We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great crab legs and prime rib!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crabby Mike's Calabash Seafood

Crabby Mike's Calabash Seafood
290 Hwy 17 S, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-6097
843 238-3524
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great crab legs and prime rib!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Liked the crab legs and prime rib. Although it was a little pricey, $26.99 and we had a $3.00 coupon, which made our tab for two $55.50, which included one tea and one water. It was our once every couple of years treat to ourselves.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scbeachboy, Owner at Crabby Mike's Calabash Seafood, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind comments and for taking the time to write a review for us! Look forward to having you back in again for dinner in the near future.

Take care,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    368
    200
    87
    41
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food is very fresh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I'm not a fan of seafood and I don't eat crab legs at all, but I had no problem finding plenty of fresh and tasty food to eat while my friend noshed on crab legs. The salad bar was the freshest I've seen in a long time. I do enjoy cstfish and theirs was very tasty. Crabby Mike's is always one of the places we dine every year. The servers are friendly and the food is quite good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scbeachboy, Owner at Crabby Mike's Calabash Seafood, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor! We are so glad that you dine with us when you visit our area. We strive very hard to keep a varity of food and vegtables on our buffet. We like to be sure that there is something for everyone! Thanks for your business and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I met my sisters here for dinner. My kids LOVED th cute decor! The decorations kept them busy while me & my sisters enjoyed everything! I am not a fan of seafood but had wonderful prime rib and filet tips. My sisters loved the homemade soups and the different varities of shrimp. Especially the Shrimp Scampi! We now have a family tradition to look forward to when we visit Surfside Beach every fall. Thank you for the food and great service Crabby Mikes!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scbeachboy, Owner at Crabby Mike's Calabash Seafood, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Meg,
Thank you for making Crabby Mike's a new tradition in your family! I have a large family myself and it is nice to create new traditions! So glad that you and your family enjoyed everything and we look forward to seeing you and yours on your next visit! We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food And Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The best seafood restaurant on the Grand Strand. My family and I eat at Crabby Mike's whenever we vacation in the Myrtle Beach area. I love the atmosphere as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scbeachboy, Owner at Crabby Mike's Calabash Seafood, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Humble Bee,
We are so glad that you eat with us when you visit the Myrtle Beach area! Thanks for the great compliment and we hope to see you on your next visit! Thanks for posting on Trip Advisor!
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not Impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were not impressed with the food here at all. Service was quite okay but not the food. Except for the crab legs, there isn't any food tasty at all, certainly not the soup.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scbeachboy, Owner at Crabby Mike's Calabash Seafood, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi!
I am very sorry you did not like any of our food. We certainly strive to please each and every customer that comes through our doors but we are not 100% successful. I wish we had been with you. We have an Executive Chef that makes all our food from scratch daily. Our Pastry Chef makes all of the desserts as well. Thank you for taking the time to put your review on Tripadvisor.

Take care,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crabby Mike's Calabash Seafood also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Crabby Mike's Calabash Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crabby Mike's Calabash Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.