We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Egg

Golden Egg
415 Highway 17 N, Surfside Beach, SC 29575
843-238-4923
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

Breakfast here was great. Good service. Bathrooms could use some updating/fixing up.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    32
    7
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Garden City Beach, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our breakfast was pleasant and the food was delicious.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

WeI enjoy our meals at the Golden Egg. We are pleased with the service and friendliness of all the staff. We have eaten breakfast there and also lunch and enjoyed our food with how it was served and how it was prepared. We are looking forward to eating at the Golden Egg more. Robert and Ola McBee

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not quite the experience that I was expecting, based on the reviews I read.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

It was very busy and waited in line for about 30 minutes. I was told it was worth the wait, so we waited. We were seated but our party of 6 had to be split-up. We placed our drink orders right away then waited about 5 minutes for our drinks, and in the midst of that, they changed our waitress. Finally getting the coffee, I was disappointed as it was very weak coffee. We asked if they had any stronger coffee, and they said it is pre-made and they can't make it stronger. I noticed at least 2 tables of people that were seated after us, were eating before we got our food. On a positive note, the food was really good, but just don't agree with the rating that this website has. We will not be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We tried Golden Egg because we heard it has the best breakfast in town, and they were right! My boyfriend loves chipped beef on toast and they serve it there and he said it was awesome. I had a really good egg sandwich on a biscuit too. It's a cute diner type place and everyone was super nice.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Great breakfast, reasonably priced and amazingly personable staff.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Egg also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Golden Egg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Egg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.