We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel- good location - but no hot water!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $49
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average hotel- good location - but no hot water!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Staying here during Spring break for one night meant we had to pay a ridiculously high price for the room.
The room itself was clean and the people at reception were friendly when we booked in.
The rooms are a little outdated in decor, but having a fridge and a microwave is a plus. The sink is on the outside of the bathroom in the room which is a little awkward also. The view from the room is beautiful.
Unfortunately when we woke up to take our showers we found there to be no hot water. After attempting to call down to the front desk 5 times we could not get through and had to go down the 7 stories to speak to them- there was a problem with the phones. When we told them we had no hot water they said the whole building did not have hot water and they could not tell us when it would be back on. Unfortunately by 10am we had to leave and the hot water was still not on. We were expecting to have some form of refund when we checked out- however we did not even get an apology!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. We are sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with the hot water. Our boilers are equipped with sensors that shut them down automatically when they detect a problem. This prevents the boilers from exploding and causing serious damage and possibly bodily harm. We were able to return them to service in a very short time considering it was a weekend but we realize you were inconvenienced because it happened early in the morning when so many people are taking showers. We are glad the sensors worked as they are designed however or we could have been dealing with a lot more than the lack of hot water. We did try to make it right with anyone that requested it but many people were out or did not say anything to us about the outage. If you would like a refund you may call the resort and ask to speak to a manager and we will be happy to assist you with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    129
    50
    28
    12
See reviews for
167
129
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a special rate of $39.00 a night for staying here before. Arrived a day early (holiday) was told previously holiday rates did not apply. Was given that day for the same price. Not crowded at all. Like the location. Friendly staff through out the five day period. Found several places to go because the beach was windy and cold most days during our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and come back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just got back from Surfside Beach Resort. Room was ideal for the view and what we needed it
for. Equipped with microwave and mini fridge. Smaller than some rooms but had a little balcony.
Front desk staff was great. Ruby was super even when there was a with a check in back up. Understand hotel was redone a few years ago. Great for a family getaway close to the beach.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view probably all rooms above 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Groupon has kept us hopping this spring and we appreciate your patronage. Watch for future specials as well. Several are in the works for the fall, winter and spring. Thanks for staying with us and we'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife & I decided to escape and head down to warmer climate for a week. Some friends had suggested Surfside as it is close to Myrtle Beach but less crowded & hectic. It has a beachfront with a beach that doesn’t get crowded.

I can’t attest to the crowded beach because it was unusually cold as well as windy. Nobody was on the beach except for fully clothed walkers and joggers. The rooms are small and outdated but because of the great location and view it was expected. The walls are very thin as you can hear everything in the adjacent rooms at night. I had to call downstairs at 11:30 one night because of some younger children banging doors and running in the hall. They said they would take care of it. I did hear them every night but they were done by a little after 11. I love kids but not when you want to get up early. The pool was closed but the sauna was working. It is in the parking lot which is a turn off. We didn’t use it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The elevators are slow and jerky and noisy. The balconies are very small but do offer a great view. They also charged us $6 resort fee each day. The price of the room was reasonable but the resort fee should have been waved if there at all. There really is nothing there resort like. There isn’t any mini bar in the rooms. No bar or restaurant in the resort. It has a small pool (that was o/o/s) and a sauna that most hotels have. Oh and they are located in a blacktop parking lot without any privacy.

Maybe it was the cold dreary weather that is clouding my judgment but it was just ok. Although the staff was friendly they never an apology for the late night episode. It's always nice to hear. That is why just an average for service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments about your recent stay. I have passed them on the the Front Office Manager for him to address with our staff. We always want to put our best foot forward and reviews like yours help us do just that. We hope you will come back to visit soon and that you will choose the Surfside Beach Resort for you accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family spent a two days here over spring break. The hotel is slightly aged (especially noticeable by sinks, fixtures, etc.) but it's clean and the decor is reasonably updated. The rooms come with a balcony with a nice view of the ocean, though the balcony is extremely small. The biggest plus for this hotel is the amazing location. There are three immediate entrances from the hotel parking lot directly onto the beach, right next to the pier in Surfside Beach. I couldn't have asked for a better location. I got a great deal on the room (super deal on Groupon) but if I had had to pay the full $450 stated rate, I probably would've been disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms facing south face the beach bar next door which plays music until 1 AM, though with a fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calabash, nc
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a couple rooms booked for a family funeral. The staff at the Resort took care of everything .The rooms were great, they put us together , they always had a smile . Thank you all for everything you did for us.We look forward to coming back !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. It is always nice to hear that we have made another guest happy with their visit to the resort. While we are not the biggest on the beach we try to be the best at what we do every day. We look forward to having you back again when we will meet you with our big smiles and happy attitudes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

It's an 8 story hotel! I expected a small one story for the low price, but it is very nice! Great view right on the beach , can see for miles from our balcony. Fridge & microwave in room too. Great value!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
The Surfside Beach Resort is a great value in a wonderful location and surrounded by everything you need for a great weekend getaway or a week in the sun. Please come back again and we will continue to provide the best in customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.