We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay Away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

1. Upon arrival we are informed that the pool is closed .. "Hey the hot tub is open" ummm hmm okay ... 2. I walk into the room and the smell is horrible ! Smells of must and mildew 3. 50% of the lighting in the room does not Work . 4. The tub/ shower was disgusting !!! The toilet was rusted through out just plain nasty ! I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN. It would not hurt for this hotel to so some renovating major renovating or just shut down all together

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are always here to solve any problems a guest may encounter during their stay. We would have been happy to move you to another room if you would have told us you were not happy. Most of our rooms have been fully remodeled but a few of our bathrooms still have not been. Some of our rooms have also been off of the market for routine repairs during the off season and it appears as though we did not get your room properly taken care of before your arrival.

Most of the lighting in our rooms is controlled by wall switches near the front door as well as a switch on the lamps themselves. Many times the wall switches are off so it appears the bulbs may out in the lamp. Many times a guest will unplug our lamps to plug their cell phone chargers in as well. This is an item that is on the housekeeper's list each day to check but they do miss one occasionally. Again, a simple call to the front desk would have eliminated this problem.

Our pool is closed due to ADA requirements as is every commercial pool in the US that has not completed these updates. It will reopen as soon as the required work is completed. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.

We are never happy to hear about a bad guest experience, especially after the fact. Our staff is trained to help with guest requests while they are here, but they have to know about them to be able to help. In the future please ask for assistance anywhere you may choose to stay. You most likely will find a well trained staff eager to assist you with your request and you can do what you came to do, relax!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    126
    50
    28
    12
See reviews for
161
123
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed one night at Surfside Beach Resort. The room was beautiful with furnishings to match. Checkin and out was quick and pleasant. Excellant location. The only downside was the lack of all eating equipment (plates, cups, glasses, silverware, etc.). There were styrofoam cups for the coffee maker but not so much as a spoon to stir with. Thank heavens there was a great restaurant right next door (River City Cafe).

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Surfside Beach Resort for your recent stay in Surfside Beach. We are glad you found the room to your liking. We have refrigerators and microwaves in our rooms for basic food needs but we do not provide full kitchen services in the rooms. For most of our guests this works well. The coffee amenity packets we provide for the coffeemakers do have plastic stirring sticks included in them but it is possible you received one without the sticks. We are sorry for the inconvenience this might have caused.

We hope you will return to Surfside Beach very soon and that you will allow us to be your choice for accommodations while you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

First of all, I want to disclaim that I got to stay at this property for a very much reduced rate from an online offer. That being said, I think that it is fair to review the property based on what the "regular" rate would be.

This hotel charges an additional $6 per night "Resort Ameneties Fee". At other beach front properties this is generally used to pay for the fancier-than-motel pool, or perhaps some additional in room amenities like snacks, or other on-site benefit. At SBR, this fee had no benefit. The pool was closed for refurbishing to comply with ADA requirements.

But enought from the title tease.

The rooms are small, yet average-for-beachfront properties. There are two double beds, a 20-something-inch CRT TV with cable. The quality was adequate (better than getting fancy LCDs and feeding them analog signals). There is a single vanity outside of the bathroom/toilet. This is nice so family members can get ready while someone is in the shower.

Our water pressure was poor to tolerable in the shower and excessive in the sink. Hot water was hot, cold water was cold, but the mixing point was so narrow that a tap of the handle to the left or right would quickly make it too hot or too cold.

There are plenty of drawers, two separate tables, three chairs and a nice balcony from which to watch the ocean waves crash onto the beach. The window to the balcony opens (believe it or not, been to places where this is NOT the case).

Obviously the location was incredible. We really like Surfside Beach and will gladly go again in the future. There is so much less hustle and bustle than you get from the Grand Strand of Myrtle Beach. The local food is affordable and good.

Here are some of the things that contributed to a low review for this property:
- Resort fee (again, for what? A closed pool? There are NO other amenities at this property)
- We were in a room right behind the elevator. Perhaps because of our "discount" status? One elevator didn't bother us. But the elevator on the side closest to the side of the building was VERY loud and sounded like it is ready to fall off its track. It reminded me of a really bad shopping cart, thumping and banging all the way up and down. AVOID ANY ROOM ENDING IN 22 until they fix this elevator (avoid that elevator, too)!
- Housekeeping came in, swapped towels, complied with a request for an extra towel, took out the most of the trash, but FORGOT TO MAKE THE BEDS! Not something you go crying down to the front desk about, but you register this sort of thing in the back of your mind and wonder "what the heck?"

Over all, we enjoyed our stay in the area and would return to the area again. However, in the pre-Spring Break season, we may venture up without a reservation and see what is available on Condo Row where prices were going for about the same as what we paid, and in the middle of it all.

Room Tip: Avoid any room ending in 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about the Surfside Beach Resort. We are glad you took advantage of one of the several online flash sales we offered during the off season. One of the reasons we offer such low rates is that it is that time of year when we are reworking our rooms and common areas to get them back in shape for the upcoming summer season and we know our guests might encounter some inconveniences during their stay. One of those inconveniences has been the closing of our pool and hot tub for the ADA improvements that every commercial pool in the US must make in order to meet the current ADA requirements or be shut down. We have finished the hot tub improvements and we are waiting on the pool upgrades to begin on the pool. Obviously we would like to have the pool open but we are complying with the law. We want to be sure all of our guests including the handicapped have access to our pool and hot tub.

