We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Beach Resort to your Saves list
Surfside Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $49
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Nixa, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed at Surfide Beach Resort June 2012. Clean room, comfy bed, although narrow, small room. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. A leak from the ceiling in our 1st room caused us to load up and move to another room. Prompt attention from the staff when we voiced our complaint. View from either side of the hotel was excellent. Pier-side view was an excellent spot to view that beautiful sunrise every morning. Overall, not a ritzy, glamorous, or huge room - but perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are glad to hear you were well taken care of especially since there was a problem with your room. Accidents do happen but the way in which they are handled makes all the difference in how a guests stay turns out. Thank you for your patience during your room move. We work very hard to make sure everything is just right with every stay. We are happy you chose the Surfside Beach Resort for you accommodation needs. Please tell all of you friends about us and allow us to serve them as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    129
    50
    28
    12
See reviews for
167
129
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff!! Comfortable beds!! Great rates!! Overall great experience!! Will definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Surfside Beach Resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, NC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed at Surfside Beach Resort in June 2012 while attending the SC Firefighter Convention. I found that the rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was excellent and friendly. They went out of their way to make my stay a wonderful one. The pier and restaurant right beside the hotel were excellent. The slower pace of Surfside was a welcome relief from the crowds of Myrtle Beach. I look forward to staying there again next year, or sooner if possible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Public Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Thanks for choosing the Surfside Beach Resort for your recent accommodation needs along the Grand Strand of South Carolina. We have a special place here in Surfside Beach and we are proud to have you as a new member of our family. We look forward to your next stay with us and we will do everything we can to make sure it is a very special time for you. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed at Surfside Beach Resort May 2012. Requested and received a pier side room with balcony close to front of hotel. Plenty of free parking; room was clean; housekeeping forgot to leave fresh towels one day and front desk promptly delivered them to the room upon request. There was some noise from the A/C, but I like a little noise so I can get to sleep. Love the Surfside area and will stay at this hotel again, as I have frequented this hotel various times over the years. Thanks to the front desk staff for answering all my questions prior to my visit and for great service during my stay.

Room Tip: Room 711 has two queen beds and is on the pier side with balcony, which I prefer. A/C was noisy if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and we appreciate you patronage. Our staff works tirelessly to make sure they provide the best in customer service. They have great knowledge of the area and are very helpful with questions about local attractions and restaurants. We hope you will return very soon and enjoy all that the Surfside Beach Resort and the Grand Strand have to offer. We look forward to your next visit and hope you will bring all of you friends with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro, NC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Stayed may 2011 just after opening back up. nothing was finished. should have stayed closed to get renovation finished. Came back in sept. still not finished with renovations. THIS IS NOT A RESORT. It is MOTEL. No full service rest. on site. Scotty's is across side street. almost on site. They have guts to charge a resort fee on top of bill. I stay at plenty of hotels that are alot nicer that do not charge a fee for extras that do not exist. Staying somewhere else from now on.

Room Tip: stay at different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments about the Surfside Beach Resort. While not as large as some of our resort neighbors in the Myrtle Beach Area, we offer a setting that fits our neighborhood in Surfside Beach. Known as the "Family Beach", Surfside caters to the traveler that is looking for a quieter, more relaxed getaway. We do not have all of the amenities available at the larger resorts but we also don't have many of the disadvantages either. Our resort fee helps us provide oceanfront parking, a rare find along the Grand Strand. One of the biggest complaints resorts hear is a guest having to park across the boulevard, sometimes blocks away, and having to fight the traffic each time they go to their car or return to their room. The resort fee also allows us to provide wireless internet access, local phone service and coffee service in the lobby each day. Access to the beach is also available right under and on both sides of our building, and although Scotty's Beach Bar is not attached to our building, we get few complaints from patrons who enjoy their drinks on the deck while taking in the unobstructed view of the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We are constantly working to improve our property and service. We value your opinion and we appreciate your staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sykesville, md
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel is a short drive from the Myrtle Beach scene without the hustle bustle. Located in a neighborhood of single family houses, it has direct access to a wide beach, fishing pier and casual restaurants. The staff is very friendly. I want to particularly single out Bill at the front desk promised that he would make us want to come back. We do. No breakfast but coffee is provided in the lobby and the rooms have refrigerators and microwaves.

