We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great October Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off!!!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Great October Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had to come to the area for a family member's funeral and chose this hotel due to the proximity to the family member's home...staying right on the beach didn't hurt matters either. The post-labor day price of $59 for an oceanfront hotel was a steal, especially considering the balcony with a great view of the beach. Staff ( I mostly dealt with Bill in particular, as he was on duty for the three or more times in my scatterbrained state that I left my key in my room) was very courteous and happy to help in any way. I travel often, and the usual problem is A) the beds, and B) hallway noise. I can honestly say that for one of those rare times I didn't long for my bed at home because of rock-hard pillows, and I also wasn't bothered by a cleaning staff banging around at 7 am like at some higher rated, higher priced hotels. The only thing that was missing for me was a fitness room. I had to go run along the beach instead, so boo-hoo for me,
Finally, once again, that view alone will have me booking here again- what a great feeling in the morning to open the curtains to see the ocean for miles and miles rather than a brick wall or air-conditioning unit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We are sorry for the reason for your recent stay with us here at the Surfside Beach Resort but we are so happy you found us. As you realized, our staff is one of the best in the business and they are very good at making our guests feel right at home even in times of hardship. We hope to see you again very soon so we can again serve up some good ole southern hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    104
    45
    25
    12
See reviews for
135
96
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I'd like to start by saying they have a very trustworthy cleaning staff. We never leave are valuables out and we always ask for no service to our room. This time we asked for more towels and they were delivered while we were out. This one time, we forgot to lock things up. We left a sony camera, our lap top, our camcorder and a $100.00 bill out in the open. When we returned, everything was just were we left it. Thanks much to the cleaning lady and I hope you get recognized in some way for this. Room 813 on the oct 13th- 15th.
Other wise the hotel itself was so so. It was nice and quiet. We had a clean room. The staff was friendly. I missed a few things, like an ironing board and iron. I was very upset that we could not leave our balcony door open in our NON smoking room, because all around us the smoke from others smoking on there balcony's came into our room. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were not. The garage was closed and not available for use. The elevators were a bit scary to get in, we chose to walk the stairs a lot. The hot tub was clean, but more like bath water than a hot tub. The way to the beach was easy and clean. The decor was.....well.....cheap. I think our headboard was made out of plastic. All in all it was good for what it was, just don't think any kind of luxery.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed room near the ocean. Non of the rooms are ocean front, but we had a decent o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Public Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thanks for recognizing our staff in your review. The Surfside Beach Resort opened in 1987 and we still have housekeepers that worked here that very first day. It is rare to find a staff with more than a few years at the same property these days. That is a testament not only to their honesty but also to their terrific cleaning capabilities. While we are an older property we work very hard to maintain it and will continue to do so. We are working to improve the elevators and other areas that still need updating. Our wireless internet system is undergoing a complete overhaul and will be state of the art very shortly. We hope you will come back to stay with us again as we feel we offer one of the best accommodation values along the Grand Strand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My best friend and I booked a different hotel on-line for a Girls Weekend to celebrate our 35th year of friendship. We had no idea it was Bike Week! We used On-Star for directions, which actually brought us to this hotel instead of the hotel we booked on-line. We were thrilled to see the pier with a restaurant, the Bar & Grill across the street, plus Scotty's beach bar. The hotel staff was so nice and friendly that we cancelled our reservations at the other hotel and stayed the weekend at this hotel. Best decision we ever made! Ruby, Bill, Ken, Jessica and the other staff were great! Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable! Even though it was October, the weather was a warm 82 degrees and Ruby loaned us her personal beach chairs so we could enjoy the warm weather. We placed our chairs on the beach in front of Scotty's and listened to music all day including a live band from 5:00 - 9:00pm. The staff gave us great directions and recommended places to eat! Valentino's was excellent! We met some of the nicest biker's and now my best friend and I are planning on making this our annual get-a-way. Thank you guys for making this our best girl's weekend get-a-way ever!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Public Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We are so happy you found us and we look forward to your next trip to the Surfside Beach Resort. Plan on having another great time while you are here as we are always working on ways to make every stay better than the last. