We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best advice and fresh seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fishmonger Seafood

Fishmonger Seafood
1511 Highway 17 Business, Surfside Beach, SC
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best advice and fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I wandered in looking for crabbing advice and got everything I needed to take my little ones on a great crabbing adventure. I came back over and over for the incredible selection of fresh caught fish. Get there early because the clams go fast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“love the take out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I get my fish here love the clams and shrimp they also will cook it for you and they have great food also to eat. I love it great owner from up north where I am from is nice to go once a week and get some real fresh food

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Smoked fish available”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Made a quick visit looking for smoked fish. We hade eaten here before and were very pleased. Found exactly what we were looking for and had really good service from the employee. Definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had a late lunch here....not fancy, simply good fried scallops and oysters. You can have your fish selection fried or grilled or steamed. I am not sure if they take cards. There are a few booths and tables. A fish counter, some bait, and some fish related food stuffs. Fries are the frozen variety.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“never recommend this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Went in to see what the place beside the Dollar General was all about, and ask for a job application to the restaurant, and was told by a person there that I looked "shifty" and that if I had any ideas of walking out with merchandise in my pockets, he would "slice my throat". I don't think I will be recommending this store to anyone, because last time I checked, you shouldn't treat anyone like that. Needless to say, I did not order off the menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishmonger Seafood also viewed

Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Surfside Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Fishmonger Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishmonger Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.