We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Wings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Jack's Restaurant

Fat Jack's Restaurant
353 Hwy 17 N, Surfside Beach, SC 29575-6087
(843) 238-3355
Menu
Update restaurant details
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Wings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Read about this in review of best wings in Myrtle Beach. The wing combo appetizers are a great idea! Really enjoyed the house and hot sauces. Wings were good sized and cooked just right. Friendly staff with good service. The staff even brought us an umbrella to get to our car in the pouring rain. A great find!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    24
    13
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Advance, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Maria at Fat Jacks was awesome. She brought us fresh food to our table as we waited for our meal. The wings we ordered were perfect. Big in size and flavor. The best we have ever had. Thank you Maria for making our experience thru Jason's House wonderful and so much appreciated.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albemarle, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Wings at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I go out with friends at least once a week in my hometown, during my week vacation I found myself experiencing "wing withdrawals." In search of some excellent wings, I went to Fat Jack's...it did not disappoint. Open since the 70s, this strip mall restaurant is borderline dive with what appears to be some of the original decor (look up and check out the cool ceiling art), but don't let a dated atmosphere steer you away. A bucket of beers and wing platter was at an affordable price point for two. The wings...WOW...it gives my regular place a run for the money. The wings are cooked and coated with sauce in a consistent manner. The hot sauce used on the wings is spicy, but not hot to the point that you can't taste anything and was complemented by some awesome buttermilk ranch dressing. The platters allow you to mix and match different types of sauces for your wings and choose 2 sides. Fat Jack's is definitely on my list of must go-to places while at the beach now.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious Wings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Had a completely different experience than Robert C. First of all you would never go to this place based on the exterior. It's on Highway 17 in the middle of a row of stores, some of them vacant. We met the cook on the beach surfing and decided to give it a try. We were warmly greeted and sat down right away. We ordered a combo of three different wings with curly fries and onion rings. The honey barbque, parmesan garlic and sesame wings were all delicious, very crispy and delicately coated with sauce. The blue cheese was fresh with large chunks of cheese. Two cooks came out to see if we were pleased as well as the waitress. The interior is a bit dated but clean. We got there early but by the time we left, the place was PACKED with locals and tourists alike. The only negative was that it was a bit warm inside because of all the fryers in the kitchen. I really enjoyed my meal and the atmosphere and will definately go again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Really?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I guess those who rate this place highly have never had real WNY Buffalo wings. Our experience was poor service and a sorry excuse for Buffalo wings. I've had Buffalo wings all over WNY including the Anchor Bar where they originated. The wings here were soggy and smothered in sauce. The blue cheese was so full of black pepper it was inedible.Along with celery the order included a hair. Maybe those who like different flavor wings will be happy,but those looking for real Buffalo wings should go down the road a bit to Murphy's Law. Good Buffalo wings should be crispy and coated but not drenched in sauce. You won't find that here. At least there was no extra charge for the hair.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Jack's Restaurant also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fat Jack's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Jack's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.