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I took 21 ladies to Surfside Beach Resort for a long weekend. We were very pleased with the decor, the location and the staff! All were excellent! We booked through Hotels.com and the only issue we had was the agent for Hotels.com had only reserved us for one night! I was sweating it because at first the resort thought there may be an issue on Saturday night but Ken and Bill worked everything out and our stay was wonderful! The rooms are nice and very clean. The staff extremely courteous and the location....couldn't have been better!!! Restaurants and shops within walking distance and with your room card you get a discount. You will not be sorry if you stay here! We will be going back on a regular basis!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have an oceanview...they are on the side of the resort. Of course the higher the better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, General Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We enjoyed having your group stay with us. Even though the communication between the resort and your booking agent was not the best we were able to work everything out with very little inconvenience to you and the ladies with you. We are happy about that. We hope next time those details will be worked out well in advance of your stay. From the photos you posted it looks like you made the rounds while you were here and enjoyed all that the Myrtle Beach area has to offer. There is something for everyone here and our knowledgeable staff is great at pointing you in the right direction to where ever you may be going. It will be nice to see all of you on your next trip so make those plans and head on back to the Surfside Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

From Bill taking my reservation on the phone and signing us in, to Nicky at the front desk giving great advice, planning and directions... the room was clean, location was perfect... making for a great trip! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
You are welcome! We do have a great staff that makes everyone feel at home while they are here. We are glad you had a good time and we hope you will continue to let others know about our special little place in the sun here along the Grand Strand of South Carolina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We purchased a Groupon for the Surfside Beach Resort at a rate of $105/night- I'm not sure how this compares to their normal rates, but the weather was still beautiful in late September. The hotel is perfectly located right on the beach in mostly-residential Surfside Beach. My husband and I both thought the area was the perfect mix of quiet with just enough in terms of restaurants and bars within walking distance. The rooms were not fancy by any means, but perfectly clean and well kept. The mini fridge and microwave is a nice feature for a stay at the beach, and all rooms (I think) have a balcony with an ocean view. It was a shame that they don't actually have any ocean front rooms- we would have gladly paid more for that, but the view was nice all the same. The small, outdated TVs were the only downside- I don't think I've stayed in a hotel in the last few years that didn't have at least a small flatscreen. But, you don't really go to the beach to watch TV, so just a small inconvenience. The pool/hot tub area was nice, also clean and well maintained, and there was plentiful, free parking. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We have lots of specials going in the fall of the year here at the Surfside Beach Resort. We want everyone to know how wonderful the weather is in the fall and how much more you can do because the crowds have slimmed down from the summer crush months. We have restaurants and shopping within walking distance and many folks park their cars upon arrival and never go back to them until they start packing to leave. Our private beach access right under the building makes it so easy to get to the beach and the beach side parking makes loading and unloading the car a breeze. We are working to replace all of the older TV's and many rooms are already equipped with them. Please come back to see us again very soon. We'll be waiting with clean rooms, great dining, beautiful beaches and smiling faces that always say welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a good experence with this hotel. Very clean. Good location to nearby pier,resturants. The Surfside area is pretty quite unlike the heart of Myrtle Beach. We booked here after all the reviews. We had a king bed on the 8th floor with ocean view. We paid a totla of $172.00 for two nights from September 21-23.

Room Tip: Bring your fishing rods, the pier is next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
The Surfside Beach resort is one of the best values on the Grand Strand. We have a superior housekeeping staff to keep the rooms clean as well as one of the best engineering departments anywhere. At the end of the summer season we are still getting great reviews about the condition of the hotel and the cleanliness of our rooms. That is a testament to how great the staff is that keeps the property running each and every day. It is no small feat keeping a property in such good shape and it is nice to know that all of their hard work does not go unnoticed. We will be waiting for your return visit and we will be ready to once again make your stay one that you will remember always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GCommerce Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.