We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off!!!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

First time to SC & I'm so glad I picked this hotel vs the ones on Myrtle Beach! Nicer location in my opinion! Friendly staff & very helpful!
Beds are comfortable! Fridge & coffee pot in room! Rooms are clean. Great location for families. Right on the beach. Several restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil V, Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments of the Surfside Beach Resort. The Town of Surfside Beach is called "the Family Beach" and the town lives up to its name. All the attractions and amenities of Myrtle Beach are within a 20 minute drive with out having to be in the crowds and hussle bussle. We look forward to hosting your family's next visit to the Grand Strand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    116
    48
    27
    12
See reviews for
154
108
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NC
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We spent a few off-season days at this resort. It was our first visit to Surfside Beach, though we'd been a number of times to nearby Myrtle Beach. This was a pleasant and low key alternative and we enjoyed both the town and the resort very much. Our accommodations were clean and cheerful; we had a 'sideways' ocean view that met our expectations, though we tend to prefer ocean front. The hotel has no on-premises restaurant but there was a delightful spot on the nearby fishing pier where we enjoyed breakfast each day and, on one occasion, lunch.
Easy drive to our favorite Murrell's Inlet for dinners; easy access to Myrtle Beach, should the mood strike which, in this instance, it did not.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We are pleased yet another satisfied guest has discovered the great little spot on the Grand Strand that is Surfside Beach. We are happy to be right in the middle of it all and we will continue to offer our guests the best service. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had excellent service at Surfside Beach Resort. My granddaughter came to surprise me and the staff was exceptionally nice to her until I arrived. The desk staff, at any hour I was in the lobby, were friendly and knowledgeable about the area. One staff member looked up where I could get an Italian Icy about 9 in the evening and called me back with information. There was always fresh coffee at all times even early morning and late evening. The room had queen beds and was clean and fit our needs. The housekeepers were friendly and accommodated us with whatever we asked. Having the pier, restaurants and fun shops so close was a plus. I will recommend the Surfside Beach Resort to family and friends. The price was much better than some of the nearby hotels.

Room Tip: We were on the eighth floor with balcony. The wind caused noise. View great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and allowing us to show you what southern hospitality is all about. We look forward to your next trip to Surfside Beach and we will show you more of the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Staying here during Spring break for one night meant we had to pay a ridiculously high price for the room.
The room itself was clean and the people at reception were friendly when we booked in.
The rooms are a little outdated in decor, but having a fridge and a microwave is a plus. The sink is on the outside of the bathroom in the room which is a little awkward also. The view from the room is beautiful.
Unfortunately when we woke up to take our showers we found there to be no hot water. After attempting to call down to the front desk 5 times we could not get through and had to go down the 7 stories to speak to them- there was a problem with the phones. When we told them we had no hot water they said the whole building did not have hot water and they could not tell us when it would be back on. Unfortunately by 10am we had to leave and the hot water was still not on. We were expecting to have some form of refund when we checked out- however we did not even get an apology!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the hot water. Our boilers are equipped with sensors that shut them down automatically when they detect a problem. This prevents the boilers from exploding and causing serious damage and possibly bodily harm. We were able to return them to service in a very short time considering it was a weekend but we realize you were inconvenienced because it happened early in the morning when so many people are taking showers. We are glad the sensors worked as they are designed however or we could have been dealing with a lot more than the lack of hot water. We did try to make it right with anyone that requested it but many people were out or did not say anything to us about the outage. If you would like a refund you may call the resort and ask to speak to a manager and we will be happy to assist you with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a special rate of $39.00 a night for staying here before. Arrived a day early (holiday) was told previously holiday rates did not apply. Was given that day for the same price. Not crowded at all. Like the location. Friendly staff through out the five day period. Found several places to go because the beach was windy and cold most days during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and come back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just got back from Surfside Beach Resort. Room was ideal for the view and what we needed it
for. Equipped with microwave and mini fridge. Smaller than some rooms but had a little balcony.
Front desk staff was great. Ruby was super even when there was a with a check in back up. Understand hotel was redone a few years ago. Great for a family getaway close to the beach.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view probably all rooms above 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Groupon has kept us hopping this spring and we appreciate your patronage. Watch for future specials as well. Several are in the works for the fall, winter and spring. Thanks for staying with us and we'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife & I decided to escape and head down to warmer climate for a week. Some friends had suggested Surfside as it is close to Myrtle Beach but less crowded & hectic. It has a beachfront with a beach that doesn’t get crowded.

I can’t attest to the crowded beach because it was unusually cold as well as windy. Nobody was on the beach except for fully clothed walkers and joggers. The rooms are small and outdated but because of the great location and view it was expected. The walls are very thin as you can hear everything in the adjacent rooms at night. I had to call downstairs at 11:30 one night because of some younger children banging doors and running in the hall. They said they would take care of it. I did hear them every night but they were done by a little after 11. I love kids but not when you want to get up early. The pool was closed but the sauna was working. It is in the parking lot which is a turn off. We didn’t use it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The elevators are slow and jerky and noisy. The balconies are very small but do offer a great view. They also charged us $6 resort fee each day. The price of the room was reasonable but the resort fee should have been waved if there at all. There really is nothing there resort like. There isn’t any mini bar in the rooms. No bar or restaurant in the resort. It has a small pool (that was o/o/s) and a sauna that most hotels have. Oh and they are located in a blacktop parking lot without any privacy.

Maybe it was the cold dreary weather that is clouding my judgment but it was just ok. Although the staff was friendly they never an apology for the late night episode. It's always nice to hear. That is why just an average for service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments about your recent stay. I have passed them on the the Front Office Manager for him to address with our staff. We always want to put our best foot forward and reviews like yours help us do just that. We hope you will come back to visit soon and that you will choose the Surfside Beach Resort for you accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.