We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience, Nice Rooms, Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience, Nice Rooms, Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

From Bill taking my reservation on the phone and signing us in, to Nicky at the front desk giving great advice, planning and directions... the room was clean, location was perfect... making for a great trip! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
You are welcome! We do have a great staff that makes everyone feel at home while they are here. We are glad you had a good time and we hope you will continue to let others know about our special little place in the sun here along the Grand Strand of South Carolina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    126
    50
    28
    12
See reviews for
161
123
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We purchased a Groupon for the Surfside Beach Resort at a rate of $105/night- I'm not sure how this compares to their normal rates, but the weather was still beautiful in late September. The hotel is perfectly located right on the beach in mostly-residential Surfside Beach. My husband and I both thought the area was the perfect mix of quiet with just enough in terms of restaurants and bars within walking distance. The rooms were not fancy by any means, but perfectly clean and well kept. The mini fridge and microwave is a nice feature for a stay at the beach, and all rooms (I think) have a balcony with an ocean view. It was a shame that they don't actually have any ocean front rooms- we would have gladly paid more for that, but the view was nice all the same. The small, outdated TVs were the only downside- I don't think I've stayed in a hotel in the last few years that didn't have at least a small flatscreen. But, you don't really go to the beach to watch TV, so just a small inconvenience. The pool/hot tub area was nice, also clean and well maintained, and there was plentiful, free parking. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We have lots of specials going in the fall of the year here at the Surfside Beach Resort. We want everyone to know how wonderful the weather is in the fall and how much more you can do because the crowds have slimmed down from the summer crush months. We have restaurants and shopping within walking distance and many folks park their cars upon arrival and never go back to them until they start packing to leave. Our private beach access right under the building makes it so easy to get to the beach and the beach side parking makes loading and unloading the car a breeze. We are working to replace all of the older TV's and many rooms are already equipped with them. Please come back to see us again very soon. We'll be waiting with clean rooms, great dining, beautiful beaches and smiling faces that always say welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a good experence with this hotel. Very clean. Good location to nearby pier,resturants. The Surfside area is pretty quite unlike the heart of Myrtle Beach. We booked here after all the reviews. We had a king bed on the 8th floor with ocean view. We paid a totla of $172.00 for two nights from September 21-23.

Room Tip: Bring your fishing rods, the pier is next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
The Surfside Beach resort is one of the best values on the Grand Strand. We have a superior housekeeping staff to keep the rooms clean as well as one of the best engineering departments anywhere. At the end of the summer season we are still getting great reviews about the condition of the hotel and the cleanliness of our rooms. That is a testament to how great the staff is that keeps the property running each and every day. It is no small feat keeping a property in such good shape and it is nice to know that all of their hard work does not go unnoticed. We will be waiting for your return visit and we will be ready to once again make your stay one that you will remember always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Very nice location, rooms were nice. Hotel was recently renovated, great location in Surfsise Beach away from the hustle abd bustle of Myrtle Beach. Nice restaurants all within walking distance. Good proximity to Murrell's Inlet and restaurants there. Would definitely visit here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks for the great review. We are always happy to welcome new members into our Surfside Beach Resort family. We work very hard to make the guest experience one of the very best. From the greeting you receive at the front desk when you arrive to the smiling faces of our great housekeeping and maintenance staff members, you can always count a fun time while staying with us. Be sure to tell all of you friends about us so they can visit us and experience all that the Surfside Beach area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a girls weekend trip. We booked an excellent rate on a discount site, so it was great value for the money. The location can't be beat. It is well outside of Myrtle Beach, but still close to restaurants. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. If you need more space, ask for a room without a balcony. The beach was beautiful, and we had a view from our room even without a balcony. The pool area could definitely be improved (it's very small and in the middle of the parking lot), but it was clean and there were lounge chairs available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. They are very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
It's nice to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us here at the Surfside Beach Resort. We have one of the best locations along the Grand Stand with great beach side parking, our own private access to the beach, and the only beach front bar in Surfside Beach. We hope you will come back to see us again and bring your friends with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was our first stay at Surfside Beach Resort. We purchased a Groupon so got a great rate the weekend after Labor Day. We prefer the less crowded time and area just outside of Myrtle Beach. We stayed in a corner room on the 6th Floor closest to the beach. There was a great view of the pier and the beach and ocean. Although the room was small, it was comfortable for the four of us, me, husband, nine year old and two year old. The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. We will return to Surfside Beach Resort during the off-season.

Room Tip: higher rooms on corners facing the pier have best ocean view and sounds we had room 601 - perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for staying with us here in Surfside Beach, South Carolina. The Surfside Beach Resort is a great get away spot for a weekend or a week. We hope you will spread the word and let everyone know we are here to make their next excursion something extra special. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for 20 years. The location is the best and you have restaurants within walking distance. But this year we had problems. The carpet was so nasty that it left our feet black. I went downstairs to talk to the GM but he was busy. He did call and leave me a voice mail message later but there are not any instructions on the phone telling you how to get your messages. So I went downstairs and I talked to the night manager about cleaning the carpet but he said that they were to busy and they only steam clean carpets in the fall. We had to wait one day 7 hours for clean towels because they had run out early in the day. The bottom of the bathtub looks bad. Needs a really good cleaning. Also the second maid we had only made up the beds. She did not vacuum the carpet because little pieces of paper were still on it after she left. Also there was a pile of sand in the bathroom floor that I pushed in front of the tub thinking she would sweep it up. No, it was still there when we came back.
Now we do not know if we want to stay here again. If you have several kids you should get the extended room. There is a lot of room to move around in that room but you do only get a window and no balcony. Also the night manager could use some training because he had a smirk on his face the whole time he was talking to me.

Room Tip: If you have several kids get the extended room. For the best ocean view get a room with 03, 05 or 0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to leave your comments about your stay with us. We will be passing them on to our employees to make sure they do a better job with their customer service. Our goal is to make every stay the very best possible. We are never satisfied with reviews that are less than positive. We use your experiences to better our skills and we are glad you shared with us. We hope you will decide to give us another try to give us the opportunity to show how we have improved since your last visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.