desk staff was great.

Later in the day we found out that we were paying a lot more for the room than other people booking in (we heard their rate being quoted to them) and when we mentioned that, Bill looked after us and got us a refund again very helpful and kind. (We had booked from a so called discount site. Lesson learned here; find out the best on line price then call the hotel directly, they can match or beat the so called discount sites).

We travel a lot and many hotels boast of good customer service, this hotel delivers great customer service, it's not an accident, they work at it.

The owners of this hotel have done a great job hiring the right people and obviously encouraging a positive experiance for all.

Cheers, we will return one day and have already recommended it to our friends.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We appreciate your comments on the hotel. We are proud that our associates, especially Bill, responded to meet your needs and enhanced your positive experience at Surfside Beach Resort. We look forward to hosting your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.