We had a small balcony and great view of the ocean and pier.

Nice swimming pool and ample parking.

Room Tip: Get a room on at least the 4th floor for a good ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Public Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Surfside Beach Resort during your recent visit to Surfside Beach and the Grand Strand. Our staff is one of the best in the business and they are always working to improve their skills. We hope you will return very soon. We'll be waiting to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Where to begin? Booked in April after reading all the great reviews. Newly renovaed. Hah! When? 1980? The internet photos were decieveing. Anyway...we were excited to go and bad booked for May 5. But we could get out early so we re-booked for May 2. Had planned to say for 9-10 days;

We stayed for 2 hours tops. Checked in and the staff was pleasent. Got our stuff and dragged it up to the room. First thing we noticed was the smell of the evelvator. Old and musty. The floor was dirty and I got a sinking feeling thigs were not going to get any better. Got off the elvelator and the decor was circa 1972. Old and worn. Made it to the room and opened the door.

I can only describe the smell as old dog and cigarette cover-up spray. No smoking room, but obviously there was a ton of smoking on the balcony. This narrow, dirty sliver of cement with some broken chairs.

My wife said that maybe it wouldn't be so bad. The bathroom floor was dirty. The room was small, which would have been fine had it been clean, and didn't stink. The pool was/is in he parking lot with bar goers learing from above; There was no way my wife was going to hang out there with that crew.

We got some extra towels and went to get something to eat. But never made it to dinner. We went right to Mytrle Beach and checked in at the Hampton. Matter of fact we didn't even stay the night at the Surf Side. The Hampton suggested we try to get our money back.

We went back to the Surf Side to get our stuf. We felt bad, but hey, it's our money. We told the woman at the desk that this was not what we expected and were leaving. She was very nice about it and said, "I understand." She had to get her Mgr. Bill. Bill was ok with our desicion, but still charged us for the room. Matter of fact charged us for our original reservation and didn't give us or AAA discount. Which was totally wrong. He should have charged us for non weekend rate with the discount. But frankly we couldn't wait to get of there.

Resort? Maybe if your 22 or 72 years old and could care less what the accomidations are like. 22 if your with your pals and are just going to drink and could care less what the room is like, 72 if you stayed there many times and know what to expect. It was a $138 lesson.

Oh, yeah, I had read that they were working hard on renovating, including room safes. No room safes. I have no idea what all these other great reviews saw that we didn't.

Technically we stayed becasue we flushed the toilet and ran the shower to see if they worked. They did. That's the high. We knew about the old TV's prior to going, but figured it was no big deal. I'm sure it was swank in 1967, but where is the renovation? What a mess. I'd like my money back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBRManager, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
I am sad to hear that your stay was less than what you had expected. We are always happy to work with our guests when there is a problem with their accommodations. I would urge any guest, no matter where they choose to stay, to allow the management and staff the opportunity to remedy any problems they may encounter during their stay. . Our hotel has undergone an extensive renovation including paint, carpets, bedding, draperies, bathroom fixtures, tile floors and more. The photos on the website are all current photos taken within the past few months. While not given the opportunity to assist in this instance , we are always willing to help if notified of any shortcomings. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We will use them to better our product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfside Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Beach Resort

Address: 15 South Ocean Boulevard, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Surfside Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Surfside Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfside Beach Resort is ideally situated in the center of Surfside Beach, South Carolina, and overlooks the beautiful Atlantic Ocean with 161 tastefully decorated ocean view rooms. All rooms were recently renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Surfside Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Beach Hotel Surfside Beach
Days Inn Surfside Beach
Days Hotel Surfside Beach
Surfside Beach Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.