We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yearly visitor!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% Off!!!
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Steubenville, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Yearly visitor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stay here on a yearly basis, usually in June. I have never had a problem with the rooms being dirty, never odors and the staff is ALWAYS friendly. THIS is WHY I keep returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for the nice words about the Surfside Beach Resort. We work very hard to make every guest a yearly visitor and we will continue to do that. We have a great staff and fantastic location that keeps people coming back year after year. Thanks for being one of those folks. We appreciate your patronage and we look forward to seeing you again next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    105
    45
    25
    12
See reviews for
136
97
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I got the room with one king size bed. Very nice and clean, the view was beautiful! The room wasn't fancy but it gets the job done. Staff very friendly and accommodating. The room was small as well as the bathroom, but again it's just fine for two people. The balcony was nice and we were able to hang our towels out to dry. It's right on the beach so u walk about 50 feet to get to the beach. Ample free parking and there are restaurants u can walk to. Bubbas fish across the street was really good and we didn't have to wait. We went around 2 on a Tuesday so I'm sure that played a role in that. I've heard the waiting times were long . The river city cafe wasn't that great. Burgers were overlooked and the fries were swimming in grease, plus it was overpriced for greasy food. The surf diner was good and reasonably priced for lunch and dinner and has a great view of the beach; didn't try the breakfast, we opted to have donuts in our room to save some money. We rented chairs with an umbrella on the beach, it was $30 a day or $50 for two days. It was well worth it, we loved it! This was our first time at myrtle beach and we will be back. The Walmart is only a few miles away for any items u may need. Overall a nice hotel convenient to everything.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and had a nice view of the ocean. I would recommend one with a balcony so u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thanks for choosing the Surfside Beach Resort for you recent stay in the Myrtle Beach area. While Surfside Beach is just south of Myrtle Beach we are still just minutes away from all of the great attractions that bring visitors to our area. We hope you will visit again very soon and that you will choose us for your accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurricane, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I found this hotel on tripadvisor. After reading the reviews, we decided to try the hotel and the city. We always stay in the north end of Myrtle Beach or North Myrtle Beach. We LOVED the area! The hotel had 4 restaurants directly adjacent to the property. There were 2 more places to grab a quick lunch (burger/hot dog). We were very close to many other very good restaurants and grocery stores. The cleaning staff was fantastic! The front desk folks were super as well! We booked a 2 queen room with balcony for the 4th of July week. The room was clean and nice, but not fancy. The beds were certainly better than most hotel beds. There was plenty of parking too. We will return again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We hear folks everyday say they have always stayed in Myrtle Beach or North Myrtle Beach for years and they will never go back because they found the place they have always been looking for in Surfside Beach. Our slow pace and quiet neighborhood makes for that perfect getaway for relaxing, sunning, eating, drinking and playing. Thanks for taking the time to share your stay with us and we'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

What we loved most was when you park your car, you don't have to get back in until you leave. Scotty's beach bar was a great place to relax & River City Cafe had the best burgers! The staff was really friendly and the room was not over the top but was comfortable! Can't wait to visit again!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
The location of the Surfside Beach Resort is one of our biggest assets and the onsite beach side parking just adds icing to the cake. Many guests park when they arrive and never get back into their cars until they are ready to return home. Please come back as soon as you can and bring all of you friends so they can be barefoot and lovin it too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I spent our first anniversary at the Surfside Beach Resort in July 2012. We were both pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the hotel and the efficiency of the staff. The room was cleaned meticulously by housekeeping each day and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Surfside Beach is such a cute little area, with restaurants and shops within walking distance. There were chairs and umbrellas available for daily rental and plenty of space on the beach, even on a holiday weekend. If you're looking for a fun and laidback vacation spot, Surfside Beach Resort is the perfect place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are glad we were part of your first anniversary and we would be honored to be a part of every new one in the future. Congratulations and best wishes from all of us here at the Surfside Beach Resort. Come back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights this past weekend in a room with an ocean view balcony and 2 queens. The resort is very nice for an ocean front resort and the room was very nicely decorated and clean with new furnishings. It has the basic necessities in the room and in the resort and the price is right. The only complaint is that the room is a bit on the small side but we weren't in the room much anyway. The pool was nice and clean also. I would definately stay again and recommend it to other travelers. Most ocean front resorts are showing their age and a lot of them are really going down hill so it was a nice change to stay in one that had been kept up.

Room Tip: If you don't care about the small balcony, get the room without the balcony to get the additiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks for staying with us at the Surfside Beach Resort. We hope you have found your new home away from home and will return as often as you can. We love adding new folks to our family and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here July 4, 2012.....The people at the desk were very nice. Since our room was not going to be ready until 3pm, she gave us a pool key and told us to feel free to change in the BR and use the pool, etc.... we got our room at 3 and the room was clean, just had an odor, just as the hallways did....maybe they need new carpet or something....the only other complaint is the slow elevators....several times we took the stairs (from 7th floor) instead of waiting....the elevator seemed "shaky" and noisy, kinda made me uneasy....otherwise good place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about the problem in your room. The high heat, humidity and the cold air conditioning causes moisture problems in some of the rooms that sometimes causes the carpets to be damp. We have new carpets and they were recently cleaned but sometimes we have to do some extra work to make everything smell nice. The housekeeping department was notified of you experience and they have addressed the issue and they are treating all of the rooms with a new enzyme freshener that eliminates any smells that might be in the room. Your feedback makes it possible for us to better serve all of our guests and we appreciate your letting us know. We hope you will return very soon and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.