We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Johns Creek, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not so clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our first room had roaches in the bathroom. The manager gladly moved us to a room down the hallway. Unfortunately, the toilet wasn't properly cleaned, but we didn't feel like moving rooms again at 10:30 PM. The view from the balcony was great. It was OK, but wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with your room. We take great pride in having the cleanest rooms possible and that is the usually the case here at the Surfside Beach Resort. While we have regular treatments for pests they do still find their way into our property from time to time. Most come in through open sliding doors and become trapped when the doors close behind them. When we are made aware of their presence we immediately call our pest control company to have the problem resolved.

On occasion we also miss cleaning a toilet, sink or tub as thoroughly as we should. For that we are truly sorry. During the off season rooms sometimes sit for several days between occupancy and with a reduced staff it is hard to get into every room every day to make sure the toilets are flushed and everything is as perfect as we want. We will work harder to make sure we are doing a better job.

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about the issues you experienced. Without your feedback we do not know where we are deficient and we want to know where we need to improve. We hope you will give us another try on you next visit to the beautiful Grand Strand of South Carolina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    126
    50
    27
    12
See reviews for
158
122
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My room was immaculate. The staff were very friendly ,cheerful and helpful. The hotel itself was in an excellent location with a place to eat your breakfast on a pier overlooking the beach right next door to a fun place to eat with a waterview across the parking lot to a beach-themed bar on the other side. I would highly recommend this Hotel to any of my own family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone about your recent stay with us here at the Surfside Beach Resort. It is hard to find a nice place to stay that doesn't cost an arm and a leg these days but that is exactly what folks find when they arrive at our door. We have the perfect location and a very clean hotel to go along with it. Our staff is one of the best around and our rates are hard to beat. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

seriously great hotel
20 minutes from myrtle beach airport.
spacious rooms.
really cute decor, not that it really matters.
it felt really safe-- interior corridors, which most hotels in this area don't have.
very clean.
super friendly desk help.
will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We work very hard to make sure every stay is better than expected. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best service available and we offer one of the best values on the beach as well. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

You can't beat the value for this beach front hotel. The rates are excellent for being a beach front hotel with it's own private section of beach. Super clean rooms, hospitable staff and great location. You also get a discount at the nearby restaurants if you show your key card! They also have live entertainment next door at Scott

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
It's great to hear that you had such a good time while you were here at the Surfside Beach Resort. We hope you will tell all of your friends and bring them with you on your next visit. We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheraw, South Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Didn't even know you could get a hotel for $35/night! Came to $47 when taxes were added. Wanted to save a little money on our getaway, so stayed here 1 night on our way to Charleston! Don't very often stay in a 2 1/2 star hotel, but I will say for the price we have no complaints. The hotel is on a nice beach, but the way the hotel is designed all the rooms are side view. When checking in we asked if we could have a room with a nice view of the ocean. The gentleman kindly changed our room to a 7th floor and closest to the beach. Stayed in room 704. Wish we would have paid the extra $10 for a king bed...I mis-understood and thought all the double rooms where queen, but ours was just full. Oh well, that is the only complaint I have and we could have avoided that if I hadn't been trying to save $10!:) Wouldn't want to spend a week at the beach here, as the rooms are quite small, and I am spoiled and like a few more comforts, but for a night or two it was great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks you for staying with us. We are glad you found us and we hope you will return soon. Just to clear one thing up however, all of our double rooms do have queen sized beds in them. We have no full sized beds on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hi, we loved staying right on the beach. The hotel is older but, as others mention, it is kept clean and pretty well maintained. It is pretty no-frills but it matches the price that you pay. The area is overflowing with things to do so it's not really necessary to have things right at the hotel.

Room Tip: Elevators are super slow so you probably want to get the lowest floor available and use the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thanks for choosing the Surfside Beach Resort for your recent stay in the Myrtle Beach area. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will share your experience with all of your friends. We would love to add them to our family of friends that stay with us year after year. We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to the Myrtle Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had to come to the area for a family member's funeral and chose this hotel due to the proximity to the family member's home...staying right on the beach didn't hurt matters either. The post-labor day price of $59 for an oceanfront hotel was a steal, especially considering the balcony with a great view of the beach. Staff ( I mostly dealt with Bill in particular, as he was on duty for the three or more times in my scatterbrained state that I left my key in my room) was very courteous and happy to help in any way. I travel often, and the usual problem is A) the beds, and B) hallway noise. I can honestly say that for one of those rare times I didn't long for my bed at home because of rock-hard pillows, and I also wasn't bothered by a cleaning staff banging around at 7 am like at some higher rated, higher priced hotels. The only thing that was missing for me was a fitness room. I had to go run along the beach instead, so boo-hoo for me,
Finally, once again, that view alone will have me booking here again- what a great feeling in the morning to open the curtains to see the ocean for miles and miles rather than a brick wall or air-conditioning unit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We are sorry for the reason for your recent stay with us here at the Surfside Beach Resort but we are so happy you found us. As you realized, our staff is one of the best in the business and they are very good at making our guests feel right at home even in times of hardship. We hope to see you again very soon so we can again serve up some good ole southern hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.