We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel okay, location supreme” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off!!!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel okay, location supreme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family spent a two days here over spring break. The hotel is slightly aged (especially noticeable by sinks, fixtures, etc.) but it's clean and the decor is reasonably updated. The rooms come with a balcony with a nice view of the ocean, though the balcony is extremely small. The biggest plus for this hotel is the amazing location. There are three immediate entrances from the hotel parking lot directly onto the beach, right next to the pier in Surfside Beach. I couldn't have asked for a better location. I got a great deal on the room (super deal on Groupon) but if I had had to pay the full $450 stated rate, I probably would've been disappointed.

Room Tip: The rooms facing south face the beach bar next door which plays music until 1 AM, though with a fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    110
    46
    25
    12
See reviews for
140
100
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
calabash, nc
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a couple rooms booked for a family funeral. The staff at the Resort took care of everything .The rooms were great, they put us together , they always had a smile . Thank you all for everything you did for us.We look forward to coming back !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. It is always nice to hear that we have made another guest happy with their visit to the resort. While we are not the biggest on the beach we try to be the best at what we do every day. We look forward to having you back again when we will meet you with our big smiles and happy attitudes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

It's an 8 story hotel! I expected a small one story for the low price, but it is very nice! Great view right on the beach , can see for miles from our balcony. Fridge & microwave in room too. Great value!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
The Surfside Beach Resort is a great value in a wonderful location and surrounded by everything you need for a great weekend getaway or a week in the sun. Please come back again and we will continue to provide the best in customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Staff was about the Best I have ever had the pleasure to meet. The hotel was very well updated and the lobby was beautifully decorated. I have traveled 35 countries and your Desk Staff were the tops!

Room Tip: Stay on the Pier Side - The Restaurant on the Pier was wonderful - then Best Burger ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. We work hard to make our guests comfortable. Please share your experience with your friends and we'll see you on your next trip to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I went to the beach for an extended weekend getaway. We booked this hotel with one of the internet travel sites. We ended up going with this hotel, because in the description they called themselves a "resort", and for the price, it seemed like a great deal. After arriving, we were a little disappointed. It is a very, very average hotel. There are no amenities that you would expect with a "resort". The rooms are very small. For my husband and I, we had enough space, but I can't imagine more than 2 people comfortably staying in one of those rooms. Everything in the room, looked a little dingy such as the furniture and the tv. That could be because everything is a little dated. There are no snack machines, only drink machines, and breakfast is not offered, not even continental. I know there are restaurants within walking distance, sometimes its nice to have the option, not to leave the hotel.

There are some good things about the hotel, the location is wonderful. You can step right out onto the beach. The staff was friendly, we changed rooms once, with no problem. The hot tub does work wonderfully, however it is right next to the parking lot, where everyone can stare at you, which takes away from the relaxation factor. Other "resorts" offer hot tubs indoors. The bed was comfortable to sleep in, but the a/c-heating unit in our room was so loud, we didn't run it, and we could still hear neighboring units through the night.

Another thing, it rained the last day we were there, the day we were leaving, and the parking lot does not drain water! Our shoes were submersed in water, just walking to our car, where the water just sits on top of the pavement, there is no draining. Our tires were in water up to the bottom of the wheels.

Overall, our stay was okay. We travel frequently and have stayed in resorts before, so that lead us to being disappointed in this "resort" for that reason. In comparison to other resorts, this place is just a very, plain hotel. Its basically, a place to sleep, while you go out and enjoy things outside the hotel. If you just want a very basic place to stay and don't have high expectations for the resort ammenities, this would be a great place for you. I'm glad we had it at a discounted rate, I would not pay full price to stay here, for what they offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments about your recent stay with us here at the Surfside Beach Resort. While we do not have all of the amenities of the large resorts in Myrtle Beach we do provide a nice room with great surroundings. I am sorry you did not see our vending machines but they are located on floors 2, 3, 5 and 7. We hope you will come back to see us again when you visit the Grand Strand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt airy, nc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

With hotel personell, especially by a lady named Ruby from Tennesse. She went beyond to make sure that the customer came first. I was also impressed with otel accomidations. I would recommend this facility to all. Thanks guys for everything.

Room Tip: Get rooms on north side overlooking the pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a great staff and a nice facility. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The staff was super friendly. We have stayed here in previous years and the hotel looks great now. Things look fresh and the pool area looked inviting, although it was too rainy and cold to enjoy. Scotty's is a great asset for the property, making it easy to walk over and relax. So many good restaurants within a mile or two also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments about your recent visit to the Surfside Beach Resort. We have made many improvements to the property with many more to come in the near future. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.