While we are not a large resort with a pool fancier than the hotel, one of the better things that our resort fee helps us provide is beach side parking just steps from the building and the ocean. That is very rare along the Grand Strand these days. More and more resorts are offering off-site parking, sometimes blocks from the resort and almost always across a busy street. Anyone who has ever had to cross one of these streets with small children and the elderly knows how scary this can be. Many of these resorts are now charging for this parking as well, some as much as $9.00 per day! We have just installed one of the best state of the art high speed wireless internet systems available and new TVs, safes and elevators are on the way. Our resort fee helps us expedite these improvements.

Whether you want to stay in Surfside Beach where there is less hustle and bustle or in the middle of it all as you put it, we provide a nice place to stay, in a great location surrounded by food, drinks, shopping and a less crowded, beautiful beach at a very reasonable price. Even with the resort fee added we are less expensive than our competition here in Surfside Beach as well as most any other comparable property in the Myrtle Beach area.

Thanks for staying with us and we hope you will visit us again when you visit the Surfside Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked this hotel a month before and also called to confirm a few days before. Unfortunately they messed up the day and did not have the correct day booked. We had to wait for them to get the room ready. When we got into the room, the nonsmoking room had an overwhelming odor of smoke. One of the beds was broken and unusable, and the toilet ran all night long. When we told them the next morning, there was no apology just a thank you for letting them know. We were very disappointed and will not be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay here at the Surfside Beach Resort. We am sorry your stay was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to make every guest comfortable and make things right when we know there is a problem with one of our rooms or our service. Although we are a non-smoking property, guests do, on occasion, smoke in our guestrooms. We make every effort to assure that those rooms are free of any effects of the smoking before renting them again but sometimes we are not successful. A running toilet is not only annoying but is expensive for us as well. We want to know when these kinds of problems exist. We always tell our guests that if there is anything we can do for them during their stay to please let us know. We would have been more than happy to move you to another room had we known you were not happy with the one you received. Our number one goal is your satisfaction with our property and our service. If you would be so kind as to call the resort, we will be happy to refund your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My GF and I stayed one night on a group discount rate. The hotel was Very clean and the staff was very accommodating. Excellent location right at the pier and several dining options. No dining within the hotel, but options all around. Very basic, but an excellent value. I will definitely stay there again. By the way, it snowed about an inch while I was there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Taking the time to tell others about the Surfside Beach resort means a lot to us. Many travelers depend on TripAdvisor to give them the information they need when filling their accommodation needs. Our location is one of our strong points and the surrounding shops and restaurants as well as the beach complete the package many people are looking for when they travel. Thanks for choosing the Surfside Beach Resort located in the heart of Surfside Beach next to the Surfside Pier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed here before a long time ago, since then they have updated the property but removed the restaurant. Not to fear, there is one within walking distance on the pier. Can't vouch for their food since I didn't eat there. River City Cafe is also right across the parking lot and offers great burgers and turkey burgers (my FAV) There are other places nearby that we didn't eat at.

Room: We had a king room with balcony. The view here is not ocean front, but it is a side view and you can see all the way down the beach. Stay on the pool side if you don't like noise, the beach bar is on the other side and I recall you can hear the band very well there in season. We felt the room was spacious enough, seemed clean and updated. Its an older hotel but maintained. We had a problem with our tv remote, called Ken at the front desk, Bruce arrived immediately and brought us a new tv. That is the only situation we encountered that we needed to call the front desk for. Staff is great!

Location: Love it, I have taken my daughter here and its so relaxing not to have to drive if you want to stop for a few for lunch or dinner, you can walk or even microwave something in your room. The pool and hot tub were closed on this trip for mandatory updates, but I have enjoyed both in the past. You may want to call first if this is critical to your trip. Parking is easy and convenient to check in. Nothing worse than forgetting something and having to walk 12 minutes back to the car parked in another zip code to get it.

Overall we got a great rate and I have already booked another stay for April. I checked out the Holiday Inn down the street and I thought this was much better of the two choices.

Have fun!

Room Tip: Beach view from either side. Make sure if you like quiet you don't book the pool side. Beach b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your remarks about the Surfside Beach Resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have a nice combination of food, lodging, and recreation that makes us a great getaway spot for a weekend or a week. We appreciate your business and your kind words. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Surfside Beach Resort for two separate trips. Back in December I stayed two nights while in the area for business and just this past weekend I stayed two more nights as a part of a small conference being held at the hotel. On both occasions I felt the hotel staff went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable.

The resort/hotel is an older property and to be honest isn't really a resort in the typical sense of the word. They have a small outdoor pool and a hot tub, but that's about it as far as "resort" fare goes. However, the facility is very well maintained and spotlessly clean. On both occasions I stayed in a King room. The rooms are fairly large, they have a very comfortable bed, small in room fridge, an okay television and a stand up ocean view balcony.

What I really like about this hotel is it's location. It is situated right on the beach. The hotel is literally right next door to the Surfside Fishing Pier. There are several restaurants and places to get a drink that are within easy walking distance of the hotel and there are several more options just two miles away in Garden City. Best of all Surfside is more relaxed, quieter and feels more like the classic Carolina shore than high rise infested Myrtle Beach.

Bonus tips:
The Surfside Diner (on the Surfside Pier) serves a great breakfast and just across the Parking lot.

Bubba's Fish Shack (Right across the street) offers very tasty oysters.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate the time you took to tell everyone about the Surfside Beach Resort and our great community that surrounds us. The beach is a great calling card for us but there are many other attractions that make this one of the most driven to destinations in the country. We are a small resort without all of the amenities of some of the larger resorts but we also provide beach side parking and less crowded beaches as we are the only resort on the beach here near the Surfside Pier. We went through a major renovation in 2011 and have very nice rooms at a reasonable price. We hope you will come back to stay with us very soon and bring all of your friends to share the fun with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.