We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Surfside Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked this hotel a month before and also called to confirm a few days before. Unfortunately they messed up the day and did not have the correct day booked. We had to wait for them to get the room ready. When we got into the room, the nonsmoking room had an overwhelming odor of smoke. One of the beds was broken and unusable, and the toilet ran all night long. When we told them the next morning, there was no apology just a thank you for letting them know. We were very disappointed and will not be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay here at the Surfside Beach Resort. We am sorry your stay was less than satisfactory. We work very hard to make every guest comfortable and make things right when we know there is a problem with one of our rooms or our service. Although we are a non-smoking property, guests do, on occasion, smoke in our guestrooms. We make every effort to assure that those rooms are free of any effects of the smoking before renting them again but sometimes we are not successful. A running toilet is not only annoying but is expensive for us as well. We want to know when these kinds of problems exist. We always tell our guests that if there is anything we can do for them during their stay to please let us know. We would have been more than happy to move you to another room had we known you were not happy with the one you received. Our number one goal is your satisfaction with our property and our service. If you would be so kind as to call the resort, we will be happy to refund your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My GF and I stayed one night on a group discount rate. The hotel was Very clean and the staff was very accommodating. Excellent location right at the pier and several dining options. No dining within the hotel, but options all around. Very basic, but an excellent value. I will definitely stay there again. By the way, it snowed about an inch while I was there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Taking the time to tell others about the Surfside Beach resort means a lot to us. Many travelers depend on TripAdvisor to give them the information they need when filling their accommodation needs. Our location is one of our strong points and the surrounding shops and restaurants as well as the beach complete the package many people are looking for when they travel. Thanks for choosing the Surfside Beach Resort located in the heart of Surfside Beach next to the Surfside Pier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed here before a long time ago, since then they have updated the property but removed the restaurant. Not to fear, there is one within walking distance on the pier. Can't vouch for their food since I didn't eat there. River City Cafe is also right across the parking lot and offers great burgers and turkey burgers (my FAV) There are other places nearby that we didn't eat at.

Room: We had a king room with balcony. The view here is not ocean front, but it is a side view and you can see all the way down the beach. Stay on the pool side if you don't like noise, the beach bar is on the other side and I recall you can hear the band very well there in season. We felt the room was spacious enough, seemed clean and updated. Its an older hotel but maintained. We had a problem with our tv remote, called Ken at the front desk, Bruce arrived immediately and brought us a new tv. That is the only situation we encountered that we needed to call the front desk for. Staff is great!

Location: Love it, I have taken my daughter here and its so relaxing not to have to drive if you want to stop for a few for lunch or dinner, you can walk or even microwave something in your room. The pool and hot tub were closed on this trip for mandatory updates, but I have enjoyed both in the past. You may want to call first if this is critical to your trip. Parking is easy and convenient to check in. Nothing worse than forgetting something and having to walk 12 minutes back to the car parked in another zip code to get it.

Overall we got a great rate and I have already booked another stay for April. I checked out the Holiday Inn down the street and I thought this was much better of the two choices.

Have fun!

Room Tip: Beach view from either side. Make sure if you like quiet you don't book the pool side. Beach b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave your remarks about the Surfside Beach Resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have a nice combination of food, lodging, and recreation that makes us a great getaway spot for a weekend or a week. We appreciate your business and your kind words. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
266 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Surfside Beach Resort for two separate trips. Back in December I stayed two nights while in the area for business and just this past weekend I stayed two more nights as a part of a small conference being held at the hotel. On both occasions I felt the hotel staff went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable.

The resort/hotel is an older property and to be honest isn't really a resort in the typical sense of the word. They have a small outdoor pool and a hot tub, but that's about it as far as "resort" fare goes. However, the facility is very well maintained and spotlessly clean. On both occasions I stayed in a King room. The rooms are fairly large, they have a very comfortable bed, small in room fridge, an okay television and a stand up ocean view balcony.

What I really like about this hotel is it's location. It is situated right on the beach. The hotel is literally right next door to the Surfside Fishing Pier. There are several restaurants and places to get a drink that are within easy walking distance of the hotel and there are several more options just two miles away in Garden City. Best of all Surfside is more relaxed, quieter and feels more like the classic Carolina shore than high rise infested Myrtle Beach.

Bonus tips:
The Surfside Diner (on the Surfside Pier) serves a great breakfast and just across the Parking lot.

Bubba's Fish Shack (Right across the street) offers very tasty oysters.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonLugoff_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate the time you took to tell everyone about the Surfside Beach Resort and our great community that surrounds us. The beach is a great calling card for us but there are many other attractions that make this one of the most driven to destinations in the country. We are a small resort without all of the amenities of some of the larger resorts but we also provide beach side parking and less crowded beaches as we are the only resort on the beach here near the Surfside Pier. We went through a major renovation in 2011 and have very nice rooms at a reasonable price. We hope you will come back to stay with us very soon and bring all of your friends to share the fun with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

First off if your looking for Ritz Carlton expierence go to a Ritz.
This place was great, the service wonderful. It could use some updates but for the money you can't beat it.

OH and the View fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denrosesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
While we are not the fanciest place in the sun here on the Grand Strand we do provide clean rooms and common areas and a great place for everyone from business travelers to couples to families of all sizes. Located right on the beach and surrounded by great restaurants, and close to water parks, shopping and more, the Surfside Beach Resort is the perfect choice for anyone's travel needs. Thank you for taking the time to recognize us and share your experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Bill Miller was most helpful in booking our getaway! We were allowed to preview a room and he worked with us in finding the best times that would work for all of us! The location of the hotel is great for a girlfriends getaway, which is what we enjoyed here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are lucky to have such a talented staff here at the Surfside Beach Resort. They all make our guests feel comfortable as soon as they walk through our front door. They are all personable and highly knowledgeable about the Myrtle Beach area and will go out of their way to help with food and attraction suggestions. Thanks for recognizing their abilities and we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaston, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I recently spent a week at Surfside Beach Resort and it was the most relaxing vacation! The staff were all so very helpful and the room was great and clean. It had a beautiful view of the coast line and the pier and from the balcony you can see the sun coming up over the ocean. There is a wonderful restaurant within walking distance so you can just kick back and enjoy your stay without a lot of driving around. I found it several years ago and love it more each time I stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have the best view of the pier and sun coming up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and being such a loyal customer. We work hard to make sure every guest has this kind of experience. Our goal is to make the Surfside Beach Resort your only choice when staying in the Myrtle Beach area. We hope you will come back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfside Beach
1.2 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#3 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
5.8 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,600 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,501 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Surfside Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing