We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off!!!
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
1 review
“Great customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Bill Miller was most helpful in booking our getaway! We were allowed to preview a room and he worked with us in finding the best times that would work for all of us! The location of the hotel is great for a girlfriends getaway, which is what we enjoyed here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are lucky to have such a talented staff here at the Surfside Beach Resort. They all make our guests feel comfortable as soon as they walk through our front door. They are all personable and highly knowledgeable about the Myrtle Beach area and will go out of their way to help with food and attraction suggestions. Thanks for recognizing their abilities and we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    86
    38
    25
    10
See reviews for
108
81
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gaston, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently spent a week at Surfside Beach Resort and it was the most relaxing vacation! The staff were all so very helpful and the room was great and clean. It had a beautiful view of the coast line and the pier and from the balcony you can see the sun coming up over the ocean. There is a wonderful restaurant within walking distance so you can just kick back and enjoy your stay without a lot of driving around. I found it several years ago and love it more each time I stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have the best view of the pier and sun coming up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and being such a loyal customer. We work hard to make sure every guest has this kind of experience. Our goal is to make the Surfside Beach Resort your only choice when staying in the Myrtle Beach area. We hope you will come back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was a nice, average hotel. The best part of our visit was the room and the lobby were VERY CLEAN. I've stayed in too many hotels that boast cleanliness but are grimy. The next best part was location, being able to walk across a dune and be on the beach was fabulous. We didn't go on the pier this time, but it was nice to have the option.
We stayed in the thick of summer and being Southern I know it is almost impossible to get the humidity out of a hotel room, but it was barely noticeable. The room itself was a good size, beds were comfortable, plenty of towels. The room decor was a little dated, but the lobby looked like it had recently been refreshed. The staff were extremely pleasant, which sometimes can make a world of difference. The pool area was clean, and the pool water was clear. It was tropical feeling with the palm trees and ocean behind you. The pool area is not as big as it looks on the website however. There was no restaurant in the building but a cute diner across the street where we bought breakfast the next day (gave my son a HUGE chocolate milk so he's voted yes for going there again!)--I can't recall the name of the diner. Be prepared in the summer for long wait times at any of the close food establishments.
I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. While we are not a 5 star property we do offer a nice facility, in a great location, at an affordable price. We offer beach side parking which is a rare find these days. We are surrounded by several great restaurants, the Surfside Pier, and many other fun attractions are just minutes away from the Surfside Beach Resort. We hope to see you again very soon and even though we are not a 5 star property we will continue to provide 5 star service every time a guest walks through our doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our first room had roaches in the bathroom. The manager gladly moved us to a room down the hallway. Unfortunately, the toilet wasn't properly cleaned, but we didn't feel like moving rooms again at 10:30 PM. The view from the balcony was great. It was OK, but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with your room. We take great pride in having the cleanest rooms possible and that is the usually the case here at the Surfside Beach Resort. While we have regular treatments for pests they do still find their way into our property from time to time. Most come in through open sliding doors and become trapped when the doors close behind them. When we are made aware of their presence we immediately call our pest control company to have the problem resolved.

On occasion we also miss cleaning a toilet, sink or tub as thoroughly as we should. For that we are truly sorry. During the off season rooms sometimes sit for several days between occupancy and with a reduced staff it is hard to get into every room every day to make sure the toilets are flushed and everything is as perfect as we want. We will work harder to make sure we are doing a better job.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the issues you experienced. Without your feedback we do not know where we are deficient and we want to know where we need to improve. We hope you will give us another try on you next visit to the beautiful Grand Strand of South Carolina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My room was immaculate. The staff were very friendly ,cheerful and helpful. The hotel itself was in an excellent location with a place to eat your breakfast on a pier overlooking the beach right next door to a fun place to eat with a waterview across the parking lot to a beach-themed bar on the other side. I would highly recommend this Hotel to any of my own family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone about your recent stay with us here at the Surfside Beach Resort. It is hard to find a nice place to stay that doesn't cost an arm and a leg these days but that is exactly what folks find when they arrive at our door. We have the perfect location and a very clean hotel to go along with it. Our staff is one of the best around and our rates are hard to beat. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

seriously great hotel
20 minutes from myrtle beach airport.
spacious rooms.
really cute decor, not that it really matters.
it felt really safe-- interior corridors, which most hotels in this area don't have.
very clean.
super friendly desk help.
will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We work very hard to make sure every stay is better than expected. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best service available and we offer one of the best values on the beach as well. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

You can't beat the value for this beach front hotel. The rates are excellent for being a beach front hotel with it's own private section of beach. Super clean rooms, hospitable staff and great location. You also get a discount at the nearby restaurants if you show your key card! They also have live entertainment next door at Scott

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
It's great to hear that you had such a good time while you were here at the Surfside Beach Resort. We hope you will tell all of your friends and bring them with you on your next visit. We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn
Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.